stop
play

Research & Editorial Unit

 

 

 

The documentation of film history is an uphill battle and a race against time, especially with the passing of old film veterans and the loss of primary materials. Since its founding, the Archive has amassed pivotal information and knowledge on Hong Kong films in chronological order, which serve as a specialised resource for the publication of Hong Kong Filmography Series and other thematic titles. Eight volumes of Hong Kong Filmography, focusing on films produced from 1914 up to 1979, are already completed. For our Oral History project, we conduct extensive interviews with a talented cast of film veterans. A prominent part of the dialogues is documented in our Oral History Series and other thematic publications, providing readers access to the essential first hand-information on Hong Kong cinema.

As for our thematic titles, they range widely—from topics on film professionals, film companies, dialect films to film genres, among others. Programme catalogues are also published in line with our current exhibitions and screening programmes. The Archive's quarterly Newsletter, on the other hand, reports on our latest developments and features influential essays on film culture, thereby facilitating appreciation and further research.

Throughout the years, the Archive has revived the past glory of many classic cinematic gems by restoration projects. To allow the public to gain in-depth knowledge about these films and our restoration efforts, we have been releasing Restored Treasures DVDs which feature interviews with film cast and crew, researchers as well as restoration experts. Released titles as of today include Confucius (1940) and Colourful Youth (1966).

Hong Kong Filmography Series Hong Kong Filmography Series

 Oral History Series Oral History Series

Movie Talk Series Movie Talk Series

The Essence of Entertainment: Cinema City's Glory Days The Essence of Entertainment: Cinema City's Glory Days

  The Chaozhou-dialect Films of Hong Kong

Always in the Dark: A Study of Hong Kong Gangster Films Always in the Dark: A Study of Hong Kong Gangster Films

 Newsletter Quarterly Newsletter

Restored Treasures DVD Restored Treasures DVD

停止
播放

研究及编辑组

 

 

 

越早的原始资料越是匮乏和难得,资料馆自筹划办事处成立之初,即按年代自远而近搜罗香港影片资料,以作编纂《香港影片大全》系列及出版专题书籍之用。《香港影片大全》至今已出版了八卷,摘要罗列 1914 至 1979 年所摄制的影片的资料。我们并进行「香港影人口述历史计划」,广泛访问影坛前辈,将访谈整理成文字,部分收录于「香港影人口述历史丛书」及各专题书籍中,是研究香港电影极为珍贵的第一手资料。

而本馆的专题书刊,有以影人、机构、方言影片及电影类型等为主题,及配合展览和放映活动出版的特刊。《通讯》季刊除了报道资料馆的最新消息,还刊载电影文化文章,以助推动电影欣赏和研究。

多年来,本馆透过修复工程,让不少经典电影回复昔日光彩,我们更精选部分成果出版修复珍藏电影光碟,配以影人、电影研究学者及修复专家的访问,加深大众对该部电影及电影修复工作的认识。目前已推出的有《孔夫子》(1940)、《彩色青春》(1966)和《疯劫》(1979)。

 香港影片大全系列 香港影片大全系列

香港影人口述历史丛书 香港影人口述历史丛书

  影谈系列

娱乐本色――新艺城奋斗岁月 娱乐本色――新艺城奋斗岁月

香港潮语电影寻迹 香港潮语电影寻迹

江湖路冷――香港黑帮电影研究  江湖路冷――香港黑帮电影研究

《通讯》《通讯》季刊

修复珍藏光碟 修复珍藏光碟