stop
play

Introduction

Hidden Treasures - The Fixer from Guangzhou

Movies are the result of many people working together. ‘Hidden Treasures' is a series devoted to highlighting the work of filmmakers whose contributions had been largely neglected, often during their times and especially in history.  The latest installment of ‘Hidden Treasures', after the 2018 programme ‘One-Man Entertainment Machine: Chan Cheuk-sang and His United Film', is a focus on Luk Wan-fung (1912-2011), producer, scriptwriter and owner of the companies Wan Fung, Seven Happiness and Kam Kwong Movie Company.

Luk Wan-fung was born into a family actively involved in the Republican Revolutionary, instilling in him a dedication to principle and discipline. He later joined the army and stationed in Guangzhou. Well-connected, adroit at cultivating relationships while unafraid of standing up to the powerful underworld, he earned a reputation as a fixer, having helped a number of filmmakers and opera stars such as Sit Kok-sin, Sun Ma Si-tsang and Chan Kam-tong during their times of trouble. It was then in Guangzhou that Luk established a close lifelong friendship with Sun Ma, leading to their collaboration in film and opera after Luk moved to Hong Kong.

Luk came to Hong Kong in the early 1950s to flee political turmoil and was encouraged by his showbiz friends to venture into filmmaking. He first established Wan Fung Film Company in 1954, later banding with six friends to form Seven Happiness Film Company in 1958 and Kam Kwong Movie Company in 1964. His ability to find balance in complicated and difficult situations allowed him to maintain good relationships from all walks of entertainment and even political life, making him a rare filmmaker who managed to get stars and behind-the-scene personnel from the different factions to work in the same film.  As producer and sometimes scriptwriter (under the pseudonym Luk Chung), he had made about a hundred films, including the cherished ‘Two Fools' series of comedies starring Sun Ma Si-tsang and Tang Kei-chen. He was also concerned with the artistic qualities of commercial films, such as hiring Lee Tit, one of Hong Kong cinema's most respected directors, to make such Cantonese classics as The Three Murderers (1959) and Blood Terror (1960).

Many of his films had been lost but enough had survived, giving us the opportunity to present four significant films from his diversified body of works in this programme. He and his wife, actress Lam Dan, had graciously conducted Oral History Interviews with the Hong Kong Film Archive in 2004 and generously donated related materials from their long careers, providing important and often unknown leads into understanding the complicated and fascinating history of Hong Kong cinema.

 

The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

簡介

滄海遺珠 — 義蓋雲峰

一部電影的誕生,是無數電影工作者合作的成果。香港電影資料館自一九九零年代中展開「香港影人口述歷史計劃」,至今已訪問逾四百多位影壇前輩,當中包括不少大眾較為陌生的幕後精英。「滄海遺珠」系列特意聚焦影壇上的無名英雄,去年9月首度推出「娛樂先生—陳焯生與他的大聯」,新一輯將介紹另一位同樣活躍於五、六十年代,身兼製片及編劇,亦是雲峰、七喜及金光影業的主事人陸雲峰(1912-2011)。

 

生於軍人世家的陸雲峰,從小受叔父輩影響,無形中遺傳了遵守紀律的習性,年輕時當兵,駐守廣州,曾協助許多影人與伶星如薛覺先、新馬師曾、陳錦棠等排難解紛。梁醒波曾戲稱陸雲峰是「大天一」,暗喻他當年在羊城穩定社會局勢出力不少,名頭響至力壓江湖中的「大天二」。陸雲峰五十年代初由廣州來到香港,抵港後得影人與伶星的鼓勵及支持,於1954年成立雲峰影業公司,後於1958年再與六位朋友成立七喜影業公司,最後於1964年成立金光影業公司,製作及參與拍攝共近百部電影。他集製片、編劇(筆名陸沖)於一身,最為人熟悉的電影是與伶王新馬師曾及鄧寄塵合作的「兩傻」系列。他和新馬師曾建立了逾半生的交情,從廣州到香港,無論戲台還是片場,兩人均合作無間。市場觸覺敏銳的陸雲峰,不斷製作不同類型的電影包括文藝、奇幻、武俠、歌唱、驚慄、喜劇等,滿足各種觀眾的娛樂需求。他亦遊走於通俗與藝術之間,邀請李鐵導演拍攝懸疑片《一命三兇手》(1959)和《血屋驚魂》(1960)兩部佳作。

 

由於廣結人緣,陸雲峰的電影匯集了當時得令的影人與伶星同時參與,在五十年代的香港是十分罕見的。他畢生製作了不少電影,可惜大部分已經散佚。是次節目揀選陸雲峰四部別具意義的作品,嘗試勾勒他如何動用幕前幕後深厚的情義關係,製作出這些極具分量的影片。感謝陸氏伉儷於2004年接受口述歷史訪問並慷慨捐贈電影和相關資料,對研究五、六十年代異常多元的香港電影史作出了很多補遺。

本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。