Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Speeches

2014.10.24 20:20 25°C Cloudy
Speeches
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Speeches

2008.07.10   Speech of Director of Leisure and Cultural Services, Mr Thomas Chow, at the opening ceremony of the special exhibition "The Deep"

Mr. Thébault, Mr. Yiu, Ms. Nouvian, ladies and gentlemen,

 

First of all, let me welcome you all to the opening of “The Deep,” the new special exhibition of the Hong Kong Science Museum.

 

In 1848, British naturalist Edward Forbes claimed that beyond 600 metres, the deep sea was lifeless. Explorers and scientists have spent the last 160 years proving him wrong. Even though deep-sea oceanography is still young, we now know that the depths are far from a lifeless void.  On the contrary, life seems to have colonized even the most hostile of environments at depths of 4,000 metres.

 

However, the exploitation of ocean resources such as deep-sea trawling is rapidly destroying the environment. The population of many marine species has declined by 90% in the past 50 years and some are on the verge of extinction. To recognize, understand and learn how to conserve the oceans has become one of the pressing tasks in the world today. An effective way to promote public awareness of the issues concerned is to let them realize that the oceans are also home to a great diversity of life that we should respect.

 

The Deep invites you to discover this true “final frontier” of our planet. Over 100 specimens and photos, many of which showing animals captured on film for the first time, will create a sense of immersion in the strange, fragile world of the Earth’s deep oceans. Combining the latest scientific research with amazing imagery, the exhibition allows you to peer into an abyss teeming with life that, while only a few thousand metres away, seems to be from an entirely different universe. We hope that, after touring the exhibition, you will gain an appreciation not only of the stark beauty of the deep ocean, but also of the importance of preserving it for our future generations.

 

 

On behalf of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, I would like to thank a number of partners whose involvement has made this exhibition possible.  Let me thank the sole sponsor of the exhibition, the Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, for its generous financial support; the Consulate General of France in Hong Kong and Macau for presenting the exhibition jointly with us; Ms. Nouvian, whose passion for the ocean has inspired The Deep; and, last but not least, the Paris Natural History Museum which oversaw the creation of this wonderful exhibition.

 

 

I sincerely invite all in Hong Kong to visit the exhibition, explore the mysterious world of the oceans and go home with the firm mission to help preserve the Deep. Thank you. 

Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

演詞

2014.10.25 01:06 25°C 多雲
演詞
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
演詞

2008.07.10   康樂及文化事務署署長周達明於「深海奇珍」專題展覽開幕典禮致辭全文

Mr. Thébault、饒(恩培)先生、Ms. Nouvian,各位嘉賓:

 

首先,歡迎大家蒞臨香港科學館,出席「深海奇珍」專題展覽開幕典禮。

 

1848年,英國自然學家福爾貝斯指出,在600米水深以下的海裡,是沒有任何生命的。在其後160年,深海探險家和科學家證明事實並非如此。雖然深海探索的歷史尚短,但我們已知道,深海並不是一片死寂,相反,即使在水深達4,000米,環境非常惡劣的海底,仍然充滿了各樣的生物。

 

可是,人類不斷攫取海裡的資源,對深海構成重大的破壞,尤其是深海拖網捕魚方式,令釵h海洋生物的數目,在過去幾十年間下跌了九成,瀕臨絕種的邊緣。保護海洋已到了刻不容緩的地步。要公眾積極參與保育海洋,其中一個方法,就是讓他們知道,深海其實有釵h美麗的生物,這些生物的生存權利亦應受到尊重。

 

「深海奇珍」展覽邀請大家共同探索這片地球上的最後凈土。展利用特別的燈光效果,營造深海奇特而脆弱的環境,向觀眾展示超過100件生物標本和照片,當中一些「主角」更是首次上鏡的。透過色彩繽紛的圖像和最新的科學研究結果,大家可以認識這些離我們雖然只有數千公里遠,但好像屬於另一個世界的生命。希望大家在欣賞牠們之餘,亦明白為了我們的下一代,保育海洋的工作是責無旁貸的。

 

「深海奇珍」展覽得以舉行,有賴各個合作伙伴的鼎力支持。首先,我謹代表康樂及文化事務署,多謝香港賽馬會慈善信託基金的慷慨捐助,我亦要多謝法國駐香港及澳門領事館與我們合辦展覽,還有多謝因為熱愛海洋而構思這個展覽的Ms. Nouvian,以及巴黎自然歷史博物館及其他伙伴的協助。

 

我誠意邀請大家一起參觀「深海奇珍」展覽,認識多采多姿的深海世界。多謝各位。

 

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群