Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Publication and Press Releases

2014.08.24 02:09 28°C Fine
Publication and Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2014
February
HK Film Archive presents "Ways of the Underworld - Hong Kong Gangster Film as a Genre"
*******************************************

     From John Chiang and Ti Lung's kindred spirits in "The Duel" (1971) and the intense loyalty of gangland brothers in "A Better Tomorrow" (1986), to the undercover cop with a moral dilemma in "Infernal Affairs" (2002), the spirit of brotherhood has been portrayed vividly in Hong Kong gangster films. These gangster movies have not only brought numerous memorable characters to the screen, such as Ma Wing-jing, Big Brother Cheng, Hui Man-keung, Brother Mark and Chan Ho-nam, but have also created sub-genres focusing on young thugs, undercover cops and police informers.

     As a contribution to the 38th Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF), the Hong Kong Film Archive (HKFA) of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) has organised a retrospective titled "Ways of the Underworld - Hong Kong Gangster Film as a Genre". The retrospective will showcase over 30 gangster films from different eras including classic black-and-white Hong Kong crime films "Tradition" (1955) and "The Dreadnaught" (1966), as well as various popular TV crime series. Five well-known crime films from other countries including the rarely screened "Scarface" (1932) and Takeshi Kitano's genre-bending work "Sonatine" (1993) will be shown for comparison and for audiences to reminisce about the best gangster films on the big screen.

     From March 28 to April 6 during the HKIFF, eight films will be shown at the Cinema of the HKFA. They are director Chang Cheh's trend-setting gangster film "The Duel" and "The Boxer from Shantung" (1972); Kuei Chih-hung's classic "The Teahouse" (1974); scriptwriters Johnny Mak and Stephen Shiu's "To be Number One" (1991); "New York Chinatown" (1982), starring Alan Tang; Johnnie To's gangster epic "Election" (2005); the unique 1950s crime film "Tradition"; and the influential crime drama "The Dreadnaught", starring Patrick Tse. The other 27 films will be shown from April 11 to May 11.

     The HKFA monograph "Always in the Dark: A Study of Hong Kong Gangster Films", studying the characteristics of Hong Kong gangster films, will be released with an English edition in CD-ROM.

     Three free seminars, to be conducted in Cantonese, will be held at the HKFA. Film star Chan Koon-tai will share his experience of playing "big brother" roles in gangster films in "A Date with Big Brother" at 4.30pm on March 29; scriptwriter Stephen Shiu will discuss the code of loyalty in gangster movies in the "Jianghu and Brotherly Faith" seminar at 5pm on March 30; and Manfred Wong will look at character creation in "Evolution in Scripting Gangster Films" at 4.30pm on April 12. There will also be post-screening talks hosted by film critics Po Fung, Ka Ming, Bryan Chang and Thomas Shin, as well as directors Peter Yung, Herman Yau and Dante Lam, for various films.

     Hong Kong gangster movies became formally established as a film genre in the 1970s, portraying stories about underworld gambling activities, smuggling, and battles amongst gangster leaders in Chinatown. There were also popular TV shows about the crime underworld. At the end of the 1970s the Hong Kong New Wave filmmakers brought more riveting, refreshing elements to the genre, from the intense neo-realism of "The System" (1979) to charismatic gangster heroes created by John Woo and Ringo Lam and Johnny Mak's ambitious crime epics "The Long Arm of the Law" (1984) and "To be Number One". While influenced by the gangster films of the West, Hong Kong filmmakers broke new ground to produce various sub-genres, including the "triad boys" series in the 1990s and the landmark crime drama series "Infernal Affairs".

     The opening film, "The Duel", is director Chang Cheh's first gangster film, and is about a loyal gangster (Ti Lung) who turns lone warrior in a fight for honour and vengeance. Even though Chang fills the screen with blood and violence, Chiu Kang-chien's screenplay highly romanticises the film's element of brotherly faith. Starring Chan Koon-tai and John Chiang, director Chang's action crime saga "The Boxer from Shantung" traces the journey of Ma Wing-jing from simple labourer to fearsome criminal warrior using the power of his fist. Director Kuei Chih-hung's acclaimed film "The Teahouse" features a decent man who stands up for his bullied friends, but is mistaken as being the leader of an emerging gang, sparking a messy gang war.

