Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
Site Map
Contact Us

Press Releases

2015.05.29 04:15 29°C Mainly CloudyVery Hot Weather Warning
Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Multimedia Information - The Mobile App of Multimedia Information System
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
RTHK Quartet to perform charming chamber music

     Presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, the "Our Music Talents" series will stage two chamber music concerts by the RTHK Quartet in October. The quartet comprises the talented violinists Le Hoai-nam and Selena Choi, violist Elvis Chan and cellist Laurent Perrin.

     There are two programmes. The October 6 concert will feature Beethoven's "String Quartet No. 9 in C, Op. 59, No. 3" (Fourth Movement); Haydn's "String Quartet in C, Op. 76, No. 3, Emperor" (Second Movement); Brahms' "String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 51, No. 2" (First Movement); Richard Strauss' "String Sextet" (from Capriccio); and Liu Tie-shan and Mao Yuan's "Dance of the Yao People". The October 7 concert will include Ng Cheuk-yin's "Let There be Light"; Brahms' "String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 51, No. 2"; Richard Strauss' "String Sextet" (from Capriccio); and Beethoven's "String Quartet No. 9 in C, Op. 59, No. 3".

     The RTHK Quartet was founded in 2009 with a view to promoting chamber music to a wider audience and encouraging chamber music playing in Hong Kong. The quartet's members, who are all Hong Kong-based, come from Vietnam, Hong Kong and Luxembourg. This diverse background reflects not only Hong Kong's cosmopolitan environment but also the universal appeal of music. The quartet has collaborated with various musicians including pianists Nancy Loo, Geoffroy Couteau and Colleen Lee, sheng player Loo Sze-wang and the France-based Manfred Quartet. While committed to a core classical repertoire, the quartet also commissions and performs new works by Hong Kong composers and uses arrangements of Chinese music. In addition to performing for local audiences, the quartet has performed on the Mainland and overseas, including in Italy and France.

     The concerts by the RTHK Quartet will be staged at 4pm on October 6 (Monday) and 8pm on October 7 (Tuesday) at the Theatre of Hong Kong City Hall. Tickets with prices ranging from $100 to $160 are now available at URBTIX. Half-price tickets are available for senior citizens aged 60 or above, people with disabilities and their minders, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) recipients (limited tickets for full-time students and CSSA recipients are available on a first-come, first-served basis).

     For programme enquiries, please call 2268 7321, or visit . For ticketing enquiries, please call 3761 6661. For telephone credit card booking, please call 2111 5999. For Internet bookings, please visit .

Ends/Thursday, July 31, 2014
Issued at HKT 10:00


[News Archive][Back to Top]
Quality Services for Quality Life