Forsgate Conservatory

 

The Forsgate Conservatory, which occupies an area of 1 400 m2, comprises three sections, namely the Display Plant House, the Dry Plant House and the Humid Plant House.  An adjustable environmental control equipment has been installed in the Conservatory to simulate different climatic conditions for the display of plants from arid region and tropical area.

Display Plant House

The Display Plant House is designed for staging thematic displays of popular cultivated plants. 

Plants of different genuses and families are displayed at the Display Plant House on a rotational basis.  Throughout the year, over 30 groups of these plants are shown including Orchids, Begonias, Anthuriums, Amorphophallus, Bromeliads, Herbs, Aquatic and Bulbous Plant, etc.  Visitors can appreciate the beauty of various types of plants at the Display Plant House in different seasons during the year.

Display Plant House

Humid Plant House

The exhibits in the Humid Plant House comprise a wide variety of Ferns, Palms, Bromeliads, Carnivorous Plants and Jungle Foliage Plants from South Africa, Southeast Asia and America.  These exhibits are arranged in zonal groups according to their places of origin.  Plant species with ecological features and economic values such as Rubber Tree, Coffee, Cacao, Breadfruit Tree and Vanilla have been specially collected.  Blooming and fruiting have been recorded for some of these species. 

The Humid Plant House is maintained at a year-round temperature ranging from 23℃ to 33℃ through an automatic heating and cooling system.

The automatic fogging system will produce a layer of floating water vapour underneath the glazed cover.  The water vapour absorbs much of the solar energy during evaporation and is discharged through the vents on the rooftop. 

Humid Plant House

Dry Plant House

Dry Plant House

Cacti, succulents and plants from arid areas are displayed in the Dry Plant House.  It is always kept hot and dry with a maximum temperature of 33℃ and sixty percent (60%) relative humidity. 

To make the environment of the Dry Plant House more interesting, artificial rockery and mini canyons are constructed to simulate the habitat for plants of arid areas.

Educational Programme and Guided Tour Service

During school terms, outdoor learning activities will be organised for students.  Groups interested in these activities may also make prior arrangements with the Park Management Office for the guided tour service.  

Top

香港公園霍士傑溫室

 

香港公園霍士傑溫室佔地1 400平方米,由展覽廳、旱區植物展覽館和熱帶植物展覽館組成。溫室內安裝了調控環境的設備,可營造不同的氣候環境,以供展出旱區植物和熱帶植物。

展覽廳

展覽廳的設計專供舉辦專題植物展覽,展品一般為人們喜愛栽種的植物。

每年有多達30組不同科屬的植物輪流在展覽廳內展出,包括蘭科植物、海棠屬植物、花燭屬植物、魔芋屬植物、鳳梨科植物、香草植物、水生植物和球莖植物等。遊人在不同季節參觀展覽廳,都可以欣賞到各類植物的美態。

展覽廳

熱帶植物展覽館

熱帶植物展覽館的展品包括各類來自南非、東南亞和美洲的蕨類、葵類、鳳梨科植物、食蟲植物和森林賞葉植物,全部均按其原生分布地區擺放;並特別搜羅了一些具生態特徵和經濟價值的植物品種,例如橡膠樹、咖啡、可可、麵包樹和香莢蘭 (雲呢拿) ,部份品種更曾成功開花結果。

展覽館裝設了自動操作的加熱和冷卻系統,使館內的氣溫全年保持在攝氏23度至33度。

館內設有自動製霧系統,在玻璃屋罩頂下面產生一層浮動水蒸氣。水蒸氣在蒸發過程中吸收大量太陽熱能,然後經屋頂的排氣道排出館外。

熱帶植物展覽館

旱區植物展覽館

旱區植物展覽館

旱區植物展覽館的展品包括仙人掌、肉質植物和來自乾旱地區的植物。館內的環境經常保持炎熱乾燥,溫度最高達攝氏33度,而相對濕度則為百分之六十 (60%)。

展覽館內加建了人造岩石和小型峽谷,以營造旱區植物的生境,為展覽環境增添趣味。

教育推廣活動和導賞服務

我們會在學期內為學生舉辦户外學習活動,有興趣參與這些活動的團體亦可向公園辦事處預約安排導賞服務。

Top