Skip To Content

Curator's Blog

 
 
 










 


The Secret of Delicate Foam

Published on 18 August 2020

Keeping our hands clean is one of the best ways to avoid getting sick. In recent years, many liquid soap companies have launched the foam version of their products. On one pump, the liquid soap from the bottle turns into the foam in your hands. But why it does not have to be contained in a metal spray bottle with pressurised gas? Is the hand soap specially formulated? Or are there other reasons?

I was eager to find out the answer so I took a foam pump apart. (Figure 1) Besides the tubes and springs which can be seen in an ordinary liquid soap pump, I found a small cylinder which had fine mesh at both ends. If the cylinder was taken away, what came out from the nozzle would only be jets of liquid soap instead of foam. This proved that the tiny cylinder was crucial in the foam making process. (Figure 2 and Figure 3)

After that, I successfully made foam by substituting the mesh with cotton pads, scrub sponge, and even the middle layer of a surgical mask. From our observation, the finer the pores are, the smoother the foam will be. Recently, a foaming body wash which advertises itself as cream-like has hit the shelves. The bottle is unique with the addition of an extra mesh layer at the tip of the nozzle. (Figure 4)

Although the foam pump can produce foam from liquid soap, for consistent foam the water-to-soap ratio of the liquid has to be optimised. If it is too thin, the foam produced cannot hold its form. If it is too thick, the liquid soap may block the mesh and produce no foam. The takeaway of this exploratory teardown is that a trivial thing such as hand washing can become more convenient and interesting with the ingenuity of the inventors.


Figure 1. Structure of a foam pump<br><br><br>
Figure 1. Structure of a foam pump


Figure 2. The upper mesh is finer than the bottom one<br><br>
Figure 2. The upper mesh is finer than the bottom one


Figure 3. Mechanism of foam making<br><br>
Figure 3. Mechanism of foam making

<br><br>


<br><br>


Figure 4. An extra, fine layer of mesh can form cream-like foam.
Figure 4. An extra, fine layer of mesh can form cream-like foam.
<br><br>


<br><br>





Please click here for video.
The Science Behind Dalgona Coffee
 
Published on 5 June 2020
 
Coffee is one of the most common beverages. Then what is so special about the trendy Dalgona Coffee? Does the secret of the smooth and frothy foam lie in the caffeine of coffee? Let's find out in the video with Paulina, Museum Director of the Hong Kong Science Museum and Dr. Emily, Assistant Professor of Science Education, Department of Chemistry, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology!


 


Sea of Spider Tree Flowers in the Urban Areas

Published on 9 April 2020

In springs, my friends always travelled abroad to enjoy beautiful scenery of flowers. But by picking the right time, you can still find beautiful trees and flowers in the urban areas of Hong Kong.

Spider Tree is one of the must-sees. It is a common deciduous urban tree in Hong Kong and may reach 15 metres in height. It has a Chinese name which means "vegetables on the treetop". What is it meant? People in Yunnan province of China pickle the young leaves of Spider Tree as a preserved vegetable. Besides, the wood of Spider Tree is light yet strong, and can be crafted into fish-shaped wooden baits.

Spider Tree has elegant tree form and it flowers from mid to late-April. There are luxuriant flowers clustered at the ends of the branches during blossoming. After the spring rains, I love walking along Prince Edward Road West, Boundary Street or Chatham Road South near the Science Museum to immerse myself in the magnificent sea of creamy yellow flowers of the Spider Trees there. These flowers are quite special if you take a closer look at them. The white coloured petals will turn yellow gradually. Each flower possesses many elongated stamens which are much longer than the petals. The elongated stamens look like the spider legs and this is why the tree gets its name as "Spider Tree".

Planting trees in the urban areas not only beautifies our environment, but is also beneficial to the ecology. The larvae of Great Orange Tip butterflies feed on the leaves of Spider Tree, and that means you have a good chance to see the largest Pieridae butterflies in Hong Kong flying around.

 

The sea of Spider Tree flowers.<br><br><br>
The sea of Spider Tree flowers.


The colour of Spider Tree flowers will change from white to yellow gradually.<br><br>
The colour of Spider Tree flowers will change from white to yellow gradually.

Each flower of Spider Tree possesses ten or more dark red stamens.
Each flower of Spider Tree possesses ten or more dark red stamens.
Great Orange Tip, as its name suggests, has large attractive orange patches on its wing tips.
Great Orange Tip, as its name suggests, has large attractive orange patches on its wing tips.


