Skip To Content

Mars Perihelic Opposition

All planets in the Solar System, including the Earth, orbit the Sun more or less on the same plane. The closer a planet is to the Sun, the shorter is its orbital period. When the Earth moves into a position between the Sun and a planet and the three celestial bodies almost align, an observer on Earth will find that the planet and the Sun are in opposite directions. This astronomical phenomenon is called a planetary opposition. When this occurs, the planet comes closest to the Earth, which is the best time for observation by stargazers. In July, 2018, the Earth will orbit into a position between the Sun and Mars. An astronomical phenomenon called a Mars opposition will occur. Since Mars has an elliptical orbit, the distance between the Sun and Mars has a difference of about 42.5 million kilometers between its perihelion and aphelion. When a Mars opposition occurs at a position near Mars' perihelion, it is called a Mars perihelic opposition. When this happens, Mars will be much closer to the Earth and appears much bigger and brighter. The most recent Mars perihelic opposition occurred in 2003 while the next will occur on 27 July 2018.

Mars Perihelic Opposition

When a Mars perihelic opposition occurs on 27 July 2018, the Earth and Mars will be about 57.6 million kilometres apart. The disc of Mars with a diameter of 24 arc seconds (less than 0.007 degree) can be seen with the aid of an astronomical telescope whereas an orange-red star with brightness at a star magnitude of -2.8 can be seen with the naked eye. It will be one of the brightest stars in the night sky at that time. Mars will rise in the East at 7:17 pm on that day. It will reach its highest position on the sky at 0:38 am on the next day, and then set in the West at 5:55 am. The brightness as well as size of Mars will not much vary within a period of 10 days before and after a Mars perihelic opposition. Interested observers may watch it during the period from 17July to 6 August. Please check the information in the table below for reference:

Date Brightness
(Star magnitude)*
Size
(arc second)**
Suggested time for observation
17.7.2018 - 26.7.2018 - 2.6 to - 2.8 23.44 to 24.24 20:00 – 04:00
27.7.2018 - 2.8 24.24
28.7.2018 - 6.8.2018 - 2.8 to - 2.7 24.24 to 24.19

* The lesser the star magnitude of a star, the brighter it is.
** 1 arc second is equal to 1/3600 degree
Source: United States Naval Observatory

Quiz:
Did you know that the rate of change of Mars' brightness and size are different during the 10 days before and 10 days after the opposition? Why?

Mars' brightness and its size depend on its distance from the Earth. When Mars is at the farthest distance from the Earth, it has a star magnitude of about 1.8 and a size of about 3.5 arc seconds only. During the Mars perihelic opposition this year, Mars will be about 70 times brighter and 7 times larger in apparent diameter than when it is at the farthest distance. Using an astronomical telescope, some Martian surface features such as the polar caps can be seen. Mars' rotation can even be identified by long-time observation. A Mars perihelic opposition occurs every 15 or 17 years. It will attract the attention of many astronomy observers.

Coincidentally, a total lunar eclipse will also occur during the period when the Mars perihelic opposition occurs this year. At that time, a reddish moon will appear next to the bright and orange-red Mars. Both celestial bodies will be very close to each other. This would indeed be a spectacular view.

For more information about the lunar eclipse, please click here.

Photo of Mars taken during the Mars perihelic opposition in 2003
Photo of Mars taken during the Mars perihelic opposition in 2003 using an astronomical telescope. The polar cap of Mars can be seen at its top.

two images of Mars were taken by the Hubble Space Telescope during the Mars perihelic opposition in 2003
For space telescopes, a Mars perihelic opposition renders them the best time to observe Mars. The above two images of Mars were taken by the Hubble Space Telescope during the Mars perihelic opposition in 2003.

Rise and Set Times of Mars (For reference)

Date Rise Time
Transit Time
(+1 day)
Set Time
(+1 day)
25.7.2018 19:26 00:48 06:05
26.7.2018 19:21 00:43 06:00
27.7.2018 19:17 00:38 05:55
28.7.2018 19:12 00:33 05:49
29.7.2018 19:07 00:28 05:44

Mars Opposition Q & A

Citizen asks:
How big is Mars during its perihelic opposition? Can it be seen by the naked eye?

Curator answers:
The apparent diameter of Mars during its perihelic opposition this year is about 24 arc seconds. An"arc second" is a very small unit. We divide 1 degree into 60 arc minutes, and 1 arc minute into 60 arc seconds. That means 1 arc second is equal to 1/3600 degree, and 24 arc seconds are less than 0.007 degree! The moon we normally see has an apparent diameter of about 31 arc minutes, which is more than 70 times larger than that of Mars during perihelic opposition! Therefore, observing Mars with the naked eye, we can only see a bright orange-red star. A professional observer using a telescope with more than 100x magnification should be able to watch some features on the Martian surface.

Mars Moon Comparison
Even during a perihelic opposition, the apparent size of Mars is negligible when compared with that of the Moon. 

Citizen asks:
Why does a Mars opposition occur about a bit more than every two years, and a Mars perihelic opposition occur every 15 or 17 years ?

Curator answers:
The Earth takes 365.2 days for one orbit while Mars takes about 687 days. The following formula can be used to calculate how long it takes for the two planets to show the same positional configuration (also called Synodic Period):

Synodic Period

Note: PS is the synodic period, PE is the orbital period of Earth, PM is the orbital period of Mars.