     "To be Number One" uses the life story of a notorious drug lord's rise and fall to create an epic crime saga, which became one of the most important works in the Hong Kong gangster genre. Alan Tang's commanding performance in "New York Chinatown" as the honourable gangster who is both intelligent and loyal makes him the epitome of the heroic icon. Director Johnnie To's gangster epic "Election" gives an amazingly comprehensive portrait of life in a typical triad society, including the generational conflicts and precarious power balance between the triads and the police.

     Not to be missed is the unique crime drama "Tradition", directed by Tang Huang in the 1950s. One of the earliest gangster films in Hong Kong, it combines inspiration from Western crime films with a flavour of the Chinese code of loyalty. Another influential crime drama is "The Dreadnaught", with Patrick Tse giving an impressively complex performance as a gangster leader who is backed into a corner due to circumstances beyond his control.

     Films which will be shown in the second phase include Felix Chong's solo directorial debut "Once a Gangster" (2010), a subversive comedy starring Ekin Cheng and Jordan Chan with a refreshing twist on the genre; "Young and Dangerous" (1996), a landmark film which infuses young blood into the gangster genre and which had multiple sequels; Wai Ka-fai's dark crime comedy "Too Many Ways to be No. 1" (1997), featuring the helplessness of small-time gangsters in determining their own fates no matter what they do; and "Once Upon a Time in Triad Society" (1996), a gangster film with a cynical dissection of the popular glamorisation of life in organised crime.

     Films about young thugs include the daring neorealist drama "Lonely Fifteen" (1982), bringing the hot topic of teenage prostitution to the big screen, and Lawrence Lau's "Gangs" (1988), which was based on true events in the dark world of youth gangs. John Woo's "A Better Tomorrow" not only kick-started the "hero gangster" genre but its male-bonding model among gangster heroes has been adopted by many crime films since. No discussion on Hong Kong gangster films would be complete without Wong Kar-wai's directorial debut "As Tears Go By" (1988), which features the distinct visual style of the world-renowned auteur. Director Taylor Wong's "Triads the Inside Story" (1989), "Triad Story" (1990) with Stephen Chow and Clarence Fok's action drama "Century of the Dragon" (1999) describe the struggles and the price of power in the crime world. The gangster drama "Absolute Monarch" (1980), starring Alan Tang, follows the high life of a respected gentleman gangster who is forced to fight enemies on all sides.

     Police informers and undercover cops are always hot topics in gangster movies. Director Peter Yung's "The System" (1979) is an eye-opening crime drama which heightens the realism of the hostile relationship between the police, their informers and drug traffickers; "Ironside 426" (1977) features an ambitious undercover cop in the gang-ridden underworld; and Ringo Lam's gritty crime drama "City on Fire" (1987) stars Chow Yun-fat as a tragic undercover cop trapped in a serious ethical struggle. Herman Yau's "On the Edge" (2006) shows the dilemmas caused by guilt and distrust when an undercover cop returns to his real identity. A powerful drama about crime and redemption, Dante Lam's "The Stool Pigeon" (2010) depicts the life of a police informer. The landmark crime drama "Infernal Affairs" broke new ground in the undercover cop genre. The film will be shown on the same day as "The Departed" (2006), Martin Scorsese's reinterpretation of the Hong Kong classic which won four Oscars.

     The retrospective will also screen "Bald-headed Betty" (1975), featuring a daring performance by Lam Kin-ming; the TV series "Big Sister" (1976, episodes 2 and 3) featuring the Big Sister as an honourable triad boss and "The Bund" (episodes 1 to 3), an influential TV series about the underworld in Shanghai and a love triangle between Hui Man-keung, Ting Lik and Fung Ching-ching; and "Lord of East China Sea" (1993), which also features the crime scene in Shanghai.
 
