stop
play

Film Screenings

The Assassin

The Assassin

Dir/Scr: Chang Cheh
Prod Co: Shaw Brothers
Cast: Jimmy Wang Yu, Tian Feng, Chiao Chiao, Li Hsiang-chun, Huang Tsung-hsun
1967 | Colour | D Beta | Mandarin | Chi & Eng subtitles | 112min

 

The ‘Biographies of Assassins' section of Records of the Grand Historian, an epic Chinese text written in the Han Dynasty by Sima Qian, is an account of five historical figures noted for their radical acts of valour. The assaults they committed were originally depicted as amoral and motivated by personal interest or loyalties, but on the silver screen they often get repackaged as a noble rebellion against vicious rulers or officials in a dramatic good vs. evil setting, as is the case in these two films.

The Hidden Dagger is based on the story of Zhuan Zhu of the Spring and Autumn period, who posed as a chef and hid a dagger inside a fish he had prepared in an attempt to assassinate King Liao, portrayed in a much more negative light in the film than in the original text. The Assassin, a Mandarin flick from Shaw Brothers, was adapted from the Warring States exploits of Nie Zheng, who was recruited to kill the "villainised" Premier Han Kui in what turned out to be a suicide mission.

The Hidden Dagger is a rare colour picture of 1950s Cantonese cinema, featuring action scenes with Kwan Tak-hing of Wong Fei Hung fame and dramatic moments highlighting traditional ethical values. Even more action-oriented is The Assassin, directed by Chang Che early in his martial-arts tenure and starring Jimmy Wang Yu in his charismatic prime.

© Licensed by Celestial Pictures Limited. All rights reserved.

Date Time Location
6/5/2018 (Sun) 5:00pm Cinema, Hong Kong Film Archive

 

 

The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

電影放映

大刺客

大刺客

導演/編劇:張徹
攝影:鄺漢樂
剪接:姜興隆
音樂:王居仁
監製:邵逸夫
出品:邵氏兄弟
主演:王羽、田豐、焦姣、李香君、黃宗迅
1967 | 彩色 | D Beta | 國語 | 中英文字幕 | 112分鐘

 

《史記‧刺客列傳》只傳五人,詳各不一,大抵太史公幾分材料說幾分話。專諸之事較略,只記他得姬光善待,為光刺殺吳王僚,光與僚爭權奪位,可謂只有利益,並無善惡可言,而《魚腸劍》把僚寫成篡位弒君的奸臣,光則是為國為民的忠義世子,一派忠奸善惡兩分明的套路。專諸為光效命,一展報國抱負之餘,更見大義凜然,連他的母親也精忠報國,甘願自縊以絕兒子的後顧之憂。

聶政之事記嚴仲子求刺客殺韓傀,為的只是二人之間的意氣之爭,而《大刺客》把聶政塑成志氣男兒,感嚴仲子知遇之恩,慷慨赴義。當然,背景不免以外抗強秦的大是大非襯托,又是正邪不兩立的格局,不然氣勢或許未夠磅礴。既已如此,聶政也就不妨再多借用些荊軻的元素:白衣送別,圖窮匕現。

士為知己者死,目的正義與否無關宏旨。因此,太史公曰:「其義或成或不成,然其立意較然,不欺其志,名垂後世,豈妄也哉。」所傳的其實是一種人格特質。

版權由天映娛樂有限公司全部擁有

日期 時間 地點
6/5/2018 (日) 5:00pm 香港電影資料館電影院

 

 

本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。