Skip to main content
Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK 香港政府一站通
Traditional Chinese
Simplified Chinese
A
A
A
Search
Site Map
Contact Us

Publication and Press Releases

2014.08.31 18:16 29°C Light RainThunderstorm Warning
Publication and Press Releases
"My Culture" Mobile Application
"Fitness Walking" mobile application available for download
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme
Publication and Press Releases
2013
September
"Cinematic Legacy of Eastern Europe" to showcase variety and development of regional cinema
*********************************************

     Despite various political changes Eastern European cinema has continued to develop and displays an artistic uniqueness according to different eras. In particular, Czech Republic (Czechoslovakia before 1993), Poland, Hungary, Yugoslavia and Romania have long artistic traditions with strong histories in film production. As early as the 1920s and '30s a pioneer film tradition already existed in these countries. Following the Second World War Soviet official directives sought to suppress filmmakers, but they never became truly submissive whether artistically or culturally. Exchange with Western artists increased enduring the late 1950s and many talented filmmakers emerged during the period of upheavals in the 1960s. The richness of Eastern European cinema reveals individual nations' history and culture, while its social concerns and depictions of injustice are universal values that also account for its popularity over the years.

     To tie in with the "World Cultures Festival 2013 - Lasting Legacies of Eastern Europe", the Film Programme Office of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department will present a retrospective titled "Cinematic Legacy of Eastern Europe" featuring 10 films from renowned directors of five Eastern European countries. The retrospective will offer audiences a glimpse of how art broke through the political and geographical barriers as well as showing the variety of forms, aesthetics, humanist concerns and social criticism of the various Eastern European nations across different eras.

     "Cinematic Legacy of Eastern Europe" will be shown from October 18 to November 17 at the Cinema of the Hong Kong Film Archive (HKFA) and the Lecture Hall of Hong Kong Science Museum. The remarkable films to be shown include Czech director Jan Nemec's "The Party and the Guests" (1966), which was voted by the New York Times as one of the best films of the 1960s; Milos Forman's "The Firemen's Ball" (1967); major Polish filmmaker Krzysztof Zanussi's "Illumination" (1973); Andrzej Wajda's "Man of Iron" (1981), which was awarded the Palme d'Or and Prize of the Ecumenical Jury at the Cannes Film Festival 1981; Hungarian director Miklos Jancso's "Red Psalm" (1972), which won Best Director at the Cannes Film Festival 1972; Karoly Makk's "Another Way" (1982), which took the Best Actress award at the Cannes Film Festival 1982; Yugoslavian director Dusan Makavejev's taboo fantasy work, "Love Affair, or the Case of the Missing Switchboard Operator" (1967); Emir Kusturica's "Underground" (1995), which was awarded the Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival 1995; and Romanian director Corneliu Porumboiu's "12:08 East of Bucharest" (2006), which won the Camera d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival 2006; and Cristian Mungiu's "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" (2007), which won the Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival 2007.

     To complement the screenings, a seminar titled "The Cold War Years: Impact of the Albanian and Yugoslavian Cinema on China" will be held at 4.45pm at the Cinema of the HKFA on October 26. The programme's curator, Law Kar, and Professor Simon Shen will reminisce with the audience on the history and the impact of Albanian and Yugoslavian cinema on China. The seminar will be conducted in Cantonese with free admission.

     Eastern Europe Cinema can be classified into four periods. Often known as "The Thaw" (1956-1968), the first period reflects internal reform in Czechoslovakia and Poland. There was also relatively more freedom in culture and the arts and this enabled the creation of films with more diversified styles and themes, such as "The Party and the Guests", "The Firemen's Ball" and "Love Affair, or the Case of the Missing Switchboard Operator". In the period of "Convergence and Divergence" (1968-1980), with the rapid development of the urban culture in the 1970s, there was a proliferation of social melodramas and comedies with parables reflecting the status quo. There were also sharp commentaries like "Red Psalm" or "Illumination", which carried a message about the thoughts and social awakening of an intellectual.

     During the "Preparations for Upheavals" (1980-1989) period, interaction between Eastern and Western Europe became more frequent, and there was more opportunity for artists to get funding, both from home and abroad. Filmmakers also became actively involved in reforms, voicing their different political views and touching on taboo subjects to produce films like "Man of Iron" and "Another Way". During the "Euphoria, Disillusionment, Normalisation" (1989-present) period, the socio-political and cultural scene of Eastern Europe was thrown into turmoil after the fall of the Soviet Union in 1989, with countries seeking to enter into the "New Europe" and establish their own commercial studio system, as well as trying to carve a market share from Western Europe and the United States. Films of this era include "Underground", a co-production between Eastern and Western Europe, while "12:08 East of Bucharest", and "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" reflect the award-winning efforts of new directors.

