stop
play

Acquisition and Restoration of The Secret

The Secret (1979), one of the classics of Hong Kong New Wave, is Ann Hui's directorial debut. Starring Sylvia Chang Ai-chia, Teresa Chiu Nga-chi and Norman Tsui Siu-keung, The Secret is based on a true murder case at Lung Fu Shan in 1970. The film is a hybrid of suspense and realism. Employing a non-linear narrative structure, the story is unfolded in a series of flashbacks, creating an eerie atmosphere, which showcases the creativity of the scriptwriter Joyce Chan and the director Ann Hui.

 A film still of <em>The Secret</em> (1979)
A film still of The Secret (1979)

For many years, the few remaining copies of the film were of very poor visual quality. Many of the night scenes key to the film were so murky that audiences could only guess what was happening in the dark, much less experience or appreciate the eerie atmosphere created by the film's stark cinematography. This shortcoming is caused by multiple duplications of the film materials, resulting in a high image contrast.

 A night scene before (left) and after restoration (right)
A night scene before (left) and after restoration (right)

Hong Kong Film Archive is much grateful to Hong Kong Film Services for their generous donation of the film's internegatives, a set of nine reels of 35mm cellulose acetate colour duplicate negatives, which are 88 minutes in duration. With the permission of Hong Kong Film services, these internegatives which are of much higher image quality became the key materials for our restoration project. Our aim was to reduce or rectify the distortions of image caused by film deterioration, restoring the film back to its original look at the time of its initial release, while any inherited defects would be kept untouched.

INSPECTION OF SOURCE MATERIALS

As the internegatives' opening and end credits as well as the soundtrack are missing, some other source materials had to be prepared before the restoration process could begin. Apart from a VHS tape copy of the film which became the main source for sound, a copy of the film on Betacam SP tape also filled in the missing shots in the opening and closing credits.

Our conservation staff first checked the negatives thoroughly, followed by cleaning and repairing them, so as to enhance the quality of the image from digitisation. The negatives have partly deteriorated and been damaged with problems of image fading, flickering and jittering. Besides these are stains and spots on the films due to mould growth or scratching. Fortunately, the overall condition of the films is not that bad, and still suitable for restoration. Our conservation staff digitised the audio track from the VHS tape to WAV files, which along with the scanned 2K DPX files of the negatives, were handed over to our project partner in Hungary, Magyar Nemzeti Filmalap, for digital restoration and mastering.

DIGITAL IMAGE RESTORATION

The Hungarian restoration team followed the guidelines set by the Archive to fix and repair all the image and audio problems identified in the source materials. For the more serious cases of flickering and mould, they even restored each individual frame manually. One of the problems to be fixed was the jittering subtitles. For a few dark scenes with subtitles, our conservation staff decided to keep the shakiness of the original image, so as to maintain consistency with other subtitled scenes and to make the subtitles appear more stable. These scenes were quite darkly lit in the first place and audiences would hardly notice any shakiness.

 Mould stains on image before (left) and after restoration (right)
Mould stains on image before (left) and after restoration (right)

 

SOUND SYNCHRONISATION AND RESTORATION

The audio track of the restored film was mainly extracted from a mono VHS tape. VHS tape and film have different frame rates, the former being 25 frames per second (FPS) and the latter 24 FPS. The audio track from the VHS tape therefore had to be converted into 24 FPS in order to match the visual. Nonetheless part of the audio and visual would still be out of sync with each other and the team had to perfectly sync the two by matching every lip movement of the actor with every line of dialogue and every single sound with every image. The sound technicians even extracted two spoken words that were missing from the VHS tape from the Betacam SP tape's audio track.

 An audio track before (left) and after restoration (right)
An audio track before (left) and after restoration (right)

 

The quality of the audio track extracted from the mono VHS tape was also far from perfect. After noise reduction, the sound technicians had to further adjust the sound frequency, due to the lack of high frequency harmonics. When the audio restoration was completed, the whole sound track was re-mastered in a Dolby re-recording studio to meet the modern cinema standards.

COLOUR CORRECTION

Whenever the Hungarian team had completed one stage of restoration work, they would send the digital files over, and our conservation staff would immediately check the files to see whether the results met our requirements. Occasionally they would use in-house equipment to adjust the colour as reference for the Hungarian team to ensure the best results.

 Before (left) and after (right) colour correction
Before (left) and after (right) colour correction

 

THE RESTORED VERSION of The Secret

The restored version is about 5 minutes longer than the 85-minute edition that has been circulating for years, bringing back to audiences missing footage, which allows them to finally appreciate this cinema classic in its full glory.

