stop
play

Introduction

Movie Talk: Philip Chan

Since 2013, the Hong Kong Film Archive's "Movie Talk Series" has zoomed in on six film veterans, namely, Ivy Ho, Chiu Kang-chien, Fruit Chan, Herman Yau, Stanley Kwan and Peter Yung, presenting works hand-picked by these versatile filmmakers, accompanied with seminars that offered audiences a deeper understanding of their creative trajectory and sources of inspiration.

In focus for the 2018 instalment of the series is the multi-talented and well-respected Philip Chan, who has contributed to Hong Kong cinema as an actor, screenwriter, director and producer. Selected together with Chan himself, the four films featured in this mini tribute were scripted and/or directed by him, including the semi-autobiographical indie romance, Charlie's Bubble (1981); the collaboration with Johnny Mak, Long Arm of the Law (1984); the gripping suspense co-produced with John Shum and Melvin Wong, The Night Caller (1985); and the witty comedy co-scripted with his close friend Michael Hui, Mr Boo VIII Chocolate Inspector (1986). Each screening will be followed by a dialogue between Chan and another heavyweight figure that promises one anecdote after another of his expansive experience in the industry.

In 1975, while still a member of the Hong Kong Police Force, Chan was invited by Josephine Siao Fong-fong and Leong Po-chih to write the screenplay for their co-directorial debut Jumping Ash (1976), which grossed over a million in three days. In the wake of the film's success, investor Jimmy Yip Chi-ming persuaded Chan to quit his job as superintendent and turn to filmmaking, officially kicking off his career in the entertainment business.

Hong Kong has had its rise and fall, and Chan has seen it all: from the gradual consolidation of our cultural identity in the 1970s and the indisputable influence of the movie industry on our popular culture in the 1980s, to the decline of Hong Kong cinema in the 1990s and the ever-growing trend of co-production in the new millennium. As he puts it, "Life is like a merry-go-round. You will come across many doors, and to unlock all these opportunities you have to work on forging the keys."


The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

簡介

影談系列:陳欣健

香港電影資料館自2013年開始,先後舉辦了六次「影談系列」,邀請資深電影人岸西、邱剛健、陳果、邱禮濤、關錦鵬及翁維銓自選作品,並出席座談會與觀眾細談創作歷程及靈感來源。

2018年新一輯的「影談系列」,我們以集編劇、導演、演員及監製一身的陳欣健為焦點影人,邀請他挑選四部編導的作品,包括他首次獨立執導的愛情小品《文仔的肥皂泡》(1981)、與麥當雄共同創作的警匪片《省港旗兵》(1984)、與岑建勳及黃錦燊合組電影公司出品的懸疑片《平安夜》(1985) 及與亦師亦友的拍檔許冠文合作的喜劇《神探朱古力》(1986)。透過放映及映後談,與觀眾分享他努力的成果、製作過程的點滴及箇中的苦樂。

1975年仍然任職警界的陳欣健,以編劇身份跟梁普智、蕭芳芳拍攝《跳灰》(1976),本屬玩票性質,卻創下三天超過一百萬票房的佳績。在《跳灰》的投資者葉志銘力邀下,陳欣健辭任警司,轉職電影策劃,正式開展其演藝事業。

在大時代闖蕩過,陳欣健親身參與及見證七十年代香港人文化認同的提升、八十年代電影登上流行文化產業的巔峰、九十年代電影興衰的歲月及至千禧合拍片的大趨勢。如他說:「人生就像玩旋轉木馬一樣,轉下去會遇到不同的門,只要預備好鎖匙,機會就會把你帶到更遠。」


本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。