Musicianship Course


What is Musicianship Course? Why are trainees required to take the course?

Musicianship Course is a foundation music training programme which covers areas like music theory, aural training, sight-singing, music appreciation and improvisation. We arrange instrumental trainees to attend this course in order to increase their knowledge in music with a view to enhancing their efficiency in learning musical instruments.


Can non-Music Office trainees enrol in the Musicianship Course, Music Theory Course, and Aural Training Course?

The Musicianship Course and Aural Training Course of the Music Office are restricted to trainees of the Instrumental Music Training Scheme, while the Grade 5 and Grade 8 Music Theory Courses are open for application by members of our bands/orchestras/choirs. The Aural Training Course is mainly organised for trainees who are sitting for examinations of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM) to be held between September and December in the same year. The musical instruments concerned must be the ones they are studying at the Music Office. Any remaining places will then be open to other trainees who are not sitting for the ABRSM examinations, but wish to receive Grade 6 to Grade 8 aural training.


When can one apply for the Aural Training Course and Music Theory Course?

The two courses are open for application around May to June every year. Applicants may enquire about the details at our music centres or visit our website around that period of time.


How does the Music Office select trainees for the Music Theory Course and Aural Training Course?

Trainees for the Music Theory Course are selected based on the qualifications they have attained on music theory, while the Aural Training Course is offered on a first come, first served basis.


What are the fees for individual courses?

The elementary, intermediate, and advanced levels of the Musicianship Course and Aural Training Course are offered free of charge. The fee for the five-month Grade 5 Music Theory Course is HK$1,200, while that for the nine-month Grade 8 course is HK$2,925.


Are parents allowed to stay with their children during class for the Musicianship Course?

In principle, parents are not advised to stay with their children during class owing to the limitation of space.

音乐通识课程


甚么是音乐通识课程,为何规定学员修读是项课程?

音乐通识课程为一项音乐基础训练,内容包括乐理、听音、视唱、音乐欣赏及即兴创作。本处安排器乐学员修读此课程的目的,是为强化其音乐修养以增强其学习器乐的效率。


非音乐事务处学员可否参加音乐通识、乐理或听音课程?

本处音乐通识及听音课程只供本处「器乐训练计划」学员修读,5级及8级乐理课程则接受本处乐团/合唱团团员申请。听音课程主要为已报名参加于该年9至12月举行的英国皇家音乐学院考试的学员提供训练,报考乐器并须为其于本处学习的乐器。如有余额,则可供没有报名考试,但欲接受6至8级听音训练的学员参加。


何时可报读听音及乐理课程?

两项课程大约于每年5至6月接受报名。报读者可于该段时间向本处各音乐中心查询,或浏览本处网页。


如何选拔入读乐理及听音课程的学员?

乐理班是以学员已考取的乐理成绩作为遴选准则;听音课程则以先到先得的报名方式进行。


各项课程收费如何?

初、中、高级音乐通识课程及听音课程均为免费课程;5级及8级乐理课程则为收费课程。5级课程为期5个月,全期学费为港币1,200元;8级课程为期9个月,全期学费为港币2,925。


家长可否陪伴子女上音乐通识课?

因课室空间有限,故原则上不建议家长进入课室陪伴上课。