Places of Amusement Licences Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
Places of Amusement Licences  
Places of Amusement Licences
Guide to Application for Licences
Licensing Conditions
Performance Pledge
List of Licensed Premises
Application Form
Places of Amusement Licence Fees
FAQs
Leisure Services
Back to LCSD
Web Accessibility Conformance Statement
 
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)  
 
1. What type of licence is required for operating a billiard establishment, a public bowling-alley or a public skating rink?
 

Any person intending to operate a billiard establishment, a public bowling-alley or a public skating rink must apply for a Places of Amusement Licence (Billiard Establishment/Public Bowling-alley/Public Skating Rink). Under section 92A of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132), it is an offence for any person to operate a billiard establishment with 4 or more billiard tables, a public bowling-alley or a public skating rink without a valid licence issued by the licensing authority.

 
2. Is a Billiard Establishment Licence required for operating a billiard establishment with not more than 3 billiard tables?
 

Under section 22A of the Places of Amusement Regulation, ¡§A billiard establishment having less than 4 tables for the playing of billiards, snooker, pool or similar games is exempt from the operation of section 92A of the Ordinance¡¨ (the Ordinance means the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132)). As such, a Billiard Establishment Licence is not required for operating a billiard establishment with not more than 3 billiard tables.

 
3. What are the requirements on the premises intended to be used as places of amusement?
 

The premises should satisfy the following requirements:

  1. There are no unauthorised building works (by cross reference to the approved building records in the Buildings Department and the Building Authority¡¦s acknowledgement of completion of approved alterations and additions works);
  2. The floors have adequate loading capacity;
  3. There are adequate means of escape; and
  4. The premises should be located in purely commercial buildings. For those located on the podium floors of mixed commercial/residential buildings, the floors must have separate means of access segregated from the residential portions of the buildings.

Each application will be considered on its own merits by the licensing authority.

 
4. Has the licensing authority complied any guidelines on the application procedure for a Places of Amusement Licence?
 
Information on the application procedure for a Places of Amusement Licence has been uploaded onto the website of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) at http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/licensing/en/index.php. Enquiries can also be made to the Licensing and Prosecution Unit of the LCSD on 2601 8799.
 
5. How long will it take for the LCSD to process an application for a Places of Amusement Licence?
 

It normally takes 55 working days for the LCSD to process a new Places of Amusement Licence, excluding the time that an applicant needs to ensure full compliance with the licensing requirements. The performance pledges of the LCSD for processing a fresh application are as follows: (1) to acknowledge receipt and refer the application to the relevant government departments for comment within 5 working days after receiving all the necessary documents and conducting inspection of the premises; (2) to issue a Letter of Requirements within 5 working days upon receiving no objections from all relevant government departments; and (3) to issue a licence within 5 working days upon confirmation of full compliance with the licensing requirements.

 
6. How can an applicant lodge an appeal if his/her application for a Places of Amusement Licence is rejected?
 
If the applicant is dissatisfied with the decision made by the licensing authority, he/she may lodge an appeal against such a decision to the Licensing Appeals Board within 14 days after the service on him/her of the rejection in writing in accordance with sections 125(8) and (9) of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132).
 
7. Is a licensee required to make any application to the licensing authority for holding events/activities other than those specified in the licence in a licensed place of amusement?
 

According to Condition 3 of the Standard Licensing Conditions for Places of Amusement, ¡§Except with the approval of the Department, or as specified in any licence or permit granted by the Department, the premises must not be used for any other purpose or class of business.¡¨ As such, any licensee who intends to use a licensed place of amusement for holding events/activities other than those specified in the licence must obtain prior approval from the licensing authority. The licensee must submit a duly completed application form to the Licensing and Prosecution Unit of the LCSD by fax (Fax No. : 2375 9333), by post (Address: Licensing and Prosecution Unit, 9/F, Leisure and Cultural Services Headquarters, 1 Pai Tau Street, Sha Tin, New Territories), or by hand 6 weeks before holding the events/activities. The application form is available for download on the following website: http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/licensing/en/form.php.

 
8. How can a licensee apply for permission to conduct business outside the statutorily specified business hours?
 

According to section 12 of the Places of Amusement Regulation, ¡§Unless expressly permitted by the Director in writing, the licensee shall not allow the licensed premises to be used between 2 a.m. and 8 a.m. for any activity specified in the licence.¡¨ As such, the licensee of a place of amusement must apply to the Licensing and Prosecution Unit of the LCSD for permission to conduct business outside the statutorily specified business hours. Under normal circumstances, the processing time for such an application is about 6 weeks.


