Leisure and Cultural Services Department - Antiquities and Monuments Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKText Only繁體版簡體版
A A A
search site map contact us


Wun Yiu Exhibition



 

Wun Yiu Exhibition



Wun Yiu is the only kiln site to have been discovered in Hong Kong to date that is known to have produced porcelain in underglaze blue. Academics began studying the history of the site in the 1950s, and, in light of its historical significance, part of the area where remnants of the kiln were unearthed was declared a monument in 1983.

The former Regional Council and the Institute of Chinese Studies of The Chinese University of Hong Kong formed an archaeological team to conduct excavations of the kiln site in 1995 and 1999. With the generous assistance of the residents of Sheung Wun Yiu and Ha Wun Yiu villages, remnants of the kiln site were unearthed that illustrate the various stages of porcelain production from quarrying to kiln firing. The discoveries have also provided valuable material for the study of Hong Kong’s early industrial history, the history of Tai Po and private kilns in Guangdong.

Showcasing finds from the Ming and Qing dynasties, the exhibition introduces the history of Wun Yiu and the archaeological discoveries unearthed there. For more information, please see the pamphlet on the kiln site.


The Wun Yiu Exhibition in the Sheung Wun Yiu Village, Tai Po
The Wun Yiu Exhibition in the Sheung Wun Yiu Village, Tai Po
The artefacts unearthed from the kiln site, Wun Yiu
The artefacts unearthed from the kiln site, Wun Yiu


Address: Sheung Wun Yiu, Tai Po, the New Territories

Free Admission

 

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

康樂及文化事務署 - 古物古蹟辦事處 香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通繁體純文字簡體版English
A A A
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們


碗窰展覽


 

碗窰展覽

大埔碗窰是香港目前發現唯一的青花瓷窰址。自二十世紀五十代起,已有學者關注碗窰的歷史。由於碗窰遺址有很高的歷史價值,部分發現窰爐的地方已於1983年宣布為法定古蹟。

前區域市政局與香港中文大學中國文化研究所分別於1995年及1999年成立考古隊,在碗窰窰址進行考古研究調查。在碗窰上、下兩村的村民鼎力協助下,考古隊在遺址發現了從採礦到入窰裝燒的各項生產陶瓷工序的遺蹟。調查結果對研究香港早期工業、大埔區歷史及廣東省民窰有重大意義。

展覽介紹碗窰的歷史及考古發掘,並展示出土的明清兩代文物。如欲進一步了解碗窰遺址,可詳閱大埔碗窰窰址單張



位於大埔上碗窰村的碗窰展覽 位於大埔上碗窰村的碗窰展覽
   
在碗窰遺址出土的文物 在碗窰遺址出土的文物


地址: 新界大埔上碗窰村

免費入場


2004 © | 重要告示 | 私隱政策 | 無障礙瀏覽 Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 無障礙網頁嘉許計劃