 


Get to Know the Trees in Hong Kong by Starting with Tree Cotton

Published on 23 Mar 2020

Every year from March to April, the big red flowers of Tree Cotton always catch my eyes when I am strolling along the streets in Hong Kong. Tree Cotton, also known as Red Kapok Tree or Hero Tree, is a flowering deciduous tree with tall and straight trunk that may reach 25 metres in height. Tree Cotton is widely cultivated in Hong Kong and you can find the trees along the road or in the parks in many districts.

Tree Cotton's value is more than meets our eyes. The dried flowers can be used as a Chinese Medicine and is one of the ingredients of the Chinese Herbal Tea. Its tree bark and root are also used as Chinese Medicines for getting rid of heatiness and detoxification. In addition, Tree Cotton contributes much to the local ecology. The nectar produced by its flowers is a delicacy to some commonly seen birds, such as Red-whiskered Bulbul, Crested Myna and Swinhoe's White-eye. They can be found feasting on the blossoming tree. Don't miss the chance to enjoy bird-watching while appreciating the flowers.

When the birds and insects feed on the nectar of the flowers, they unwittingly help the Tree Cotton to pollinate. The pollinated flowers will then grow into 10 to 15-centimetre long fruits. When mature, the fruit capsules burst open and the wind will carry numerous seeds wrapped in fluffy cotton into the air in their search for a new home. In May, we can enjoy the beautiful scene of fluffy flakes drifting down from the trees.

We may not pay much attention to Tree Cotton in the hustle and bustle of our lives. However, Tree Cotton is not completely unknown to us because its heroic image has been mentioned in textbooks and Cantopop songs. Starting from today, let's slow down the pace to appreciate the trees, and admire the beauty of nature!


Flowering Tree Cotton<br><br><br><br>
Flowering Tree Cotton



The seeds wrapped in fluffy cotton are very light in weight, and can be dispersed far by wind.<br><br><br>
The seeds wrapped in fluffy cotton are very light in weight, and can be dispersed far by wind.


Nectar in the flowers of Tree Cotton is a delicacy to the birds.
Nectar in the flowers of Tree Cotton is a delicacy to the birds.
 


 

Last Modified: 20-08-2020

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

跳至主要內容

館長隨筆

 
 
 










 


綿密泡泡的秘密

刋登日期: 2020年8月18日

保持雙手清潔是預防疾病的有效方法。近年,不少洗手液都推出了泡沫版本,只需按壓一下,瓶內的皂液馬上變成手中綿密的泡沫。但是,為甚麼它不像剃鬚膏那樣需要盛載於金屬製的壓縮氣罐之內?難道皂液是以特別配方調製?還是另有原因?

我嘗試把泵頭拆開來一探究竟。(圖一)日除了在一般清潔劑瓶子會找到的吸管和彈簧之外,我還發現一個細小的圓筒形組件,兩端蓋有細密的濾網。若把這個組件拿走,泵頭只會壓出皂液而非泡沫,証明這小東西正是起泡的關鍵。(圖二及圖三)

後來,我成功以化妝棉、海綿百潔布、甚至外科口罩中層的物料來代替濾網。根據觀察所得,似乎越細的過濾孔,所產生的泡沫就越綿密。最近,市面上推出了一種標榜能造出如忌廉般幼滑的泡沫沐浴露,而這個瓶子的獨特之處,在於壓嘴末端再有一層額外濾網。(圖四)

雖然泡沫泵頭能使皂液產生泡沫,但皂液中水和肥皂的比例也需配合得宜,才能令泡沫質感豐盈。如果皂液太稀,所產生的泡沫就不能維持形態。反之若太濃稠,皂液會堵塞濾網,無法產生泡沫。這次探究讓我體會到,經過發明者的一番巧思,洗手這件平常事也可以變得更方便有趣。


圖一. 泡沫泵頭的構造
圖一. 泡沫泵頭的構造
圖二. 頂部的濾網比底部的更細密
圖二. 頂部的濾網比底部的更細密

圖三. 泡沫產生的機制<br><br>
圖三. 泡沫產生的機制

<br><br>


<br><br>


圖四. 一層額外、細密的濾網能產生如忌廉般的泡沫
圖四. 一層額外、細密的濾網能產生如忌廉般的泡沫
<br><br>


<br><br>




 


錄像節目,請按此
「400次咖啡」的科學
 
刋登日期: 2020年6月5日
 
咖啡是十分常見的飲品,那麼最近蔚為風潮的「400次咖啡」又有甚麼特別之處?難道綿滑泡沫的秘密在於咖啡裏面的咖啡因?就讓香港科學館總館長Paulina,和香港科技大學化學系、科學教育助理教授Emily博士為大家一齊解開這個謎團吧。


 


市區中的樹頭菜花海

刋登日期: 2020年4月9日

初春到來,總會聽到友人計劃到海外賞花,但原來只要找對時間,在香港市區也可看看樹、賞賞花呢!

