Skip To Content

" In Search of Cosmic Life " (1/2/2018 - 31/10/2018)

 

In Search of Cosmic Life

Nature-loving Selena takes a field trip to the countryside with her elder brother Sunny, an engineering freshman. Under the starry sky, they met SPM-1, a mysterious robot that seems to know everything about life science.

It may seem absurd for a robot to tell humans things about life, but we owe robots for their explorations of potentially habitable places in the Universe, and discoveries of organic substances which are the building blocks of life.

In our newly produced Sky Show "In Search of Cosmic Life", audiences will appreciate the uniqueness of the Earth for life to flourish, and will examine those celestial bodies which scientists have found liquid water or organic compounds. Liquid water is essential to life because it is the medium for most of the biochemical reactions, and the occurrence of organic compounds in space may be a hint that life could exist elsewhere than Earth. Audiences will also hear different views of scientists on whether extraterrestrial life could ever be found. Space missions such as Stardust, Kepler and OSIRIS-REx will also be introduced.

So what is your take on cosmic life? Yea or nay?


Sky Show " In Search of Cosmic Life " Trailer
 

Deoxyribonucleic acid
DNA, short for deoxyribonucleic acid, is the genetic materials in living organisms. Its characteristic double helix shape not only provides structural stability, but the presence of two complementary strands also makes exact DNA replication possible. By using only four chemical substances, namely adenine (A), thymine (T), guanine (G) and cytosine (C), 1.5 gigabytes worth of genetic information of human can be encoded. If all DNA in a single human cell is stretched out and placed end to end, the length is approximately two metres long! Were it not for this exquisite mechanism of storing genetic information, life as we know it would not exist.

Europa
Oceans exist beneath the surfaces of some icy moons of gas giants in the Solar System. For instance, it is estimated that the subsurface ocean of Jupiter's moon Europa is almost a hundred kilometres deep, holding more water than all of Earth's oceans combined.

Glycine in Space
Over 100 carbon-containing molecules have been found in space, ranging from simple formaldehyde to complex polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons. One type of these organic molecules which attracts scientists' attention is amino acids. Amino acids are the building blocks of proteins which are so essential to life that muscles, hormones and enzymes are made of proteins. Stardust spacecraft has discovered the simplest amino acid known as Glycine in the comet Wild-2.

Kepler Mission
By monitoring the brightness of over 150,000 stars in a patch of sky in the constellation Cygnus, Kepler Mission has confirmed that there are more than 2,300 exoplanets orbiting stars other than our Sun. Some of these exoplanets are of size similar to Earth and are in just the right orbits around the central stars that allow liquid water to exist.

 

Show Period : 1 February 2018 to 31 October 2018
Place : Stanley Ho Space Theatre
Admission Fees : Front stalls $24, Stalls $32 (Standard)
Front stalls $12, Stalls $16 (Concession)
- Concession is applicable to full-time students, people with disabilities (and one accompanying carer), and senior citizens aged 60 or above
- Children under 3 years old will not be admitted
Duration : 30 minutes 
Show Schedule : Please refer to Stanley Ho Space Theatre Show Schedule
Ticketing : Please refer to "Ticketing Information" 
- Advance booking up to one week is available
- URBTIX Internet Ticketing : http://www.urbtix.hk 
- Telephone credit card booking : 2111 5999
- Ticketing enquiries: 3761 6661

跳至主要內容

《宇宙中的生命》(1/2/2018 - 31/10/2018)

 

宇宙中的生命

熱愛大自然的月怡跟就讀工程系的兄長朗日,到郊外為專題研習搜集資料。他們在星空之下,偶遇一個通曉生物學的神秘機械人SPM-1。

由機械人來告訴人類關於生命的事情乍看有點奇怪,但其實機械人在探索宇宙中的可居地帶和發現有機物質—生命的基本材料,都立下了不少功勞。

在香港太空館全新製作的天象節目《宇宙中的生命》內,觀眾將會暸解地球如此生機盎然,原來有賴本身獨特的條件,大家亦會造訪科學家所發現擁有液態水或有機化合物的天體。液態水對生物極其重要,因為幾乎所有生物化學反應都需要它作為媒介;而在太空中發現有機物質,或許代表着生命能存在於地球之外。學者更會和大家分享對能否找到地外生命的看法。節目亦會介紹相關的太空任務,例如星塵號、開普勒和OSIRIS-REx等。

你對外星生命又有甚麼看法?有還是沒有?


天象節目《宇宙中的生命》預告片
 

脫氧核糖核酸
脫氧核糖核酸(簡稱DNA),是生物的遺傳物質,其獨特的雙螺旋形狀不但提高了DNA的結構穩定性,這兩條具有互補性質的長鏈更令DNA能準確地進行複製。透過腺嘌呤(A)、胸腺嘧啶(T)、鳥嘌呤(G) 和胞嘧啶(C) 這四種化學物質的組合排列,便足以將1.5個十億字節(Gigabyte)的人類遺傳資料全部記錄下來。假如將一顆人類細胞內的所有DNA拉直並頭尾相接,總長度約有兩米!若不是有這種精妙的遺傳資料儲存機制,我們所知的生物根本不可能存在。

木衛二
在太陽系內,一些巨型氣體行星的衛星表面被冰所覆蓋,而當中有些更擁有在冰層之下的海洋。以木衛二(歐羅巴)為例,其冰層之下的海洋深度達100公里,水量比地球上所有海洋的總和還要多。

太空中的甘氨酸
迄今在太空中已找到百多種含碳分子,包括簡單的甲醛和複雜的多環芳香烴,而氨基酸的發現受到了科學界的重視。氨基酸是蛋白質的基本材料,肌肉、賀爾蒙和酵素都是由蛋白質所組成。星塵號太空船於威爾二號彗星發現了最簡單的氨基酸 – 甘氨酸。

開普勒任務
透過監測天鵝座一個天區內超過15萬顆恆星的亮度,開普勒任務證實在太陽系外,原來有超過2,300顆地外行星圍繞其他恆星運行;當中有些行星的大小跟地球相若,而它們和所圍繞恆星之間的距離適中,容許液態水的存在。

 

 

放 映 日 期 ∶  2018 年 2 月 1 日 至 2018 年 10 月 31 日
地 點 ∶ 何 鴻 燊 天 象 廳
入 場 費 ∶ 前 座 2 4 元 , 後 座 3 2 元 ( 標 准 票 )
前 座 1 2 元 , 後 座 1 6 元 ( 優 惠 票 )
- 優 惠 票 適 用 於 全 日 制 學 生 、 殘 疾 人 士(及 一 名 同 行 照 料 者) 及 60 歲 或 以 上 高 齡 人 士
- 三 歲 以 下 兒 童 恕 不 招 待
片 長 ∶ 30 分 鐘 
放 映 時 間 ∶ 請 參 閱 「何 鴻 燊 天 象 廳 節 目 時 間 表 」
購 票 方 法 ∶ 請 參 閱 「購 票 指 南 」
- 預 售 一 星 期 門 票
- 網 上 購 票 : http://www.urbtix.hk
- 信 用 卡 電 話 訂 票 :2111 5999
- 票 務 查 詢 :3761 6661