     Czech director Jan Nemec is known for his outspokenness and experimental spirit. "The Party and the Guests" features a group of men and women who are forced to attend a wedding party while enjoying a picnic. The film was shot on location using black and white cinematography. Its use of natural light adds exaggeration to the characters and gives an indirect Kafkaesque critique on the bureaucratic system. Milos Forman created notable Hollywood films like "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" (1975) and "Amadeus" (1984). In his "The Firemen's Ball", long suppressed emotions explode into uncontrolled proportions at an annual service celebration. With brilliant black and absurd humour, the film satirises bureaucrats, the stupidity of commoners and the melancholy of those awakened.

     Polish director Krzysztol Zanussi has long been active in the European filmmaking scene. His works often focus on the relationship between science, philosophy, society and men. Arguably his important film, "Illumination" features a young scientist who finds himself having doubts about the role of science. Consequently he leaves the laboratory to live the life of an ordinary person, and finds new inspiration in life. The film was shot in documentary style and uses a "real-life" man to re-enact his own experiences in the film. An influential filmmaker worldwide, Andrzej Wajda's works are known internationally for their strong historical contexts and dynamic drama. With a mix of documentary and fiction "Man of Iron" was shot on location in Poland's striking shipyards, and Lech Walesa, union leader and later President of Poland, also features in the film.

     Director Miklos Jancso was a front man in Hungarian New Cinema. With his unique visual style he specialises in telling stories of a cruel and ugly nature with a lyrical filmic style. "Red Psalm" focuses on a group of peasants staging a protest against the landlord to ask for fair treatment at a festive occasion. The film carries minimal dialogue, yet it contains scene after scene of simple, beautifully staged mis-en-scene. Also a major figure in the reform of Hungarian cinema, Karoly Makk's "Another Way" is a film of sensibility and rationality. It features two female journalists who turn from co-workers to lovers, but are persecuted for their struggle for the freedom of speech and sexuality.

     Yugoslavian director Dusan Makavejev is renowned for breaking from tradition. In his famous taboo work, "Love Affair, or the Case of the Missing Switchboard Operator", one illicit romantic rendezvous affair of a female switchboard operator sets her on the path of no return. The film employs prose, poetry, theatre, surrealism, absurdity, eroticism and farce to shape a fantasy-like parody. A new star in European cinema, Emir Kusturica's "Underground" became an "East-West European" co-production epic after the fall of the Eastern Bloc and was regarded as a showpiece for New European Cinema. It tells the story of a group of Yugoslavians escaping the Nazis by living a sunless underground life.
  
     Romania Cinema has long been regarded as the one that followed the rules and was dominated by conservative works, and it was not until 2001 when a new wave of filmmakers rose up and started to gather awards at major international competitions that they captured world attention. Romanian new wave director Corneliu Porumboiu's "12:08 East of Bucharest" offers a new perspective on controversial topics using a sharp viewpoint. It features two guests being invited to speak at a phone-in talk show, but each has his own very different perspective on history. Director Cristian Mungiu is a master of genre filming techniques as well having an international vision. His "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" reflects the past and present. It is a story of a university student trying to seek abortion as well as an allegory on the orthodoxy of people’s minds in the new era. With suspense and black humour, the film also reveals certain cultural characteristics of Eastern Europe cinema.

     All films have English subtitles. "The Firemen's Ball", "Illumination", "Man of Iron", "Love Affair, or the Case of the Missing Switchboard Operator" and "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" have Chinese and English subtitles.

     Tickets priced at $55 are now available at URBTIX. Credit card bookings can be made at 2111 5999, or on the Internet at www.urbtix.hk . Detailed programme information and discount details can be found in "Cinematic Legacy of Eastern Europe" or "World Cultures Festival 2013 - Lasting Legacies of Eastern Europe" programme booklets available at URBTIX outlets. For programme enquiries, please call 2734 2900, or browse the webpage at www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/english/2013ee/2013ee_index.html  .

Ends/Friday, September 6, 2013
Issued at HKT 11:00

NNNN

0A5CF4DAEA8943039EB2EAA8E9ABFA30_B.JPG

A film still from "The Party and the Guests" (1966).

C6AA837FD136453CB1A1829B8B39471A_B.JPG

A film still from "The Firemen's Ball" (1967).

