2016 Bun Carnival

Introduction

Jiao-festival of Cheung Chau is on the third national list of intangible cultural heritage in China since 2012. The Bun Carnivals held since the re-commissioning of the Bun Scrambling Competition in 2005 have been well received by the public. The wide range of programmes including the Selection Contest for the Bun Scrambling Competition, the Climbing Carnival as well as the Bun Scrambling Competition not only have attracted over 10 000 participants but also tens of thousands of local and overseas spectators. Among these programmes, the Bun Scrambling Competition has been the focus of attention and has become one of the most representative traditional festive events in Hong Kong. It helps boost the economy of Cheung Chau, create commercial opportunities, and promote climbing sport as well as tourism in Hong Kong.

The 2016 Bun Carnival to be staged at the soccer pitch of Pak Tai Temple Playground, Cheung Chau from 24 April 2016 to 15 May 2016 is jointly presented by the Hong Kong Cheung Chau Bun Festival Committee and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, in association with the Cheung Chau Wai Chiu County Association Limited, the Cheung Chau Rural Committee, the Islands District Office and the China Hong Kong Mountaineering and Climbing Union, and sponsored by LUKFOOK JEWELLERY, Watsons Water and the Islands District Council.  The activities include training and selection contest for the Bun Scrambling Competition, the Climbing Carnival and the Bun Scrambling Competition.  This year, the colouring and drawing competitions will continue to be held for students of kindergartens and primary schools respectively to enhance public knowledge of the bun scrambling tradition and local customs.

The Climbing Carnival is staged to enable the public to enjoy the fun of bun tower climbing.  The activities include game stalls, handicraft, variety show, and climbing demonstrations, etc.  Regarding the Bun Scrambling Competition, climbing training will be provided for the participants.  In addition to the individual event, an invitation relay will be organised for climbing athletes from neighbouring cities and local groups in Cheung Chau.

The activities of the 2016 Bun Carnival are as follows:

DateProgramme
i) 24/4 (Sun) Training on bun tower climbing 
ii) 1/5 (Sun) Selection Contest for the Bun Scrambling Competition
iii) 8/5 (Sun) Climbing Carnival
iii) 14 - 15/5 (Sat, Sun) Bun Scrambling Competition cum Prize Presentation Ceremony

Please refer to publicity materials for activity details.


Top

包山嘉年華 2016

簡介

長洲太平清醮已於2012年正式列為第三批國家級非物質文化遺產項目。自2005年在長洲復辦搶包山比賽以來,所舉辦的「包山嘉年華」深受市民歡迎。搶包山選拔賽、攀爬嘉年華及搶包山比賽的連串活動,除了吸引逾萬人參加外,亦吸引成千上萬的本地及海外遊客的關注。其中的「搶包山比賽」更是萬眾矚目的焦點。此項活動已成為全港最具代表性的傳統節慶活動之一,既可振興長洲的本土經濟,促進商機,推動攀爬運動,又有助推廣香港的旅遊業。

由香港長洲太平清醮值理會與康樂及文化事務署合辦,長洲惠潮府有限公司、長洲鄉事委員會、離島民政事務處及中國香港攀山及攀登總會協辦,六福珠寶、屈臣氏蒸餾水及離島區議會贊助的「包山嘉年華2016」將於2016年4月24日至5月15日期間於長洲北帝廟遊樂場足球場舉行。活動內容包括:搶包山訓練及選拔賽、攀爬嘉年華及搶包山比賽;今年亦會繼續舉辦包山填色比賽及繪畫比賽,藉以加強市民對傳統搶包山及本土習俗的認識。

為了讓市民一嘗攀包山的樂趣,大會舉辦「攀爬嘉年華」,內容包括攤位遊戲、手工藝製作、綜合表演及攀爬示範等;至於「搶包山比賽」,大會提供攀爬訓練予搶包山比賽的參加者,除了個人賽外,亦邀請鄰近地區的攀爬好手與長洲社團組織進行接力邀請賽。

「包山嘉年華2016」的活動安排如下:

日期
項目
24/4/2016 (星期日) 搶包山訓練
1/5/2016 (星期日) 搶包山選拔賽
8/5/2016 (星期日) 攀爬嘉年華
14-15/5/2016 (星期六、日) 搶包山比賽暨頒獎典禮

有關活動詳情請參閱章程。

Top