停止
播放

《瘋劫》的搜集與修復

《瘋劫》(1979) 是香港新浪潮電影的重要作品之一,也是許鞍華導演進軍影壇的首部作品。故事改編自1970年轟動一時的「龍虎山雙屍案」,由張艾嘉、趙雅芝、徐少強主演。影片結合奇情與寫實,採取時空虛實交錯的敘事結構,通過倒敘和閃回,讓影片更添詭秘,盡見編劇陳韻文及導演許鞍華的新銳作風。

《瘋劫》(1979) 中的一幕
《瘋劫》(1979) 中的一幕

該片具質素的拷貝一直欠奉,其中多場關鍵的夜戲因菲林多次複製,導致畫面對比度高而顯得過度陰暗,觀者往往要靠想像去填補畫面暗黑的缺失,有礙觀者感受片中冷冽的影像風格所營造的怵然氣氛。

夜戲畫面修復前(左)後(右)
夜戲畫面修復前(左)後(右)

感謝香港電影公司將《瘋劫》一套共9本,片長88分鐘的35毫米彩色醋酸翻底片慷慨捐贈予香港電影資料館,並授權修復影片。翻底片較其他館藏物料畫質優勝得多,為這個修復項目提供了最重要的原材料。修復的目標是減低或修正因影片損壞導致的影像訊號的失真,使電影回復昔日上映時的原貌,而一些影片原有的瑕疵則不會予以修正。

原材料檢查

由於這套翻底片欠缺片頭和結尾部分,聲片亦已散佚,在修復工作開始前,工作人員要預備別的原材料補足缺失,當中包括一盒VHS錄影帶作為聲音檔案的主要來源,以及補足了片頭和結尾畫面缺失部分的一盒 Betacam SP 錄影帶。

修復人員先將菲林徹底檢查,清潔污漬和修補損壞,以提高數碼化後的影像檔案的質素。修復人員發現菲林已部分變壞和破損,令畫面出現褪色、晃動、抖動、霉漬、刮痕和斑點,幸而整體狀況不算太差,符合可修復的條件。修復人員將 VHS錄影帶的聲軌數碼化為WAV聲音檔案,連同菲林掃瞄成的2K DPX影像檔交予這個修復項目的合作夥伴――匈牙利電影修復工作室,進行數碼修復和組合。

影像數碼修復

匈牙利電影修復室的團隊根據資料館指示,將畫面和聲音的毛病逐一矯正過來,畫面上的嚴重晃動和發霉部份,更需要以人手逐格仔細修復。其中一項要處理的是有字幕畫面的抖動問題,在幾個比較陰暗的場面,修復人員決定保留原有畫面的抖動,以維持與其他有字幕畫面的一致性,令字幕看起來較為穩定,由於這些場面比較陰暗,觀眾不易察覺到畫面的抖動。

畫面霉漬修復前(左)後(右)
畫面霉漬修復前(左)後(右)

 

聲畫同步與聲音修復

修復版的聲音源自一盒單聲軌VHS錄影帶,由於錄影帶與菲林的格數規格不同,前者每秒25格,後者每秒24格,錄影帶的聲音檔需要轉換成每秒24格再套進畫面。即便如此,部份聲畫仍會出現不協調的情況,因此進行聲畫同步時,需要配合演員口型作出微調,確保每一句對白放回原位,每一個聲效與畫面完全同步。聲音工程師更從 Betacam SP錄影帶中抽取兩個字的聲軌,以填補VHS錄影帶欠缺了的聲音。

聲軌修復前(左)後(右)
聲軌修復前(左)後(右)

 

單聲軌錄影帶的聲音質素也未如理想,除去雜音後,由於缺乏高頻諧音,於是需要調整頻率。完成聲音修復後,聲軌於杜比錄音室重錄一次,以切合現今電影院的標準。

調色

匈牙利團隊每修復完成一個階段,便傳回電影數碼檔案,館內修復人員隨即檢查修復效果是否合乎要求,有需要時更運用館內的器材,自行調校一個近似的顏色給匈牙利團隊作參考,以確保影像調色達到最理想效果。

影像調色前(左)後(右)
影像調色前(左)後(右)

 

《瘋劫》(修復版)

修復版較多年來流傳之85分鐘版長約5分鐘,部分缺失的畫面終重現觀眾眼前,令這部睽違多年的經典電影得以在銀幕上重綻光芒。