Stop
Play
Extend

Introduction

Early Cinematic Treasures Rediscovered returns with its third instalment this season. Thanks to the meticulous efforts of scholars and researchers bringing breadth and depth to their reading and analysing of individual films, then presenting and sharing their insights at seminars and essays written for publications, we have gained a preliminary understanding of the activities and interactions between China, Hong Kong and Southeast Asia prior to WWII, the strategic importance of Hong Kong as a British colony and an outpost during the war period, as well as the cinematic representations of human migration, commercial and business activities, everyday life and entertainment that took place on the crossroads between east and west.

Among the eight films selected for this instalment, Rivals in Love (1939) and The Blood-Stained Peach Blossom Fan (1940) are believed to have been completed before WWII; The Evil Mind (1947), The Inscrutable Heart of Women (1947), Return of the Swallows (1948), A Poor Lover's Tears (1948), The Birth of Kiddy Stone (1949) and To Kill the Love (1949) have been identified as postwar productions.

The first two titles, the only surviving prints of Cantonese directors So Yee and Mak Siu-ha respectively, are among the rarest of treasures. Rivals in Love borrowed liberally, though idiosyncratically, from Oscar Wilde's Lady Windermere's Fan, casting Cantonese opera player Tam Lan-hing as the mother of the title character who returns to save her daughter from going astray. Fan, a war morale booster highlighting prevalent themes of patriotism and cowardice, tells how a group of businessmen is awakened from their comfortable, sheltered life to do their part for the war effort. The film also preserves in it the dazzling scene where Cheang Mang-ha (librettist Tong Tik-sang's wife) performed a sword dance.

Six leading Cantonese directors helmed the other selected titles: Fung Chi-kong, Wu Pang and Chu Kea, who later ranked among the ‘Top Ten Directors'; Gao Lihen, Hung Chung-ho and But Fu, three key figures of early Cantonese cinema.

Drawing widely from popular literature, their works offer a wealth of visual texts that enriches the study of pre-war cinema. For instance, A Poor Lover's Tears was adapted from Mong Wan's novel and To Kill the Love from Yee Hung-sang's serial novel in Sing Pao Daily News. There was no shortage of clues in these films to the noir-esque style or the attempt to delve into the mysteries of the female psyche inspired by Western literature and Hollywood.

The new instalment will feature a panel of scholars and researchers spearheading post - screening discussions and recommending reference films in relation to the selected titles. Evoking the sights, sounds and atmosphere of the 1930s and 40s, their recommendations will bring a whole new dimension to our cinematic experience. For this, a heartfelt thank you to Law Kar, Wong Ain-ling, Dr Chan Sau-yan, Dr Yau Ching, Dr Mary Wong Shuk-han, Lau Yam and Dr Stephanie Ng.

A total of 22 nitrate films salvaged from oblivion in San Francisco have graced our screen since the programme's beginning. This is made possible through the generosity of our donor, Jack Lee Fong, and the tireless work of our acquisition and conservation colleagues on preserving these films. Our sincere gratitude is due to all of them.

The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

暫停
播放
延伸

簡介

轉眼間「尋存與啟迪」這個系列已踏入第三輯的放映。承接前兩年多位學人和研究者就個別電影的珍貴歷史和文化史的深化閱讀、解構、座談和撰文分析,我們總算初步了解到戰前中、港與南洋之間的諸多穿梭活動;以及在抗戰時期,香港作為英國殖民地,成為一個相對後勤的支援陣地。再者,由於地處中西匯聚的交通要塞,從電影可感受到民間的各式流徙活動, 商業、經貿、民生和娛樂場所的運作。

這次選映的八部作品, 有兩部是戰前完成的電影, 包括《血淚情花》(1939)和《血灑桃花扇》(1940);其他六部則是勝利後才攝製的, 包括《辣手蛇心》(1947) 、《難測婦人心》(1947) 、《歸來燕》(1948)、《青衫紅淚》(1948) 、《石鬼仔出世》(1949) 和《辣手碎情花》(1949)。

頭兩部《血》片非常珍貴,分別為蘇怡和麥嘯霞兩位早期粵片導演唯一僅存的菲林拷貝。《血淚情花》劇情遙遙回應王爾德的《溫夫人的扇子》,離家多年後回鄉尋女的媽媽,卻改成會唱粵曲的譚蘭卿。《血灑桃花扇》借一群偏安大都會的商家如何醒覺要為國難當頭而捐獻,道出抗戰題旨,片中難得保存了唐滌生夫人鄭孟霞表演劍舞的片段。

其他六部新出土舊片,分別由六位導演執導, 包括後期結盟為「十大導」的馮志剛、胡鵬和珠璣,及相對早期的粵片導演高梨痕、洪仲豪和畢虎,對研究戰前電影脈絡有莫大裨益。

特別值得一提的,是這批1949前拍攝的電影,有多部取材流行文學,如改篇望雲小說的《青衫紅淚》和改篇怡紅生《成報》連載小說的《辣手蛇心》;而西方文學和荷里活電影的啟發都在多部「黑色調子」或揣摩女性複雜心理的電影中有跡可尋。

就着所選映的八部電影,亦分別請來研究學人,就個別電影主導分析方向,並各精選一部參考電影。參考電影中、外作品兼備,務求深化觀影層次,令大家更接 近三、四十年代的創作氛圍。在此特別鳴謝羅卡先生、黃愛玲女士、陳守仁博士、游靜博士、黃淑嫻博士、劉嶔先生和吳月華博士。

本節目自三年前開始,至今已合共公映過22部由三藩市再出土的早期硝酸片。再次借這個機會鳴謝捐贈者方創傑先生,以及搜集組和修復組同事在整理、清潔、檢查和掃描等多方面工程所作的努力。

本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。