Through simple calculation, we found that the synodic period between Earth and Mars is 780 days, or 2 years and 50 days. A Mars perihelic opposition occurs only when Mars is near its perihelion, and there is only one fixed perihelion in the orbit of a planet. A Mars opposition occurs every 780 days, but the orbital period of Mars is 687 days only. That means it takes 93 extra days for Mars to orbit after one revolution before Mars opposition occurs again. Hence the number of days between a Mars opposition and a Mars at perihelion is increased by about 93 days annually. There are at least 687÷93=7.4, or 7 to 8 Mars oppositions between two perihelic oppositions, i.e. about 15 or 17 years.

跳至主要内容

火星大冲

太阳系内各个行星(包括地球)都大致在同一个平面上围绕太阳公转,愈接近太阳的行星,其公转的周期愈短。当地球公转到一颗行星和太阳之间而三者几乎连成直线时,在地球的观测者会发现该颗行星的方向和太阳相反,这种天文现象就称为「行星冲」。「行星冲」发生时,有关行星距离地球最为接近,是最理想的观测时机。2018年7月,地球将公转到太阳和火星之间,将出现「火星冲」天文现象。由于火星的轨道为椭圆形,因此火星和太阳的距离于其近日点和远日点时会有达4250万公里的差别。当「火星冲」发生于火星近日点位置附近时,则称为「火星大冲」,这时火星会较为接近地球,并显得更大、更明亮。上一次的「火星大冲」在2003年发生,而下次「火星大冲」将在2018年7月27日出现。

Mars Perihelic Opposition

2018年7月27日「火星大冲」发生时,火星将距离地球约5760万公里,利用天文望远镜可看到直径达24角秒(少于0.007度)的火星盘面,用肉眼则可看到一颗光度达-2.8等的橙红色亮星,是当时夜空中最明亮的星星之一。当日火星将于晚上7时17分东升,至翌日凌晨0时38分到达其天上最高位置,并于5时55分西落。「火星大冲」发生前后的十天内,火星的亮度和大小无大变化,有兴趣观测的人士可于7月17日至8月6日期间观看,请查看下表的资料:

日期 亮度
(星等)*
大小
(角秒)**
建议观测时间
17.7.2018 - 26.7.2018 - 2.6 to - 2.8 23.44 to 24.24 20:00 – 04:00
27.7.2018 - 2.8 24.24
28.7.2018 - 6.8.2018 - 2.8 to - 2.7 24.24 to 24.19

* 星等数值愈低,代表该星愈光亮
**  1 角秒为 1/3600 度
资料来源:美国海军天文台

考考你:
有否发觉火星的亮度和大小在「冲」的前十天和后十天的变化幅度有所不同,为什么呢?

火星的亮度和大小取决于火星和地球的距离,当火星距离地球最为遥远时,它只有约1.8等的亮度和约3.5角秒的大小。今年「火星大冲」期间,火星将比最遥远时光亮近70倍,视直径大接近7倍。利用天文望远镜可看到火星表面例如极冠的地貌,经长时间观测更能察觉火星自转的现象。「火星大冲」每15或17年才发生一次,将吸引众多天文观测者留意。

无独有偶,今年「火星大冲」发生期间将出现一次月全食,届时在明亮的橙红色火星旁边将会出现一个呈红色的月球,两者十分接近,实蔚为奇观。

查看更多有关月食的资讯,请按此

Photo of Mars taken during the Mars perihelic opposition in 2003
2003年「火星大冲」时,利用天文望远镜所拍摄的火星照片,可看到火星顶端的极冠。

two images of Mars were taken by the Hubble Space Telescope during the Mars perihelic opposition in 2003
对于太空望远镜来说,「火星大冲」亦是观测火星的最佳时机。上图为2003年「火星大冲」时, 哈勃太空望远镜所拍摄的两张火星图像。

火星出没时间表 (只供参考)

日期 升出时间
上中天时间
(+1 日)
落下时间
(+1 日)
25.7.2018 19:26 00:48 06:05
26.7.2018 19:21 00:43 06:00
27.7.2018 19:17 00:38 05:55
28.7.2018 19:12 00:33 05:49
29.7.2018 19:07 00:28 05:44

「火星冲」问与答

市民问:
「火星大冲」发生时,火星会有多大?能不能够用肉眼看到呢?

馆长答:
今年「火星大冲」时,火星的视直径大约是24角秒。「角秒」是非常细小的单位,我们将1度分为60角分,再将1角分分为60角秒,如此一来,1角秒就相等于1/3600度,即24角秒也不足0.007度!我们平常看到的月球视直径大约为31角分,直径比起火星于大冲时还要大70多倍!用肉眼观测火星时,我们只会看到一颗明亮的橙红色星星。专业的观测者如使用放大倍数为100倍以上的望远镜观测,应能看到火星表面的一些特征。

Mars Moon Comparison
即使是「大冲」时,火星的视大小和月球相比还是差得甚远。

市民问:
为何每隔2年多就有一次「火星冲」,而每15或17年才有一次「火星大冲」?

馆长答:
地球公转一周需时约365.2天,而火星公转一周则需时约687天,要计算这两颗行星相隔多久才会出现同一样的位置排列(又称会合周期),可利用以下的公式:

Synodic Period

注:PS为会合周期,PE为地球公转周期,PM为火星公转周期。

经简单运算,我们可得出地球和火星的会合周期为780天,即2年50天左右。而「火星大冲」则只会发生在火星接近其近日点之时,而行星的轨道上只有一个固定的近日点。「火星冲」每隔780天就会出现,但火星的公转周期却只有687天,即是说火星在公转一圈后要多走约93日才会再次发生「火星冲」,因此「火星冲」发生的日期与火星于近日点时的日期将逐年增加约93日。火星在两次「大冲」之间就最少出现687÷93=7.4次,亦即是7或8次一般的「冲」,换算上来即15或17年。