stop
play

Introduction

Morning Matinee: Jimmy Lin, the Diamond Divo

Jimmy Lin Chong, originally named Lin Hsi-hsien, was born into a notable family in Tainan. Despite his father's wishes for him to become a diplomat, he fell in love with performing arts and learned dancing under the tutelage of renowned choreographer and modern dance pioneer, the late Tsai Jui-yueh. After appearing in more than a dozen films (including several Amoy-dialect films produced in Hong Kong), he was sent to Japan by his father to pursue his university education.

As if endowed with an unstoppable shine, Lin, born of mixed Taiwanese-Japanese descent, was recommended by his professor to work as an interpreter for Li Mei, leading actress of the Hong Kong-Japan co-produced stage musical, Hong Kong (1961) during the summer of his freshman year. Even greater news ensued, when Lin's dashing looks and impeccable dancing skills landed him a significant role in the musical and catapulted him to overnight fame as Toho's new and rising star. Before long, he graced the silver screen again with Star of Hong Kong (1963) and Honolulu, Tokyo, Hong Kong (1963), both co-productions between Toho and MP & GI, playing opposite superstars Lucilla You Min and Takarada Akira and yet losing none of his dazzling charm. Throughout his five-year stay in Japan, Lin remained extremely active in showbiz, even recording an album and developing a singing career.

There seems to be a destined bond between Lin and Hong Kong – after being crowned champion of the first Asian Singing Contest held in Korea in 1967, Lin went to Hong Kong on a performing tour and caught the attention of two film industry heavyweights, Raymond Chow and Chang Cheh of Shaw Brothers. The mega-studio produced three musicals in a row, all tailor-made for Lin, whose infectiously flamboyant persona made him an immediate household name in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia.

Dubbed "Diamond Divo" for his delightful portrayal of the diamond thief and glitzy performance of the now-classic theme song in The Singing Thief (1969), Lin has proven to be not only an instant hit, but also an unforgettable cultural icon with a brilliant style all of his own.


The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

簡介

影畫早晨︰永遠的鑽石大盜林沖

原名林錫憲的林沖出生於台南望族,父親希望他當外交官,他卻深愛表演藝術,隨台灣舞蹈界教母蔡瑞月習舞,更接拍電影—當中包括香港的廈語片。演藝路難行,父親自是激烈反對,更把他送到日本唸書。

彷彿注定要踏上星途,這位中、日混血兒在大學一年級的夏天,得教授推薦,當上了港、日合資歌舞劇《香港》(1961)女主角李湄的日語翻譯,憑著俊朗的外型和了得的舞藝,奇蹟般地獲邀參演一個重要角色,一夜之間成為東寶舞台新星,未幾獲派演東寶與香港電懋合拍的電影《香港之星》(1963)及《香港・東京・夏威夷》(1963),與港、日兩位天皇巨星尤敏、寶田明大演對手戲。在日發展五年,林沖於影視界演出不斷,更灌錄唱片,邁進歌唱之路。

或許林沖真的與香港結下了不解緣,1967年他於第一屆亞洲歌唱比賽奪冠後,從韓國到港演唱,不單於歌壇引起哄動,也引來影壇巨擘鄒文懷與張徹的青眼,結果一口氣演出了三部邵氏為他量身訂製的歌舞電影,迅速竄紅香港以至東南亞地區。

林沖因在《大盜歌王》(1969) 中飾演鑽石大盜,被冠以「鑽石歌王」美名,電影主題曲「鑽石」,則直至今天仍然是他每次演唱會的招牌歌曲,而他的摘星故事,也正好比擬美鑽,一經琢磨,就命定要發放那恆久耀眼的光芒。


本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。