The Edward Youde Aviary of Hong Kong Park

 

Design Concept

The Edward Youde Aviary of Hong Kong Park has been open to public since September 1992.  The aviary is named after the late Sir Edward Youde, the Governor of Hong Kong from 1982 to 1986.

The aviary has a raised walkway that allows visitors to walk through the tree canopy, from which they can watch the birds, trees and plants at various elevations and the whole valley from different angles.  The walkway is wheelchair accessible.

The valley floor of the aviary is a streambed full of trees and shrubs, and adorned with shallow pools and small waterfalls.  Water goes down the valley and flows into a large pool, which is contiguous with a small lake outside the exit of the aviary and offers a nice place for watching waterfowl.

Display panels with graphic and textual illustrations are erected at the entrance of the aviary to explain the structure and ecology of a tropical rain forest, with particular reference to the bird communities in the aviary. 

The Edward Youde Aviary
The Edward Youde Aviary

To avoid the presence of unsightly supporting poles inside the aviary, the suspending stainless steel mesh spanning the entire valley are supported by four giant arches.  The area enclosed by the mesh is approximately 3 000 square metres, with its highest point 30 metres above the valley floor.

Apart from preserving the trees on site, additional planting has been carried out both inside and outside the aviary.  The trees and plants help conceal the steel mesh from view and make the aviary resemble a natural environment.

Display Theme

The birds are indigenous to the Malesian rain forests.  Malesia is a botanical region covering a vast area extending from the Malaya Peninsula and Great Sundas (Sumatra, Borneo and Java), the Philippines, the Indonesian islands to New Guinea and the Bismarck Archipelago.

These rain forests are home to the tallest rain forest trees on earth and a large number of animal species including some of the world’s most beautiful birds.

Sadly, these forests have been subject to destruction on a massive scale and are under constant and serious threat.  As a result, many bird species are threatened with extinction.

Although it is not possible to recreate a rain forest, we have created a similar habitat to allow visitors to enjoy the sights and sounds of spectacular birds in a natural environment. 

長冠八哥
Java Sparrow

Bird Species

The aviary features around 600 birds of 70 different species, mostly indigenous to Malesia.  Ground dwelling birds include pheasants, partridges, pigeons and thrushes.  Some like the crowned pigeons and golden pheasants are spectacularly beautiful. 

Golden Yellow Pheasant

The aviary also houses Barbets, which are characteristic birds of the forests in the western part of Malesia and their repetitive calls are common in that region.  Songbirds like Shamas and Yellow-crowned Bulbuls often sing loud, melodious songs against a background of various bird calls, making the aviary resemble a rain forest.  There are also other passerine birds such as brightly coloured Fairy Bluebirds, bulbuls and leafbirds.

Maroon-breasted Crowned Pigeon

The aviary is home to variety of endangered bird species including Bali Mynas, which have beautiful snow-white plumage with bare skin in bright blue around the eyes and a long backward-sweeping crest.  They often fly between the trees and the raised walkway in the aviary, singing and chattering delightfully.

Although many arboreal doves and pigeons have brightly coloured plumage, they can be difficult to pick out when perching in the tree foliage.  On the contrary, Rainbow Lorikeets, Black-capped Lories and Alexandrine Parakeets are attractive to visitors and easy to trace as they often fly around the aviary. 

Java Sparrows are commonly used as fortune-telling birds.  They are highly socialised, foraging for food in groups.  Although small in size, they work together to carry nesting materials that are bigger than their bodies.  Their strength and co-operation are indeed amazing.   

The Waterfowl Lake is landscaped to form a swamp to accommodate different species of waterfowl.  Common Shelducks, an especially attractive species, are often found swimming in the lake leisurely.  

It is a pity that not all spectacular species can be housed in the aviary.  For example, large hornbills have to be kept separately in the display cages as they prey on smaller birds.

Common Shelduck

Topography and Vegetation

The Edward Youde Aviary, located at the southern corner of Hong Kong Park, is built along a natural valley on the northern slope of Victoria Peak.

Major trees species include Fig, Pond Spice, Tree Cotton, Kapok Tree and Candlenut Tree.  A variety of palms and tree ferns are also planted to enrich the forest vegetation.  The forest floor is lined with deep leaf litter along with ferns and other typical forest plants that serve as ground covers. 

The giant trees in rain forest, with huge buttress and stilt roots, take several bundred years to grow and can hardly reach maturity under the climatic conditions of Hong Kong.  Nevertheless, they can be seen in the aviary as accurate imitations specially provided on site.

Caged Display Area

As complementary facilities, three display cages are erected on a terrace above the valley to house hornbills and other bird species from the Malaysian region.  Visitors can watch these birds in close proximity. Great Pied Hornbill White-crested Hornbill

Educational Programme and Guided Tour Service

Outdoor learning activities for students will be organised during school terms.  Interested groups may make prior arrangement with the Park Management Office for the guided tour service.  