     Gangster classics from other countries to be shown for comparison include Howard Hawks' controversial masterpiece "Scarface", which was butchered and re-edited by the censors upon its initial release. Yet its startling imagery and unparalleled levels of violence influenced many films, such as "The Godfather" (1972) and "The Bund". French director Jacques Deray's "Borsalino" (1971), starring Alain Delon and Jean-Paul Belmondo, is a film with an immaculate sense of style, knockabout humour and unflinching violence, and has also influenced many gangster films. Based on a series of newspaper articles, Kinji Fukasaku's "The Yakuza Papers" (1973) presents the grim, bloody reality of organised crime in post-war Japan using handheld cameras and real sound. Another must-see film is Takeshi Kitano's masterpiece "Sonatine", a surreal, minimalist drama presenting a different type of gangster film.

     Some of the films have Chinese and English subtitles. Tickets are priced at $40. Half-price concessionary tickets are available for senior citizens aged 60 and above, people with disabilities and their minders, full-time students and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients. Tickets for all screenings will be available at URBTIX with Internet bookings at www.urbtix.hk  and credit card bookings at 2111 5999 from March 1.

     Detailed programme information can be found in "ProFolio 71" or the 38th HKIFF booking folder distributed at all performing venues of the LCSD. For programme enquiries, please call 2739 2139 or 2734 2900, or browse the webpage at www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/chinese/2014gan/2014gan_index.html.

Ends/Friday, February 28, 2014
Issued at HKT 12:00
NNNN


A69B3639EC674D509D12FA9187F73562_B.JPG

A film still of the opening film, "The Duel" (1971).

1E6A793FB645424B9E3D4F0DC5A6AA78_B.JPG

A film still of "Tradition" (1955).

CA4F18CE3CDC4A069A5A898A421CFC26_B.JPG

A film still of "The Boxer from Shantung" (1972).

287B84F0E03B43FEA5FA26736BB2EE2E_B.JPG

A film still of "Election" (2005).

3A423FB258064340B2AF1C48D33EEE4A_B.JPG

A film still of "Infernal Affairs" (2002).

FD72D47BA2CF427684E428D3EE6E47E8_B_1.JPG

A film still of "Scarface" (1932).

D373FBCEE8714F1A91536F1F0ECDCE24_B.JPG

A film still of "Sonatine" (1993).

18C65D6D25DF4A7D999944926BFBC4BF_B.JPG

A film still of "Big Sister" (1976).

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.31 23:59 25°C 天色大致良好
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2014
February
「江湖了斷——香港黑幫電影的類型情結」 電影資料館選映不同年代黑幫電影
******************************

  人在江湖,身不由己。幾許明爭暗鬥,盡在江湖了斷﹗從《大決鬥》(1971)中姜大衛與狄龍雙雄的惺惺相惜、《英雄本色》(1986)的重情重義,到《無間道》(2002)中臥底的忠義兩難全,香港開拓了不少寫黑幫、古惑仔和臥底的電影,亦創造了多代豪情俠義的江湖大佬,如馬永貞、大哥成、許文強、Mark哥、陳浩南等。

  康樂及文化事務署(康文署)香港電影資料館(資料館)為配合「第三十八屆香港國際電影節」,特別籌辦「江湖了斷——香港黑幫電影的類型情結」回顧香港電影專題,選映三十多套不同年代黑幫類型電影及電視片,包括黑白年代有黑幫背景的影片《傳統》(1955)、《鐵膽》(1966),和五套外語黑幫經典,如難得看到的《傷面人》(1932)及北野武「反類型」的《奏鳴曲》(1993)等,中西對照作觀摩比較,大銀幕上回顧各類黑幫電影的名作。

  三月二十八日至四月六日電影節期間,在資料館電影院將放映八部影片︰張徹開創七十年代黑幫片潮流的《大決鬥》、《馬永貞》(1972)、桂治洪的經典作《成記茶樓》(1974)、麥當雄和蕭若元的《跛豪》(1991)、鄧光榮主演,充滿男性浪漫主義的《血洗唐人街》(1982)、杜琪勾劃黑幫規模和生態的《黑社會》(2005)、香港五十年代獨一無二的黑幫片《傳統》及謝賢主演,充滿黑幫類型元素的《鐵膽》。其餘二十七部影片則於四月十一日至五月十一日放映。