 
2007| Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date:23 January, 2014

康樂及文化事務署 - 遊樂場所牌照
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
遊樂場所牌照  
遊樂場所牌照
申請牌照指引
遊樂場所牌照條件
服務承諾
持牌處所名單
申請表格
遊樂場所牌照收費
常見問題
康樂事務
返回康文署
無障礙網頁守則
常見問題  
 
1. 如想經營桌球館、公眾保齡球場或公眾溜冰場,須申領哪種牌照?
 

任何人如想經營桌球館、公眾保齡球場或公眾溜冰場,必須申領遊樂場所牌照(桌球館/公眾保齡球場/公眾溜冰場)。根據《公眾衛生及市政條例》(第132章)第92A條的規定,任何人如未獲發牌當局簽發有效牌照而經營設有4張或以上球枱的桌球館、公眾保齡球場或公眾溜冰場,即屬違法。

 
2. 如想經營設有不多於3張球^的桌球館,是否須申領桌球館牌照?
 

根據《遊樂場所規例》第22A條的規定,「如某桌球館內用以進行桌球、英式桌球、美式桌球或類似遊戲的球枱少於4張,則該桌球館即獲豁免受本條例第92A條規管。」(本條例指《公眾衛生及市政條例》(第132章))因此,任何人如想經營設有不多於3張球枱的桌球館,無須申領桌球館牌照。

 
3. 擬用作遊樂場所的處所應符合哪些條件?
 

有關處所應符合以下條件:

  1. 沒有違例建築工程(可參考屋宇署的核准樓宇記錄,以及建築事務監督確認完成的核准改建和加建工程記錄);
  2. 樓面有足夠荷載能力;
  3. 有足夠逃生途徑;以及
  4. 應位於純商業樓宇;如位於商住樓宇的基座平台層,則所在樓層須設有與樓宇的住宅部分分隔的獨立通道。

發牌當局會按每宗申請的個別情況考慮。

 
4. 發牌當局有否編製指引,說明遊樂場所牌照的申請手續?
  有關申領遊樂場所牌照的資料,已上載康樂及文化事務署(康文署)網頁(網址:http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/licensing/b5/index.php)。有意申請人士亦可致電康文署牌照及檢控小組查詢(電話號碼:2601 8799)
 
5. 康文署審批遊樂場所牌照申請,一般需時多久?
  由康文署審批新的遊樂場所牌照一般需要55個工作天,當中不包括申請人履行所有發牌規定所需的時間。康文署審批新牌照申請的服務承諾如下:(一)在收到全部所需文件和視察處所後5個工作天內,向申請人發出認收通知,以及就申請徵詢有關政府部門的意見;(二)在接獲所有有關政府部門的不反對通知後5個工作天內,向申請人發出發牌規定通知書;以及(三)在確定申請人已履行所有發牌規定後5個工作天內簽發牌照。
 
6. 如遊樂場所牌照申請被拒,申請人如何提出上訴?
  申請人如不滿發牌當局的決定,可根據《公眾壎秅峊型F條例》(第132章)第125(8)及(9)條的規定,在接獲發牌當局拒絕其申請的書面通知後14個工作天內,就該項決定向牌照上訴委員會提出上訴。
 
7. 如想在持牌遊樂場所舉行未在牌照內訂明的節目或活動,持牌人是否須向發牌當局申請?
  根據遊樂場所標準持牌條件第3項,「除得康文署許可,或該署批出的牌照或許可證有所訂明外,處所不得用作其他用途或經營其他類別的業務。」因此,任何持牌人如想使用持牌遊樂場所舉行未在牌照內訂明的節目或活動,必須事先取得發牌當局的批准。持牌人必須在節目或活動舉行前6星期,將填妥的申請表以傳真(傳真號碼:2375 9333)、郵寄(地址:新界沙田排頭街1號,康樂及文化事務署總部9字樓,牌照及檢控小組)或專人送遞方式交到康文署牌照及檢控小組。申請表可從以下網址下載:http://www.lcsd.gov.hk/licensing/b5/form.php
 
8. 遊樂場所持牌人如想在法例規定以外的時間繼續營業,如何申請?
  根據《遊樂場所規例》第12條的規定,「除非獲得署長的書面明確准許,否則持牌人不得在凌晨2時至早上8時期間,容許其領有牌照的處所作該牌照所指明的活動之用。」因此,遊樂場所持牌人如想在法例規定以外的時間繼續營業,必須向康文署牌照及檢控小組提出申請。在一般情況下,該小組審批這類申請需時約6星期。
 
2007| 重要告示 | 私隱政策 修訂日期 2014年4月4日