stop
play

Introduction

Movie Talk ── John Chong

During the heydays of Hong Kong cinema, the film industry here was crowded as ‘Hollywood of the East'. With its genre diversity and production efficiency, Hong Kong films swept audiences from the Asian region, reaffirming its status as Asia's filmmaking hub and one of the most important film exporting markets in the world.

From the 1990s onwards, the industry was facing difficulties: changes in the market structure, economic environment and audience preferences. Hong Kong films seemed to have lost its way with a sharp decline from 200 to less than 50 productions per year. As such, John Chong appears to be one of the sought-after experts of film marketing to bet against the increasing decline of Hong Kong cinema.

John Chong is not only the name of a producer that one can repeatedly find on film posters, but it is actually his pseudonym as a screenwriter. While kicking off his career in the screenwriting class at TVB (Television Broadcasts Limited) in the 1980s, he later worked at Golden Princess Amusement, responsible for film promotion. This consists of many tasks at once: naming film titles, making slogans, print advertisements and trailers. When Chong co-founded the Media Asia Group in 1994 with six other industry's leaders, he kept using this name even after being a film studio boss.

Produced more than a hundred films, John Chong's strong creative background and experience in the film market are the key reasons for many Hong Kong films becoming box-office hits and award-winning classics, including Beast Cops, The Warlords, and Trivisa. He is highly respected as an outstanding film businessman, and the media often seek his advice on commercial topics such as, ‘What is the future of the Hong Kong film industry?' and ‘What are the elements of successful films?'

The answers to those questions can be found in the new series of Movie Talk, with screenings of four films hand-picked by John Chong himself. He will come to the film archive with four other film experts to share his secrets of being a film businessman.

 

The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

簡介

影談系列 ── 莊澄

香港除了是東方之珠,亦是東方荷里活,電影產量驚人、類型多樣、不單受本地觀眾歡迎,更一度風靡亞洲各地觀眾,出口市場遍及全球華人地區,成為了亞洲電影生產中心,在全球電影市場佔一重要席位。

九十年代開始,香港電影工業開始萎縮,隨著市場結構、經濟環境、觀眾口味的轉變,香港電影彷彿迷失了方向,由高峰年產近200齣下跌至不超過50齣的低潮。人們面對困境,總會尋求專家指點迷津,莊澄便是其中一位被請教得最多的電影市場專家。

莊澄這個名字常在電影海報上的監製位置出現,然而這是他寫劇本時用的筆名。他的事業由八十年代的電視台編劇訓練班展開,其後轉職金公主娛樂,負責電影宣傳,包括戲名、標語、平面廣告、預告片等,後來兼職參與編劇工作,開始用莊澄這個筆名,當他在1994年與其他六位業界翹楚創辦寰亞綜藝集團,成為了老闆後,一直沿用的也是這個名字。

以莊澄這個名字監製、出品的電影超過一百多齣;憑著他的創作背景與市場經驗,莊澄為香港電影帶來多齣票房冠軍和得獎經典,包括《野獸刑警》、《投名狀》、《樹大招風》等,大眾視他為出色的電影商人,傳媒亦多次向他請教「香港電影業何去何從?」、「電影的成功因素為何?」等商業問題。

要一探莊澄對這些問題的答案,可從他在資料館新一輯的影談系列中,親自選映的四齣作品裡略窺一二,他亦將會親臨資料館與四位電影專家,一同分享他的電影商業秘訣。

 

本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。