  資料館亦將出版專書《江湖路冷——香港黑幫電影研究》(附英文翻譯光碟),探討黑幫電影類型的特色。

  回顧展期間資料館亦將在電影院舉行三場座談會,三月二十九日下午四時三十分將有影星陳觀泰在「大佬駕到」座談會分享他飾演大佬角色的往事;蕭若元將於三月三十日下午五時在「江湖與義氣」座談會與觀眾探討電影中的江湖世界;以及文雋將於四月十二日下午四時三十分在「黑幫片的編劇進程」座談會,探討黑幫片的編劇特色。粵語主講,免費入場。此外,多齣電影亦設映後談,影評人蒲鋒、家明、張偉雄及登徒,導演翁維銓、邱禮濤和林超賢等將與觀眾分享他們對不同黑幫電影的看法。

  香港的黑幫電影正式成為類型始自七十年代初,由最初走私開賭的幫會,到江湖大佬以至唐人街幫會之內鬥,甚至電視劇集,奠定了黑幫題材的創作。而在七十年代末,新浪潮的湧現下,黑幫電影類型再找到新的路向,除江湖大佬的明爭暗鬥,更出現了如《行規》(1979)的寫實、偏鋒之作;後來更出現了吳宇森和林嶺東的「英雄」和「風雲」系列;麥當雄亦拍了《省港旗兵》(1984)、《跛豪》等極富寫實的犯罪電影。香港電影創作素來靈活變通,既從西方的黑幫片取經,也自覓新蹊徑,創造多代豪俠情義的江湖大佬,亦開拓不同題材的黑幫類型片,包括九十年代的「古惑仔」系列及享譽國際的「無間道」系列。

  黑幫片描寫的是叢林法則世界,主角均需求存。開幕電影《大決鬥》乃標誌陽剛氣質的導演張徹,由武俠片轉型至黑幫片的第一部,狄龍為義氣放棄幫會地位,歸來之日卻發現講道義的幫會已面目全非。影片濃烈熾熱,邱剛健的劇本為張徹的陽剛氣質添上柔情一面;由陳觀泰、姜大衛主演的《馬永貞》寫下拳師赤手空拳打出上海灘事跡及背後的情緣;桂治洪的經典作品《成記茶樓》以街坊茶樓東主重情重義,守衛鄰里,卻反被黑白兩道追迫。

  《跛豪》將江湖片拍成人物傳記,把梟雄上位至建成毒品王國到鋃鐺入獄,日後的黑幫人物片無出其右;充滿男性浪漫主義的《血洗唐人街》中的鄧光榮有情有義,與宿敵在腥風血雨的江湖中互相角力與廝殺,刻劃市井梟雄橫死的悲歌;杜琪的《黑社會》以史詩氣魄勾劃出黑幫龍頭選舉過程,老中青三代權力的轉移及各派人馬互為牽制。

  不應錯過的是導演唐煌五十年代所拍的《傳統》,取材自西方黑幫片結構,加上中國俠義精神,戲中充滿男兒氣概的刀疤項成是五十年代難得一見的「大佬」形象。而謝賢在《鐵膽》中飾演黑幫大哥,廝殺式的動作場面、黑白兩面的矛盾人性,為日後黑幫片的類型元素提供線索。

  第二輪放映的電影包括︰莊文強以黑色幽默重新省視江湖世態、由古惑仔標誌人物鄭伊健及陳小春主演的《飛砂風中轉》(2010);為古惑仔電影殺出一條新路的《古惑仔之人在江湖》(1996);韋家輝充滿黑色幽默,古惑仔向左定向右走的《一個字頭的誕生》(1997);乘古惑仔電影而起的江湖發夢片《旺角Fit人》(1996),場面荒誕誇張並卡通化。

