APO Delights
About APO
Vision/Mission/Values
Archive of APO
Downloads
Go to Oi!
Go to vA!
 

 

Hi! Flora, Fauna  
Chasing Sounds
Art Group: Impromptu Projects
Artwork Location: Fountain Terrace Garden 
 
"As urbanites we forget the need to engage with other animals and appreciate an organic environment. The Gardens is a hidden gem, located in the middle of the urban setting it perforates the infrastructure with a breath of fresh air, walkable pathways and relaxing attitude."
 
Bamboo scaffoldings are a common sight in Hong Kong. They can be found in every corner of the streets. During traditional festivals of the Chinese community, large bamboo shed theatres are erected for various traditional performances. Bright lights decorating the structure add to the festive atmosphere. In this project, Impromptu Projects, an architect duo from Macao, investigates how to create a public surround-sound environment made of bamboo, one that sets aside pure aesthetic considerations. The duo makes use of calculated spacing in the scaffolding and a streamlined spatial design to present the fluidity of melodies and rhythms coming from the musical instruments. Their creation, Chasing Sounds, is located on the lawn of the Gardens' Fountain, where the Hong Kong New Music Ensemble performs live, with music that would blend with the natural sounds of the Gardens, such as flowing water, rustling leaves and birdsong. The pavilion enhances the possibility of space utilisation and contemporises bamboo architect. By allowing natural light to penetrate the structure, it also adds a cosy ambience to the ‘urban forest'.
 
Artist Group Biography:
Impromptu Projects is a multi-disciplinary studio practice founded by João Ó and Rita Machado. The team proposes architecture design with strong involvement of the local community as critical participants. Their installation work is often shown in the urban space, focusing on the design of temporary structures with bamboo sourced from the nearby region as well as on the study of its social relevance. Artwork Treeplets Public Leisure has won "Silver A' Design Award" for Architecture, Building and Structure Design Category in 2015, and the team were awarded top 3 finalist for the "Art in Public Space & Sustainability Award" in Portugal in 2020. Latest exhibitions include Memory Palace at the National Museum of Natural History and Science, Lisbon in 2015 and Annual Arts Exhibition between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries – Alter Ego at Macao Museum of Art in 2018.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 Web for All

亮點節目
關於我們
理想/ 使命/ 信念
APO 資料庫
下載
返回 油街實現
返回 香港視覺藝術中心
 

 

邂逅!市中森  
《尋聲》
藝術團隊:即興項目
作品位置:噴水池平台花園
 
「住在都市的我們,不知不覺忘記了與其他動物接觸和感受大自然的重要。香港動植物公園是隱藏於鬧市中的瑰寶,以新鮮的空氣、種滿草木的步道和輕鬆的氛圍,貫穿了這片石屎森林。」
 
竹棚在香港無處不在,轉個街角抬頭可見;傳統時節亦會搭建大型戲棚,配以燈光點綴帶出節日氣氛。有別於純美觀考量,澳門建築師團隊即興項目研究如何利用竹建築為公眾打造環迴的音樂體驗,透過竹棚間距及流線型空間設計,突顯樂器帶出的流動音韻節奏。《尋聲》坐落於香港動植物公園的噴水池綠圃上,結合公園內的自然聲音如流水聲、鳥鳴聲、風葉聲,以及香港創樂團即場演奏,提升空間利用的可能性,為竹建築帶來現代感,同時讓自然光線滲透裝置,為「市中森」增添愜意氛圍。
 
藝術團隊簡歷:
跨媒體工作室即興項目由蘇約翰及孟麗泰創立。團隊的建築設計積極邀請當地社區的參與,當中的藝術裝置在都市空間展出,並採用鄰近地區出產的竹枝為建築物料,搭建臨時的竹結構,並探討作品與社會的相關性。即興項目的藝術作品《Treeplets Public Leisure》於2015 年獲得「A' 設計大獎賽—— 銀獎/建築、建築物與結構設計」;又於2020 年在葡萄牙入選「可持續發展公共藝術獎項」三甲。近期的展覽包括2015 年在里斯本國立自然史及科學博物館展出的「記憶宮殿」及2018 年在澳門藝術博物館展出的「中國與葡語國家藝術年展—— 知我者」。
 

 

 

 

 

 

W3C WAI-AA WCAG 2.0 無障礙網頁