這次要為大家推介的就是樹頭菜。聽到這個名字,大家可能會聯想起食用的蔬菜,其實樹頭菜是一種香港市區常見的落葉喬木,最高可達15米。為甚麼會有樹頭菜這名字呢?因為中國雲南的居民會採摘樹的幼嫩葉子製成醃菜。除了具食用價值外,樹頭菜的木質輕而堅硬,枝幹還可製成小魚狀的假餌用以釣魚,所以樹頭菜亦被稱為魚木。

樹頭菜樹形優美,花期在四月中下旬。開花時,樹頭菜的枝條末端會冒出一球又一球的漂亮花朵。我會趁四月連場春雨過後,走到種滿樹頭菜的太子道西、界限街或科學館附近漆咸道南一帶,沉醉在那片壯觀的黃白色花海之中。只要我們細心觀察樹頭菜的花,就會發現它非常特別,剛剛開花的時候是白色的,後來會漸漸變成黃色。而每朵花有多條長長的雄蕊,雄蕊比花瓣還要長,其向下低垂的姿態跟蜘蛛的長腳相似,所以樹頭菜的英文名字正正就是"Spider Tree"。

在市區種植樹木除了可以美化環境外,還可以為生態增值。樹頭菜的樹葉是鶴頂粉蝶幼蟲的食物,所以在春夏交替,很大機會看到鶴頂粉蝶,一種香港體型最大的粉蝶在樹頭菜附近飛舞呢!


樹頭菜花海<br><br>
樹頭菜花海

樹頭菜的花會由最初的白色漸漸轉成黃色<br><br>
樹頭菜的花會由最初的白色漸漸轉成黃色

樹頭菜的每朵花有數十條暗紅色的雄蕊
樹頭菜的每朵花有數十條暗紅色的雄蕊
鶴頂粉蝶的翅膀頂有鮮艷的橙色斑紋
鶴頂粉蝶的翅膀頂有鮮艷的橙色斑紋



由木棉開始,認識香港樹木

刋登日期:2020年3月23日

每年三月至四月,漫步於香港的街道上,我總會被火紅的木棉花吸引。木棉又名英雄樹,屬於落葉喬木,它筆挺的樹幹可高達25米。木棉在香港廣泛種植,在多區的街道或公園都可找到它的蹤影。

除了觀賞價值之外,木棉渾身是寶,木棉花曬乾後可製成中藥材,我們飲用的五花茶其中一種「花」就是木棉花,而樹皮和樹根亦可以製成中藥材,具有清熱解毒的功效。木棉對本地生態也有很大貢獻,不少常見的雀鳥,例如:紅耳鵯、八哥和暗綠繡眼鳥(相思)等,都喜歡食用木棉花蜜,在盛放中的木棉樹上會有不少雀鳥流連,因此,我們在賞木棉花時,還可以趁機觀鳥呢!

雀鳥和昆蟲吃花蜜時,會不知不覺地幫助木棉傳播花粉。成功授粉的木棉花會結出10至15公分長的果實,成熟後果殼會裂開,裏面帶有棉絮的種子就會隨風飄散,找尋新地方落地生根。踏入五月份,大家就可以欣賞木棉飄絮這美景。

其實我們對木棉並不全然陌生,從課本到粤語流行曲都有提及木棉的英姿,只是大家在忙碌的生活中未必會察覺到它的存在。由今天開始,不妨嘗試放慢腳步,在每天經過的街道上欣賞一下樹木的美態, 讚嘆大自然的奇妙!


開花中的木棉<br><br>
開花中的木棉

帶有棉絮的種子非常輕,可藉由風力傳播到遠處。<br><br>
帶有棉絮的種子非常輕,可藉由風力傳播到遠處。

木棉花的花蜜是鳥兒們的美食。
木棉花的花蜜是鳥兒們的美食。
 


 

最近更新日期: 20-08-2020

遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 無障礙網頁嘉許計劃