Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Speeches

2014.11.28 22:48 23°C Mainly Cloudy
Speeches
"My Culture" Mobile Application
My URBTIX Mobile App
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Speeches

2008.03.14   Speech of Director of Leisure and Cultural Services, Mr Thomas Chow, at the Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Hong Kong Flower Show

Mrs TSANG, Mrs YAU, Miss CHOY, Miss Hong Kong, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen,

I would like to extend a very warm welcome to you all to this Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Hong Kong Flower Show presented by LCSD.

2008 is a very special year – it is the Year of the Olympics. To tie in with this very special year, we have chosen “Vibrant Blossoms for Beijing Olympics” as the theme of this year’s Flower Show to tie in with and support the 29th Olympic Games to be held in our capital, Beijing, in the coming August. This will be the first Olympic Games ever held on Chinese soil, and it is a great honour for the Hong Kong SAR to be an Olympic City co-hosting the Olympic Equestrian Events.

It is also a great honour for all in Hong Kong to be a participating city of the Olympic Torch Relay. The 130-day event is a prelude to the Olympic Games and is instrumental in spreading the Olympic spirit and relaying the message of friendship and peace.

Ten more days from now, on the 24th of this month, the Olympic Flame will start its 137,000-kilometre journey through 21 cities across five continents in the world as well as 115 cities on Chinese soil. Following the tradition of ancient Greece, the Olympic Flame will be kindled in Olympia, Greece, and carried through the country before arriving in Beijing on the 31st of this month. The Olympic torch will then be relayed through 19 overseas cities before it reaches Hong Kong, the first stop of its journey in China, on the 30th of next month for the run on 2 May. LCSD and the other relevant government departments and community organisations are now moving full steam ahead with preparing for this big event. We are getting ourselves well prepared for fulfilling our duty to protect the Olympic Flame, which is the sacred and solemn symbol of the Olympic spirit. And we look forward to joining hands with all in Hong Kong to ensure the successful organisation of the Hong Kong leg of the Torch Relay.

In the show ground today, you will see a rich array of landscape designs featuring the Olympic mascots Fuwa and Fu Niu, the emblems of the Beijing 2008 Olympic and Paralympic Games and the Olympic Rings. There are also beautiful floral arrangements using the Torch Relay as their themes. We hope that all visitors to the Flower Show could feel the air of festivity and joy of the Olympic Torch Relay and the Olympic Games.

This year, more than 200 horticultural and greening organisations from 21 countries have joined us in displaying their distinctive potted plants, artistic floral arrangements and outstanding landscape styles. With an increasing number of countries and organisations participating, the Flower Show has become a platform for international exchange of horticultural skills.  I hope that every member of the public will be able to find time to enjoy what we have put up for them, to appreciate the flowers of dazzling beauty and displays of exquisite design.

The success of this Flower Show is all due to the great contributions of local, Mainland and overseas horticultural organisations and exhibitors, and the generous support of various sponsors. I would like to take this opportunity to extend my heartfelt gratitude to all of them for their enthusiastic support.

Let me thank Mrs TSANG, all the other officiating guests and all of you for joining us today, and I wish you all the very best in this Year of the Olympics.

Thank you.

Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

演詞

2014.11.25 06:48 22°C 間有陽光
演詞
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
演詞

2008.03.14   康樂及文化事務署署長周達明於2008年香港花卉展覽開幕典禮致辭全文

行政長官夫人、尤曾家麗秘書長、蔡素玉主席、張嘉兒小姐、各位嘉賓、各位朋友︰

首先,非常歡迎大家參加康文署主辦的2008年香港花卉展覽開幕典禮。

2008年是奧運年,康文署特別以「活力萬花迎奧運」作為本屆花展的主題,以響應及支持今年8月在國家首都北京舉行的第29屆奧林匹克運動會。今次是奧林匹克運動會首次在中國國土舉行, 香港特區非常榮幸能夠協辦馬術項目,成為奧運伙伴城市之一。

除了8月舉行的馬術項目外,香港特區亦非常高興成為奧林匹克火炬接力城市之一。奧林匹克火炬接力是奧運會的前奏,在130天的傳遞活動中會傳揚奧林匹克精神、傳遞友誼與和平的信息。

還有10天,即本月24日,全長13萬7千公里,走遍5大洲的21個城市,並在中國境內115個城市傳遞的奧運火炬接力便會正式展開。奧運聖火將按傳統首先於希臘奧林匹亞燃點,並會於希臘傳遞後於本月31日抵達北京。之後經過海外19個城市的傳遞,火炬將於下月30日抵達中國國土的第一站—香港,而香港的火炬傳遞活動將於5月2日舉行。作為國家第一個火炬傳遞城市,相信大家也感到十分興奮。康文署與其他有關政府部門及社區團體正密鑼緊鼓籌備香港的火炬傳遞,目的是要做好香港的本份,保護這神聖、莊嚴、代表奧林匹克精神的聖火。除了政府各部門及社區團體外,確保5月2日的火炬接力成功在香港舉行,是香港每一個市民的責任。我亦深信活動會得到你們的鼎力支持,令這項每一個香港人應會引以為傲的盛事取得空前的成功。

各位今日在花展會場內將會率先見到很多以奧運吉祥物福娃、福牛、北京2008年奧運會和殘奧會徽號及奧運五環造型所組成的特色景點,同時亦有以火炬傳遞為題的花卉布置,讓大家可預先感受一下火炬傳遞及奧運會的氣氛和喜悅。

本屆花展邀請到來自21個國家、超過200個園藝及綠化團體參展,共同展出悉心栽培的盆栽、造型優美的花藝擺設,以及美輪美奐的園景設計。隨參展國家和團體不斷增加,香港花展已經成為國際園藝界技術交流的平台。我希望每一位市民都盡量抽空來參與這項盛事,一同欣賞千嬌百媚的花卉和多采多姿的展品。

今次花卉展覽能夠成功舉行,實有賴本港、內地和海外園藝組織及參展者的參與,以及各贊助機構的支持,我在此向所有協辦花展的機構和組織致意,多謝大家的鼎力支持。

最後,我再次多謝行政長官夫人及各位主禮嘉賓,以及台下各位朋友,多謝你們蒞臨,令今次活動生色不少。

在此祝各位身體健康、事事如意﹗

多謝各位。

文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群