stop
play

Conservation Unit

The Work of Conservation Unit

 
   

The Archive often encounters films and film-related materials that have been damaged due to extended neglect. Our Conservation Unit is responsible for restoring those damaged films and providing a sound environment for our collection's safekeeping. Conservation staff are also responsible for conserving film-related materials including posters and stills. Every incoming film goes through elaborate examinations and treatments, from cleaning and removing residual chemicals to, in some instances, processes like restoring colour or striking new prints. Regarding film restoration, the most complete Cantonese version of Bruce Lee's The Kid (1950) in existence is reconstructed from different incomplete versions of the film. Whereas in Nobody's Child (1960) (Director: Bu Wancang; main cast: Josephine Siao Fong-fong, Wang Yiu, Butterfly Wu), part of the emulsion on the original film had peeled off. Digital technology was used to duplicate and re-create the lost images, and to reduce flickering, scratches, spots and background noise. The restoration work started from an original 16mm copy borrowed from the Chinese Taipei Film Archive. It is the first Archive title with restoration version copies in both DCP (Digital Camera Package) and 35mm film stock.

Nobody's Child, before restoration Nobody's Child, before restoration
Nobody's Child, after restoration Nobody's Child, after restoration

Our storage facility is among the best in Asia. Film vaults are equipped with an air-conditioning system with acid-removal mechanism, the first of its kind in the world. Currently, we have around 100,000 reels of celluloid, kept at a temperature of 4oC and relative humidity 30%. Under such conditions, our film collection can last for 100 years or more. As for digital holdings, we align ourselves to the archival profession's code of ethics to ensure their safekeeping for the long haul.

A scene in the film storage A scene in the film storage

Film Handling and Inspection

Upon arrival, all films must pass through a preliminary inspection. In a hot and humid place such as Hong Kong, film reels are often found deformed or shrunk.

Films showed sign of decay Films showed sign of decay
Film conditions inspection in progress, a film damage is being studied Film conditions inspection in progress, a film damage is being studied

The film is inspected for shrinkage, tears and scratches. A shrinkage gauge and a magnifying glass are used to examine each frame of the film before it is repaired and cleaned. Faults such as perforation damage, edge damage, notching, break and tear can be repaired by film splicing.

Film splicing in progress Film splicing in progress

Where suitable, the film is put through an ultrasonic cleaning machine to remove dust, mould and grease.

An ultrasonic film cleaning machine An ultrasonic film cleaning machine

Once thoroughly cleaned, the film is put inside specially conditioned vaults for safekeeping. Before a film is projected, it will be checked over carefully to prevent it from tear and break.

Where restoration is necessary, our conservators will apply corrective treatments with photochemical technology, or scan the film into digital file for digital treatment.


Meaning of Film Preservation and Restoration

The moving image is an important part of our cultural heritage. The Hong Kong Film Archive sets out to gather motion pictures and related artefacts from around the world. Very often, we encounter films that have been damaged due to poor storage. Our Conservation Unit is responsible for restoring films with both optical and digital technologies, as well as providing a sound environment for their safekeeping.

As of today, no film carrier can last forever or function as long as we want it to. Preservation, in the archival context, means keeping deterioration to the minimum so that a copy of high quality continues to exist. Through duplication, contents contained in unstable celluloid can be transferred to more stable film stock designed specifically for preservation purposes. In the case of digital films, their contents can be duplicated to more mature, reliable digital media or preservation-oriented celluloid for better preservation.

Technically speaking, celluloid is more developed than other digital carriers as a means to preserve. As per the recommendation by FIAF (International Federation of Film Archives), we have made it a rule to duplicate for each restored film a set of picture and sound negative plus preservation positive. Only by doing this could a film be considered duly preserved.

Digital technology has greatly broadened the possibilities of film restoration. Traditional photochemical technology, nonetheless, has its own strengths in terms of image quality and overall reliability. Our conservators would take into account the actual needs and make wise use of both, and from now on, more energies will be devoted to in-house restoration work alongside collaborations with our counterparts worldwide.

停止
播放

修复组

修复组的工作

 

 

在搜集的过程中,常遇有影片及与影片有关文物因长期未有妥善储存以致残缺不全。修复组肩负保管及修复影片的重任,用科学方法管理片仓、修复电影拷贝、海报、剧照等与影片有关文物也由该组负责修复。搜集回来的影片必须经过技术检查,作储存前测试。程序包括去除油垢、灰尘、残馀化学物质,清洗及防止变坏处理等。我们亦有开展电影修复工作,例如李小龙孩童时期主演的《细路祥》(1950)则经由不同来源的拷贝拼合,重新翻印,始得见较完整的版本。而由卜万苍导演;萧芳芳、王引、胡蝶主演的《苦儿流浪记》(1960),它的修复由台北电影资料馆借出的16毫米原片开始。部分原片菲林的药膜脱落溶解,须以数码技术复制及填补已失去的画面,并减少画面震动、刮痕、斑点及背景噪音。它为本馆首部同时备有DCP数码档及35毫米拷贝修复版本的影片。

《苦儿流浪记》(修复前) 《苦儿流浪记》(修复前)
《苦儿流浪记》(修复後) 《苦儿流浪记》(修复後)

本馆拥有亚洲顶尖的储存设备,片库设有全球首个可排除酸气的空调系统。现时,我们收藏电影菲林接近100,000本,全部存放於摄氏4度、相对湿度约30%的仓库内,影片估计可保存100年以上。以硬碟储存的数码电影,我们同样悉力按照专业守则保存和护理。

电影菲林储存库 电影菲林储存库

影片处理与检查

影片到馆後,必须先经过初步检查。在炎热潮湿的地方如香港,影片收缩、变形等现象相当普遍。

变坏了的电影菲林 变坏了的电影菲林
电影菲林检查中,一处破损正被检视 电影菲林检查中,一处破损正被检视

影片收缩、断裂或刮花的状况,可用收缩尺量度及放大镜逐格仔细查看,同时进行修补及清洁。其他情况如齿孔或片边损坏、崩片、破裂或割片等,则可用接合法修复。

电影菲林接合 电影菲林接合

若情况许可,影片会被放进超声波洗片机清洗,去除片上的尘埃、霉菌和油渍。

超声波洗片机 超声波洗片机

清洗乾净的影片,将安放在低温低湿的冷冻仓内作长期保存。任何影片放映之前,修复员都会细心再检查一遍,以防断片等情况。

如有修复的需要,本馆除了利用传统的光学技术,亦可把菲林扫描成为数码档,以数码科技进行修复。


保存及修复的意义

电影是人类重要的文化遗产。香港电影资料馆致力搜集电影文物,经常遇到影片拷贝因储存不当以致残缺不全。本馆修复组运用传统的光学技术与先进的数码科技修复影片,并妥善储存。

目前,还没有任何一种载体是永久不变或可以永久存取的。所谓「保存」,意即把电影载体可能受到的耗损减到最低,确保影像及声音长久可用。就菲林而言,藉著复制,可把不稳定片基的内容转移至保存级别的菲林上;而数码电影,则可复制到更成熟、可靠的数码载体,或保存级别的菲林上。由於菲林作为保存载体的技术较为成熟,本馆按照国际电影资料馆联盟的建议,把完成修复的影片,分别复制成为声/画底片及正片拷贝,这样才算妥善保存了一部作品。

数码科技大大扩阔了电影修复的可能性,在修补花痕、调色、除震、声轨修复等方面成效显著;传统的光学技术在画质和稳定性上,亦有其难以替代的优点。我们会视乎实际情况和需要而兼用,日後并致力强化馆内进行的修复工作,以及与世界各地同业的交流合作。