1567AB6A9FDE419F9C911C1C24D61DE7_B.JPG

A film still from "Illumination" (1973).

0E2A29B0026D47AEA75A8B196270B2AB_B.JPG

A film still from "Man of Iron" (1981).

AC0B868709B84315B19FB09D39CF6BB3_B.JPG

A film still from "Red Psalm" (1972).

ADB5D1FD13574DE9B4065F8DCFE24391_B.JPG

A film still from "Another Way" (1982).

2E01CBED1F8A401B842B42C15E99790F_B.JPG

A film still from "Underground" (1995).

4BC34A5AE49E40EF87659FD7AED55480_B.JPG

A film still from "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days" (2007)

 

 

 

 

[News Archive][Back to Top]
end
Quality Services for Quality Life

跳到主要內容
康樂及文化事務署
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通
簡體版
English
A
A
A
搜尋
網頁指南
聯絡我們

新聞公報

2014.10.26 15:45 28°C 短暫陽光黃色火災危險警告
新聞公報
文化在線流動應用程式
城市售票網流動應用程式My URBTIX
「健步行」手機應用程式可供下載
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0
無障礙網頁嘉許計劃
新聞公報
2013
September
「東歐電影風雲」 感受東歐五國不同時期的多元電影美學特色
******************************

  東歐電影發展歷程隨不同時期的政治變化有不同特色。東歐其中五國,捷克(一九九三年前為捷克斯洛伐克)、波蘭、匈牙利、南斯拉夫及羅馬尼亞更有豐富的文學藝術傳承,一向有不少文化人和藝術家參與創作。上世紀二、三十代已有先鋒派的電影傳統,戰後雖受到蘇聯官方壓制,文化藝術卻未貼服順從;五十年代末和西歐藝術的交流漸多,六十年代到「巨變」前後出現了大批有才華的電影人。東歐電影內涵豐富,眾多佳作表現對民族歷史文化的反思、對生存處境的關懷和痛切體驗、對不公義的諷刺,令其電影有流傳不衰的普世價值。
  
  為響應即將舉行的「世界文化藝術節2013—─東歐芳華」,康樂及文化事務署電影節目辦事處特別主辦「東歐電影風雲」回顧展,精選十部來自東歐五國多位名導演的佳作,讓觀眾在掃瞄掠影間,感受一下東歐風雲幻變下,藝術突破政治、地域限制的力量,電影作品在不同時期不同國家對人文關懷、社會批判和多元的美學特色。

  「東歐電影風雲」由十月十八日至十一月十七日在香港電影資料館電影院(資料館)及香港科學館演講廳放映,影片包括來自捷克,楊‧南米克(Jan Nemec)導演,《紐約時報》評為一九六○年代最佳影片之一的《一個都不能走》(1966)和米路斯‧科曼(Milos Forman)的《消防員舞會》(1967);波蘭「道德焦慮電影」主將奇茲斯托夫‧贊祿西(Krzysztof Zanussi)的《靈性之光》(1973)、安德烈‧華意達(Andrzej Wajda)獲一九八一年康城影展金棕櫚獎及人道精神獎的《鐵人》(1981);匈牙利導演米可洛斯‧楊素(Miklos Jancso)獲一九七二年康城影展最佳導演獎的《紅色讚歌》(1972)、卡羅伊‧馬克(Karoly Makk)的《另一個天堂》(1982)獲一九八二年康城影展最佳女演員獎;南斯拉夫導演杜尚‧馬卡維耶夫(Dusan Makavejev)犯禁之作之一《女接線員之死》(1967)、艾米爾‧庫斯杜力卡(Emir Kusturica)獲一九九五年康城影展金棕櫚獎的《沒有天空的都市》(1995)及羅馬尼亞導演康尼流‧波隆布爾(Corneliu Porumboiu)獲二○○六年康城影展金攝影機獎的《布加勒斯特以東午後八分》(2006)和基斯安‧孟祖(Cristian Mungiu)獲二○○七年康城影展金棕櫚獎的《4月3周2日─—墮胎日記》(2007)。

  為配合放映,十月二十六日下午四時四十五分在資料館將舉行「冷戰下的阿爾巴尼亞與南斯拉夫電影對中國的影響」座談會,是次節目策劃羅卡及沈旭暉教授將與觀眾探討阿爾巴尼亞與南斯拉夫電影對中國人的世界觀的影響,重溫這一段被遺忘的冷戰時代歷史。座談會以粵語主講,免費入場。

