APO Delights
About APO
Vision/Mission/Values
Archive of APO
Downloads
Go to Oi!
Go to vA!
 

 

Hi! Flora, Fauna  
Untitled — Zen Garden I
(Hong Kong Zoological and Botanical Gardens)
Artist: Morgan Wong
Artwork Location: Fountain Terrace Garden (on the podium)
 
"The Gardens has the perfect image of being a destination for school outings or field trips to me, even none of mine has actually happened in here. However, photos I found online, especially those in the late 80s, have reminded me of such memory of mine."
 
Time continues to tick away before us, and there is nothing we can do to make time stand still. If one feels helpless about this inevitability, exploring history may bring momentary relief, in the sense that events of the past would not fall bit by bit into oblivion. Artist Morgan Wong notices that traces of history can be found all over this century-old Gardens, in particular with the bronze statue of King George VI. Its site today used to be that for Sir Arthur Kennedy's statue, which was carted away and melted down during the Japanese Occupation. Although the bronze statue is a witness to these changes in the Gardens, it appears to Wong that people have lost the motivation to explore the history behind it. Wong attempts to echo the historical events relating to the bronze statue by using similar materials together with rocks and gravel to create a Zen Garden, to provide a quiet space in which visitors can feel the existence of time.
 
Artist Biography:
Wong's artistic practice unfolds his contemplation on time. Transcending a personal perceptual approach, his concerns are expanded to aspects like social-political issues or scientific notions in temporality. In 2019, Morgan Wong has been awarded the Asian Cultural Council New York Fellowship. His latest selected exhibitions include Minimalism: Space. Light. Object at ArtScience Museum Singapore in 2018 and Time Isn't Our Border at the Goethe-Institut Hong Kong in 2019. His work has also been shown at international institutions, including Media Museum ZKM, Tate Modern and Seoul Museum of Art. His public installation has been invited in Harbour Arts Sculpture Park in 2018 and Taehwa Eco-River Art Festival in 2017. Wong's work is included in the collection of MILL6 CHAT. 





 

 

 

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 Web for All

亮點節目
關於我們
理想/ 使命/ 信念
APO 資料庫
下載
返回 油街實現
返回 香港視覺藝術中心
 

 

邂逅!市中森  
《無題 —— 枯山水 I(香港動植物公園)》
藝術家:黃榮法
作品位置:噴水池平台花園(平台上)
 
「在我眼中,香港動植物公園是學校舉辦戶外活動和實地考察的好去處。我在網上瀏覽動植物公園的照片時,特別是80年代末的照片,發覺學生時代最美好的回憶之一,就是去動植物公園玩。」
 
時間在我們身邊不斷流轉,然而我們永遠留不住它。如果因為不能阻止時間流逝而感到無奈,探究歷史或許能為我們帶來一刻安慰,讓過去發生的事情不至於會被慢慢忘記。藝術家黃榮法留意到這個經歷了過百年的香港動植物公園內。到處也能發現歷史的痕跡,特別是豎立在公園內的英皇佐治六世銅像,銅像現時的位置原設有堅尼地爵士雕像,可是在日佔時被運走熔掉。藝術家認為銅像雖然見證著公園的變遷,但人們好像失去了探究銅像過去的動機。藝術家嘗試利用銅像相同的物料創作一個配以山石的禪庭,看似呼應關於銅像的歷史事件,亦讓人在靜默的空間中感受時間的存在。
 
藝術家簡歷:
黃榮法以藝術創作展現他對時間的思考:他所關注的領域,超越表現個人的感受,更廣及社會政治課題或科學概念的時態性。他曾於2019年獲授亞洲文化協會紐約獎助計劃。最近的展覽包括2018年在新加坡藝術科學博物館展出的「極簡主義:空間。燈光。實體」及2019年在香港歌德學院展出的「時間並非我們的邊界」。此外,他的作品亦走出香港,在ZKM媒體美術館、泰特現代美術館、首爾美術館等亮相;其藝術裝置亦於2017 年應「韓國太和江國際生態藝術節」和2018年應「藝遊維港」邀請作戶外展出。他的作品為CHAT六廠收藏。
 


 

 

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 無障礙網頁