  揭寫年輕一代便有以「魚蛋妹」為題材,震撼社會的《靚妹仔》(1982);劉國昌以真人真事改編的反叛少年童黨世界《童黨》(1988);吳宇森的《英雄本色》打造出Mark哥和宋子豪生死與共的豪情義氣,可謂香港黑幫英雄片的里程碑;浪漫而義氣無垠的世界,怎能少得王家衛銳氣不凡的首作《旺角卡門》(1988)。黃泰來的《我在黑社會的日子》(1989)、周星馳主演的《江湖最後一個大佬》(1990)及霍耀良的《龍在邊緣》(1999)均道出江湖人物身不由己的無奈。江湖人物千變萬化,《隻手遮天》(1980)中的鄧光榮便轉型紳士大佬而成不敗傳說。

  線人、臥底乃黑幫片中常見的題材,翁維銓的《行規》早於七十年代以反英雄化的犯罪電影,寫實地拍出警察、線人、毒犯剪不斷的關係;黑社會數字電影《四二六》(1977)以臥底潛入黑幫,清洗黑社會勢力;林嶺東導演、周潤發主演的《龍虎風雲》(1987)將臥底忠義難全表露無遺;邱禮濤的《黑白道》(2006)更深入臥底內心世界,警察臥底回復身分後卻難以翻身的悲劇現實;林超賢的《人》(2010)是臥底另一類型,卻是身分安危毫無保障。經典臥底片《無間道》,以警匪互派臥底作滲透,開了警匪片先河;而馬田史高西斯重拍港片,獲奧斯卡四項獎項的《無間道風雲》(2006),將同日放映,以作比較。

  回顧展亦上映大姐明林建明性感大膽演出全城哄動的《社女》(1975);江湖女英雄,電視劇《大家姐》(1976)第二及三集;許文強、丁力、馮程程出生入死的故事,深入民心的電視劇《上海灘》(1980)第一至三集;以及同是以上海爭地盤風雲的《歲月風雲之上海皇帝》(1993)。

  選映的外語黑幫片《傷面人》,是「作者導演」鶴斯名作,影片尺度大膽,當年幾成禁片,對後世影響多不勝數,《教父》(1972)及《上海灘》均見其影子;法國導演積葵狄雷名作《江湖龍虎鬥》(1971),由型男阿倫‧狄龍及尚‧保羅‧貝蒙多主演,影片莊諧並重,拳拳到肉,今天重看仍有不少後來黑幫經典影子;深作欣二改編真實事件的《無仁義之戰》(1973)充滿火力,闊銀幕攝影澎湃,剪接緊湊,感染力尤勝今天電影;而北野武至今最傑出的作品《奏鳴曲》,表現了他的冷冽暴力美學,盡顯生命無常。

  是次放映的影片部分設中英文字幕。電影節目票價四十元,設六十歲或以上高齡、殘疾人士及看護人、全日制學生及綜合社會保障援助受惠人士半價優惠。所有電影門票於三月一日起於城市電腦售票網發售。信用卡購票:二一一一 五九九九。網上訂票:www.urbtix.hk
 
  節目查詢︰二七三九 二一三九/二七三四 二九○○,節目及票務詳情可參閱於康文署轄下表演場地備取的第七十一期《展影》或《第三十八屆香港國際電影節》節目及訂票手冊或瀏覽網址www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/chinese/2014gan/2014gan_index.html



2014年2月28日(星期五)
香港時間12時00分

A69B3639EC674D509D12FA9187F73562_B.JPG


開幕電影《大決鬥》(1971)劇照。

1E6A793FB645424B9E3D4F0DC5A6AA78_B.JPG

《傳統》(1955)劇照。

CA4F18CE3CDC4A069A5A898A421CFC26_B.JPG

《馬永貞》(1972)劇照。

287B84F0E03B43FEA5FA26736BB2EE2E_B.JPG

《黑社會》(2005)劇照。

3A423FB258064340B2AF1C48D33EEE4A_B.JPG

《無間道》(2002)劇照。

FD72D47BA2CF427684E428D3EE6E47E8_B_1.JPG

《傷面人》(1932)劇照。

D373FBCEE8714F1A91536F1F0ECDCE24_B.JPG

《奏鳴曲》(1993)劇照。

18C65D6D25DF4A7D999944926BFBC4BF_B.JPG

《大家姐》(1976)劇照。

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群