stop
play

Film Screenings

The Many Faces of a Budding Star

In 1952, 15-year-old Betty Loh Ti landed her first acting contract with Great Wall and subsequently a string of supporting roles. Often brief but varied and memorable, Loh's screen appearances during this take-off period provide a means of charting her passage to maturity as an actor. The four works selected for ‘The Many Faces of a Budding Star' are indicative of her malleability to play a diverse array of characters: a sharp-tongued maid; an alluring tenant; a dishevelled orphan; and a naive girl, all of which proved her chameleon-like prowess and potential.

An Otherworldly Beauty

Beauty, of the otherworldly kind, embodies an ethereal grace that defies age and character profiles. Betty Loh Ti gained mainstream recognition in her last year at Great Wall with her first lead role in Suspicion. Sought ofter by directors, she ventured out to a mélange of genres that showcased her spectrum of talents. Be it comedy or suspense, period or musical, ‘An Otherworldly Beauty' is sure to enchant her audience.

 
 

Huangmei Operatic Classics

Originally a form of rural folksong and dance that was popular around the Anhui province, huangmei diao (literally, Yellow-Plum Tone) later evolved to absorb elements of Peking opera and grew in influence and popularity. When Fairy Couple, a mainland Chinese huangmei operatic film hit the screens in Hong Kong in the mid-1950s and received popular acclaim, huangmei diao took hold and became a distinct genre in its own right. The six titles in this section all feature Betty Loh Li in huangmei operatic roles. Already an established star by then, Loh pulled off a stellar performance as Lin Daiyu in Dream of the Red Chamber – so much so that she was dubbed ‘Daiyu Reincarnated'. The popularity of huangmei operatic films was a testament to the enduring appeal of Loh, one of its biggest and brightest stars.

 
 

A Wartime Phoenix

After the July 7th Incident broke out in 1937, Betty Loh Ti's father died during the Japanese bombings on 18 July, 6 days before his baby girl was born. War not only robbed Loh of her father but also her childhood. Vehement repugnance to wars and painful memories of her war-ravaged childhood lent a startling depth and poignancy to her performances in war films. Three war resistance films starring Loh are especially selected for screening in September to commemorate the Victory of the War of Resistance against Japanese Aggression. Adding to her usual tenderness, Loh imbued her characters with uncompromising courage and defiance in the face of adversity that were reminiscent of her wartime experiences – a most powerful cinematic reminder of the bittersweet celebrations of victory and, ultimately, the absurdity of war.

 

The High-Minded Heroine

One-armed Swordsman (1967) ushered in the wuxia craze in the mid-1960s. Fist-and-kick, swordplay flicks were all the rage, so popular and in demand that even Betty Loh Ti had to ditch her signature elegant melodramatic persona for an all-action one – she even took up horse-riding training in preparation for her role in Travel with a Sword. The willowy beauty, who was admittedly not blessed with martial genes nor the physique for it, announced quitting the genre for good after she completed The Wandering Swordsman and Duel at the Supreme Gate. These three films became her first and last wuxia spectacles that graced the silver screen, a precious gift bequeathed to audiences then and now.

 

 

The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

電影放映

倩影初展

1952年,十五歲的樂蒂加入長城,初登銀幕的她主要擔任的都是配角,雖然戲份不多,但從種類多樣的角色中,仍能一窺她演技成長的脈絡。「倩影初展」選映四齣樂蒂早期於長城演繹不同角色的作品,有倔強善辯的女僕、風情萬種的房客、頭髮蓬鬆的小孤女以及天真無知的少女,可見早期的她可塑性甚高。

脫俗麗人

脫俗是一種氣質,不被年齡局限,麗人自然也不受造型束縛。樂蒂於長城最後一年首次主演《捉鬼記》後,她的才華受到廣泛賞識,不同導演在各類電影都起用她擔演。「脫俗麗人」精選六齣風格異迴的影片,有喜劇有懸疑,有古裝有歌舞,讓觀眾全面感受樂蒂的脫俗氣質。

 
 

黃梅經典

黃梅調原指黃梅戲曲,是一種民間娛樂,以說唱歌舞的形式流行於安徽一帶,後來受到京劇的影響,漸漸受到重視。五十年代中,內地製作的黃梅調電影《天仙配》在港上映,深受歡迎,自始傳入香港,發展成一種獨特的電影類型。「黃梅經典」選映樂蒂參演過的六齣黃梅調電影,此時的樂蒂經已成名,《紅樓夢》令她被譽為「黛玉再世」,《梁山伯與祝英台》讓她奪得金馬影后,黃梅調電影的流行,亦是她成就的見証。

 
 

烽火女兒

1937年7月7日盧溝橋事變,7月18日樂蒂父親因日軍轟炸身亡,與六天後出生的樂蒂緣慳一面。直至抗戰結束,樂蒂的童年基本上都活在戰亂之中,這不單令她在自傳裡說戰爭是她有生以來一直切齒痛恨的,亦令她飾演抗戰電影的角色時,更添一度層次。9月3日是抗戰勝利紀念日,在這個月份特別選映了三齣樂蒂主演的抗戰電影,樂蒂除了一貫地溫碗動人之外,其舉止神韻更隱隱展現出在萬般不幸中拒絕妥協的堅毅,彷彿與她的自身遭遇遙遙呼應。

 

俠侶雌魂

六十年代中,《獨臂刀》(1967)上映後掀起一陣武俠風潮,演員親身拳來腳往的場面深受歡迎,令一向以拍文戲為主的樂蒂也放下典雅風格,為《決鬥惡虎嶺》到沙田學習馬術。然而她本人對此一類型並不熱衷,在完成《風塵客》及《太極門》後更揚言因體能所限不再接拍武俠片,此三齣可謂樂蒂武俠片的絕響,亦是她最後留給廣大觀眾的禮物。

 

 

本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。