Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Speeches

2014.10.31 21:48 25°C Mainly Fine
Speeches
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Speeches

2008.11.20   Speech by Director of Leisure and Cultural Services, Mr. Thomas Chow, at the Opening Ceremony of the Exhibition Looking for Antonio Mak

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It gives me great pleasure to welcome you all to the Opening Ceremony of the "Hong Kong Art: Open Dialogue" Exhibition Series III "Looking for Antonio Mak".

The "Open Dialogue" exhibition series represents a new initiative of the Hong Kong Museum of Art in exhibition programming. It aims to strengthen the strategic partnerships between the Museum and guest curators. In May this year, the "Open Dialogue" series was inaugurated with the exhibition "Digi@logue" which highlighted the local development of and new trends in digital art and culture.

Later in August, "New Ink Art: Innovation and Beyond", the second exhibition in the series, was launched and provided a discursive analysis of this unique art form in contemporary context. Both exhibitions have received very encouraging support from the art community and very positive feedback from the visitors.

The exhibition opening tonight, "Looking for Antonio Mak", is the third in the series. This exhibition, curated by Ms. Valarie Doran, focuses on the masterly works of the late Hong Kong artist Mr Antonio Mak, while the works of eight other Hong Kong artists who pay tribute to Mr. Mak in their respective forms of artistic creation are also displayed.

In Mr Mak's artistic journey, one can see many special phenomena of Hong Kong's art history. Mr. Mak is best known for his bronze sculptures and his works are powerfully appealing in their juxtaposition of wisdom and humour, sensibility and poetry, and paradox and irony.

In this exhibition, Ms. Valerie. Doran seeks to convey the eternal charming elements of the works of Mr Mak. Her in-depth research which provides a view on Mr. Mak's works from different perspectives reaffirms the artistic merits of this late artist and the importance of his works in Hong Kong's art history.

I would like to give my special thanks to the family of Mr. Antonio Mak for providing his artworks and various belongings of his for exhibition. Your generosity not only greatly enriches the exhibition, but also enhances the audience's understanding and appreciation of the art of Mr. Mak. I would also like to extend my sincere gratitude to the private collectors who have kindly lent us their valuable collections. My heartfelt thanks must also go to the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts, Meyer Sound Laboratories, Inc. and Doran Capital Partners for their staunch support. Last but not least, I would like to thank the eight participating artists, Mr. Fung Ming Chip, Ms. Jaffa Lam, Mr. Lee Man Sang, Ms. Lo Yin-shan, Mr. Kung Chi Shing, Mr. Simon Birch, Mr. Kwan Sheung Chi and Mr. Wu Shanzhuan, for their contributions to the exhibition. I am sure all who will come to visit the exhibition will thoroughly enjoy it.

Thank you.

Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

演詞

2014.12.22 00:34 13°C 天色良好紅色火災危險警告寒冷天氣警告
演詞
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
演詞

2008.11.20   康樂及文化事務署署長周達明於「尋找麥顯揚」展覽開幕典禮致辭全文

各位來賓:

歡迎大家蒞臨香港藝術館參加「香港藝術:開放‧對話」展覽系列III「尋找麥顯揚」展覽的開幕典禮。

「香港藝術:開放‧對話」是香港藝術館展覽策劃上的一項新猷,進一步拓展了與客席策展人的夥伴合作。這個展覽系列於今年五月推出首項展覽「數碼演義」,揭示本地數碼藝術和文化的發展及新面貌,而在八月展出的「新水墨藝術 – 創造‧超越‧翱翔」,就展示了水墨藝術悠久歷史傳統的演進與發展,以及其當代藝術形式的演繹。這兩個展覽均獲藝術界的支持,亦得到觀眾的非常正面回應。

今晚開幕的「尋找麥顯揚」展覽,是「香港藝術:開放‧對話」展覽系列的第三項展覽,由任卓華女士策劃,演繹出由一位香港雕塑家引發的創意和新觀念,而八位參與的藝術家就以他們豐富多樣的藝術創作,向麥顯揚先生(1951 – 1994)的藝術致意。

麥顯揚先生藝術歷程及獨特的創作思維,充份體現了香港藝術的特質。麥氏以鑄銅雕塑最為人所熟悉,他的作品富强烈的感染力,既滿有智慧又有幽默感,詩意亦感性,有時還結合了矛盾與諷刺。

是次展覽的客席策展人任卓華女士以她敏銳且細膩的藝術觸覺,尋索出這一位英年早逝的香港藝術家作品中不滅的魅力。她透過對麥顯揚先生的藝術及人生作的深入研究,以多角度再次肯定他在香港藝術史上的影響及重要性。

我特別多謝麥顯揚先生的家人借出麥氏生前物品多項,讓觀眾能透過麥氏這些極富紀念價值的生活點滴加深對他的認識。是次展覽獲數十位收藏家借出珍藏的麥氏作品,而香港演藝學院亦特別為是次展覽作燈光的設計,此外,Meyer Sound Laboratories, Inc. 及Doran Capital Partners公司就分別慷慨贊助是次展覽的音響設備及場刊的製作,我謹此衷心致謝。最後,我非常多謝八位參展藝術家特影為是次展覽以創作作回應,他們分別為馮明秋先生、林嵐女士、李文生先生、盧燕珊女士、龔志成先生、Mr. Simon Birch、關尚智先生及吳山專先生。我相信每一位觀眾的都會非常欣賞是次展覽。

多謝各位。

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群