APO Delights
About APO
Vision/Mission/Values
Archive of APO
Downloads
Go to Oi!
Go to vA!
 

 

Hi! Flora, Fauna  
RSPBA (Revised System for the Prevention of Boredom in Animals)
Artist: Nadim Abbas
Fabrication and Installation: Roy Ng, Andrew Lo and Nadim Abbas
Artwork Location: Scattered in the Gardens 
*Artworks will be launched in phases 
 
"Quite moved by the ecology of care sustained by the Gardens management team towards the wildlife and their adopted habitats. Given the artificiality of captive environments, it is not only the physicality of a well-designed enclosure that compensates for what is lost in an animal's transition from the wild to the zoo. Equally important is the level of interaction that is maintained on a daily basis with the zookeepers, whose concern for the welfare of the animals feels akin to that of their own family."
 
Zoos around the world construct rich natural environments for their animals, big and small, and incorporate sensory stimulation, such as auditory and olfactory stimuli, to motivate their innate curiosity and exploratory instincts. Installation artist Nadim Abbas is particularly interested in the communication and interaction between humans and animals in terms of spatial, material and visual elements. Based on his study of the locomotion and habits of animals like the Meerkat, Hoffmann's Two-toed Sloth, Spurred Tortoise and White-faced Saki at the Gardens, Abbas creates a series of organic components for the animals. These playtime facilities improve the animals' psychological and behavioural development, allowing them to co-exist with humans in a natural atmosphere.  
 
Artist Biography:
Abbas examines the mercurial properties of images and their ambiguous relationship to reality. This has culminated in the construction of complex set pieces, where objects disappear into their own image and bodies succumb to the seduction of space. He was awarded with the "Asian Cultural Council Altius Fellowship" and the "Hong Kong Arts Development Award (Young Artist/ Visual Arts)" in 2014. Latest exhibitions include Phantom Plane, Cyberpunk in the Year of the Future at Tai Kwun in 2019 and Participation Mystique at Ming Contemporary Art Museum at Shanghai in 2020. He also participated in large-scale contemporary art exhibitions such as the 7th Moscow International Biennale of Contemporary Art with the theme of Clouds⇄Forests in 2017 and the 12th Shanghai Biennale with the theme of Proregress—Art in an Age of Historical Ambivalence in 2018.
 


Orangutan


Buff-cheeked Gibbon


Hoffmann's Two-toed Sloth, White-faced Saki


Common Squirrel Monkey


Old German Owl-Brown Bar Shield, Emerald Starling, Malayan Peacock-pheasant


Silver Pheasant


Meerkat


Meerkat

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 Web for All

亮點節目
關於我們
理想/ 使命/ 信念
APO 資料庫
下載
返回 油街實現
返回 香港視覺藝術中心
 

 

邂逅!市中森  
《RSPBA(動物不愛悶修訂組件)》
藝術家:唐納天
製作及裝置:吳鋌灝、盧彥君、唐納天
作品位置:散落於公園中
*不同組件將分階段推出
 
「香港動植物公園管理人員非常重視動物福利,這一點讓我特別感動。園區模仿自然環境建造,設計周到,彌補了把動物從野外帶到動物園後所失去的事物。飼養員每天都與動物保持密切的互動和健康檢察,並視牠們如家中一份子,這也同樣重要。」
 
世界各地的動物園會為各類大小型動物營造豐富的自然環境,同時提供聽覺、嗅覺等感官刺激以激發動物的好奇心及野外探索行為。裝置藝術家唐納天對人與動物的溝通互動,以至空間、物料、視覺等元素尤感興趣,透過觀察香港動植物公園的狐獴、霍氏樹懶、盾臂龜、白面僧面猴等動物的動態和習性,為其打造一系列有機活動組件,為牠們提供玩樂設施以改善其心理及行為發展,讓人和動物都能在一種自然的氛圍中相處。
 
藝術家簡歷:
唐納天的作品,探索影像變幻莫測的特性及物件與影像之間的曖昧關係,為此他設計了複雜的組件並將之拼合,形體在空間的誘動下,會消失在自己的影像中。2014年,他獲「亞洲文化協會Altius獎學金」及「香港藝術發展獎——藝術新秀獎/視覺藝術」。曾參與的展覽包括2019年在大館展出的「幽靈維面——電馭叛客在未來之年」及2020年在上海明當代美術館展出的「神秘參與」;大型當代藝術展覽包括2017年第七屆莫斯科國際當代藝術雙年展「雲⇄森林」及2018年第12屆上海雙年展「禹步——面向歷史矛盾性的藝術」。
 
 

 


婆羅洲猩猩


紅頰黑猿


霍氏樹懶、白面僧面猴


松鼠猴


啡披肩、翠綠椋鳥、馬來孔雀雉


白鷳


狐獴


狐獴

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 無障礙網頁