Top

香港公園尤德觀鳥園

 

設計概念

香港公園尤德觀鳥園以已故的尤德爵士命名,自1992年9月起開放給公眾參觀。尤德爵士於1982至1986年間出任香港總督。

觀鳥園內設有一條高架行人道,遊人經此通道穿梭於樹冠之間,既可在不同的高度觀賞園內雀鳥、樹木和植物,亦可從不同的角度欣賞山谷全景。此外,高架行人道的設計適合坐輪椅者使用。

觀鳥園山谷底部的淺水池和小瀑布形成林蔭河床,河水順着山谷地勢向下流動,匯聚於一個大型水池。水池與觀鳥園出口處外面一個小湖相連,是遊人觀賞各類水禽的好地方。

觀鳥園入口處設有圖文並茂的展板,闡述熱帶雨林的結構和生態,更特別介紹園內的雀鳥群落。

尤德觀鳥園
尤德觀鳥園

罩住整個觀鳥園的不銹鋼圍網以四個巨型拱架承托,避免園內出現礙眼的支柱。圍網覆蓋範圍約為3 000平方米,上蓋的最高點與山谷底部相距30米。

除了原有樹木外,觀鳥園內外也種植了大量植物,以樹木遮蔽圍網,使環境接近自然景致。

展覽主題

園內雀鳥原產於馬來羣島熱帶雨林。馬來群島林木茂盛,覆蓋範圍遼闊,由馬來半島和大巽他羣島(蘇門答臘、婆羅洲和爪哇) 、菲律賓及所有印度尼西亞島嶼,伸展至新畿內亞和俾斯麥羣島。

該處長有地球上最高的雨林樹木,也是無數動物棲息之所,包括世界上最美麗的雀鳥。

然而,這些雨林受到大規模摧毀,不斷面臨嚴峻的威脅,致使很多雀鳥瀕臨絕種,令人惋惜。

雖然無法重造真正的雨林,但我們可以模擬其生態環境,讓遊人入內參觀時,仿如置身森林,在自然環境中觀賞雀鳥的美態和細聽鳥語。

長冠八哥
爪哇禾雀

雀鳥品種

觀鳥園內的雀鳥,大部份來自馬來羣島,約有600隻,屬70 個品種。在地上棲息的包括雉雞、鷓鴣、鳩鴿和鶇鳥。有些雀鳥,例如鳳冠鳩和錦雞,尤其美麗奪目。

黃腹錦雞

擬啄木鳥是馬來羣島西部森林特有的品種,在該處常常可聽到牠們連綿不斷的啼聲。身在觀鳥園中,就如置身真正的雨林一樣,可聽到各種雀鳥的鳴叫,包括鵲鴝和黃冠鵯洪亮悅耳的歌聲。鳴禽類雀鳥還有色彩艷麗的和平鳥、鵯鳥和葉鵯。

紫胸鳳冠鳩

園內更飼養了屬多個瀕危品種的雀鳥,包括全身羽毛雪白的長冠八哥。牠們外觀潔白美麗,眼睛周圍有一圈眼影般的藍色皮膚,頭頂長有絲帶狀羽冠,型態獨特,歌聲嘹亮,經常於樹叢與行人道間飛舞,活躍好動。

樹上棲息的鳩類雀鳥,很多都長有色彩斑爛的羽毛,不過,當這些雀鳥在樹叢中歇息時,往往難以找到牠們的蹤影。反觀彩虹吸蜜鸚鵡、黑頂吸蜜鸚鵡及亞歷山大鸚鵡等,經常穿梭於觀鳥園內,姿態美妙,逗人喜愛,吸引遊人駐足觀看。

爪哇禾雀常被用作占卜術中的「媒鳥」。牠們喜愛社群生活,經常一起出動覓食。雖然體型細小,卻會齊心合力搬運比自己身型為大的築巢用料,令人讚嘆。

水禽湖營造成一個沼澤區,供不同品種的水禽棲息,尤其是湖上常見的翹鼻麻鴨,優游自在,型態可愛。

可惜,並非所有別具特色的雀鳥都可安置在觀鳥園內。舉例來說,大犀鳥會捕食體型較小的雀鳥,因此須另行飼養在展覽籠內。

翹鼻麻鴨

地形和植物

尤德觀鳥園坐落香港公園南隅一個天然山谷上,地處太平山北面斜坡。

主要樹木品種有無花果類、潺槁樹、木棉、爪哇木棉和石栗。此外,園內廣植各種棕櫚樹和桫欏等,使植物品種更為豐富。樹林底部鋪了厚厚的落葉,並栽滿蕨類和其他典型的森林地被植物。

熱帶雨林巨樹有龐大的板狀根和支柱根,樹齡以數百年計。由於香港的氣候環境,這些巨樹如在本地生長,將無法達至成齡樹的狀態,因此,我們在觀鳥園內擺設了幾可亂真的仿製品。

雀鳥展覽區

山谷的平台另設三個展覽籠,作為觀鳥園的輔助設施,籠內飼養了犀鳥和多種產自馬來西亞地區的雀鳥,供遊人近距離觀賞。 雙角犀鳥 長冠犀鳥

教育推廣活動和導賞服務

我們會在學期內為學生舉辦户外學習活動,有興趣的團體可向公園辦事處預約導賞服務。

Top