Skip To Content
 
 

Recent activities

 

Special Lecture

Theme: Too bright to observe? The prospect of astronomical observations under light pollution
Speaker: Dr. Jason Chun-shing PUN (Principal Lecturer, Department of Physics, The University of Hong Kong)
Date: 16/9/2018 (Sunday)
Time: 3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum

Click here for details of Special Lecture

 

Lecture Series

Theme: From Moon Phases to Moon's Orbit and Celestial Mechanics
Speakers: Mr. SIT Yung Wah (Assistant Committee Member, Starrix)
Mr. LEE Chi Hang (Assistant Committee Member, Starrix)
Date: 11/6/2018 (Monday)
18/6/2018 (Monday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: Research and Developments in Astronomy
Speakers: (1)&(2). Mr. Peter LUI
(3). Mr. CHAN Chu Lok
(4). Mr. YUE Wai Chun
(5). Prof. WONG Kwok Yee
(6). Dr. CHENG Kai Ming
(7). Prof. CHAN Kwing Lam
Date: (1). 7/7/2018 (Saturday)
(2). 8/7/2018 (Sunday)
(3). 21/7/2018 (Saturday)
(4). 22/7/2018 (Sunday)
(5). 4/8/2018 (Saturday)
(6). 5/8/2018 (Sunday)
(7). 19/8/2018 (Sunday)
Time: (1). 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m
(2)-(7). 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: The Exploration of Space
Speakers: Mr. Choi Kam To (Committee Member, Starrix)
Mr. Benjamin Howard Lee (Chairperson, Starrix)
Mr. Leung Ka Wing (Assistant committee member, Starrix)
Date: 2/8/2018 (Thursday)
9/8/2018 (Thursday)
16/8/2018 (Thursday)
23/8/2018 (Thursday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: Starry Night • Astrophotography • Milky Way Galaxy
Speakers: Mr. Sit Chun Long, Exodus (Assistant Committee Member, Starrix)
Mr. Ko Tze Cheung (Assistant Committee Member, Starrix)
Mr. Chu Ching Tin (Committee Member, Starrix)
Date: 3/9/2018 (Monday)
10/9/2018 (Monday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum

Stanley Ho Space Theatre Lectures

Theme: Sneak Preview of Mars Perihelic Opposition
Speaker: Mrs. Wing-sze CHEUNG (Assistant Curator, Hong Kong Space Museum)
Date: 19/6/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Theme: Astronomical Observation – Special Astronomical Phenomena
Speaker: Mr. Chun-lam CHAN (Assistant Curator, Hong Kong Space Museum)
Date: 21/8/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Theme: Exploration of exoplanets
Speaker: Mr. Wai-tak TSUI (Assistant Curator, Hong Kong Space Museum)
Date: 18/9/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

Click here for details of Lecture Series

 

Astronomical Observation

Theme: Astronomy Happy Hour
Date: 22/8/2018 (Wednesday) Host by Space Observers (H.K.)
19/9/2018 (Wednesday) Host by Starrix
Time: 7:30 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Venue: Rooftop, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: Astronomy Carnival
Date: 14/8/2018 (Tuesday) Host by Hong Kong Astronomical Society
11/9/2018 (Tuesday) Host by Sky Observers' Association (Hong Kong)
Time: 7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Venue: Stanley Ho Space Theatre, Lecture Hall and Rooftop, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: Night of Jupiter
Date: 23/5/2018 (Wednesday) Host by Hong Kong Astronomical Society
13/6/2018 (Wednesday) Host by Starrix
Time: 7:30 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Venue: Rooftop, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: Go Stargazing with the Curators
One of the Muse Fest HK 2018 Activities. Click here for details.
Date: 26/6/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Venue: Rooftop, Hong Kong Space Museum
Theme: Chain of Night for Mars Perihelic Opposition
Date: 25.7.2018 – 29.7.2018 (Wednesday to Sunday)
Time: 8:30 p.m. – 10:30 p.m.
Venue: Rooftop, Hong Kong Space Museum

Click here for details of Astronomical Observation

 

Astronomy Film Show

24/6/2018
(Sunday)
2:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. In Search of the Dark: The End of Physics?
24/6/2018
(Sunday)
4:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. Aftershock: The Hunt for Gravitational Waves
26/7/2018
(Thursday)
7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. Should We Go to Mars?
22/9/2018
(Saturday)
3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Space Volcanoes

Click here for details of Astronomy Film Shows

 

Dome Show

26/6/2018
(Tuesday)
2:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Out There
3:00 p.m. - 3:20 p.m. Mayan Archaeoastronomy
4:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. Out There
5:00 p.m. - 5:20 p.m. Mayan Archaeoastronomy
3/7/2018
(Tuesday)
2:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Out There
3:00 p.m. - 3:20 p.m. Mayan Archaeoastronomy
4:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. Out There
5:00 p.m. - 5:20 p.m. Mayan Archaeoastronomy

One of the Muse Fest HK 2018. Click here for details of Dome Show

 

Visit to Workshop

Theme: Behind-the-scene Tour of Space Theatre
Date: 3/7/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 7:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Venue: Stanley Ho Space Theatre, Computer and Audio Control Room and Omnimax Projectior Room, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.

One of the Muse Fest HK 2018. Click here for details of Visit to Workshop

 

Family Programme

Theme: Funny Stargazing Trip
Date: 11/8/2018 (Saturday)
Time: 2:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m
Application is required.
Theme: The World under Lens - From Stars to Microorganisms
Date: 18/8/2018 (Saturday)
Time: 6:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m
Application is required.

Click here for details of Family Programme

 

Fun Astronomy Class

Theme: Be a Rocket Engineer
Date: 7/8/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 n.n.
2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.
Theme: The Starry Sky
Date: 8/8/2018 (Wednesday)
15/8/2018 (Wednesday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 n.n.
Venue: Lecture Hall and Stanley Ho Space Theatre, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.
Theme: Young Astronaut
Date: 11/8/2018 (Saturday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 n.n.
2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: Activity Room, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.
Theme: Sun, Moon and Stars
Date: 12/8/2018 (Sunday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 n.n.
2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: Activity Room, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.
Theme: Exploring Our Solar System
Date: 14/8/2018 (Tuesday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 n.n.
2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.
Theme: What you see in Telescope
Date: 16/8/2018 (Thursday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 n.n.
2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: Lecture Hall, Hong Kong Space Museum
Application is required.

Click here for details of Fun Astronomy Class