  東歐電影的發展大致可分為四個階段︰「解凍時期」(1956至1968)—─捷克和波蘭等國家在五十至六十年代先後出現內部改革,文化藝術有較多獨立性,電影的主題和風格多樣化,因此出現了《一個都不能走》、《消防員舞會》和《女接線員之死》。「融合與分歧時期」(1968至1980)—─七十年代城市文化發展迅速,出現大量供消閒的社會倫理劇和喜劇,以寓言方式反映現實,而顛覆性的影片仍偶有拍出,如《紅色讚歌》及寫知識分子的內省的《靈性之光》。「動蕩前期」(1980至1989)─東歐和西歐的藝術交流更進一步,藝術家在國內外獲資金拍片機會增多,電影人亦積極介入改革運動,表達政治異見和接觸禁忌議題,如《鐵人》和《另一個天堂》。而在「狂喜、幻滅到正常化時期」(1989至現在)—─因一九八九年蘇聯解體後,東歐各國在政治經濟體制和文化上都遭逢巨變,在尋求融入「新歐洲」的情景下建立了商業製片制度,爭取美國和西歐電影的觀眾。《沒有天空的都市》由東、西歐合作拍攝;而《布加勒斯特以東午後八分》和《4月3周2日─—墮胎日記》均是新銳導演國際得獎之作。

  捷克導演南米克以勇於實驗又敢於發言見稱。電影《一個都不能走》描述一眾男女到郊野享樂卻怪事百出,更被強行參加婚宴。全片實景拍攝,採用自然光的黑白攝影,結合誇張造型,以卡夫卡式表現主義對現實進行曲折批判。而曾在荷李活拍出《飛越瘋人院》(1975)及《莫扎特傳》(1984)等名作的導演科曼,他的黑色荒誕喜劇《消防員舞會》描述消防員一年一度的聖誕舞會上,壓抑多時的人性盡情流露。戲中譏諷官員的荒唐、普通人的愚蠢和醒覺者的悲哀都教人感動。

  活躍歐洲影壇的波蘭導演贊祿西作品多探討科學、哲學和社會人生的關係。《靈性之光》描述年輕有為的科學家一邊研究一邊懷疑科學的功用,一度走出實驗室到小城體驗平民生活,思索社會人生。男主角真有其人,影片生動而有紀錄片的風格。另一波蘭導演華意達於國際影壇甚具影響力,他的作品有強烈的時代感和深沉的戲劇張力。《鐵人》以紀錄片加劇情片在工運現場拍攝,而當年的工會領袖、九十年代被選為波蘭總統的華理沙亦有參與演出。

  楊素是匈牙利新電影頂尖人物之一,擅以美妙電影形式表現殘酷內容。《紅色讚歌》描述十九世紀末一群農民以和平方法示威要求地主給予合理權利,借節日慶典載歌載舞抵抗軍隊的圍捕。全片甚少對白,猶如對純潔農民的讚美詩。《另一個天堂》是匈牙利電影革新派健將導演馬克的作品,兩名女記者由同事發展成「同志」,為爭取言論和性向自由而備受壓迫,影片理性和感性兼備。

  南斯拉夫導演馬卡維耶夫勇於破舊立新。犯禁之作《女接線員之死》中女主角因紅杏出牆,為她帶來無可挽回的悲劇結局。影片用上散文、詩、間離劇場、超現實、荒誕、情色及搞笑等方式作出諷喻。歐洲影壇新一代寵兒庫斯杜力卡的《沒有天空的都市》是「變天」後東、西歐合拍的大片,被稱為魔幻寫實史詩式巨製,描述南斯拉夫人為逃避納粹德軍而躲到地底,過不見天日的生活。

  羅馬尼亞電影一向循規蹈矩,少有破格犯禁之作。直至二○○一年新浪潮才突起,一批新人新作陸續在國際影展得獎,令人刮目相看。新浪潮紅人波隆布爾導演的《布加勒斯以東午後八分》,以議題敏感、觀點銳利取勝,描述某小城電台烽煙節目請來兩位嘉賓話當年,兩人對歷史各有各說。而掌握類型片技巧又具國際視野的導演孟祖,其《4月3周2日─—墮胎日記》,同以尖銳觀點,對歷史與現狀進行反思,以女學生墮胎的故事寓意新時期人心依然囿於清規戒律,敘事懸疑有趣。全片充滿危機感和黑色幽默,充分體現東歐電影文化特色。
 
  所有影片設有英文字幕,而《消防員舞會》、《靈性之光》、《鐵人》、《女接線員之死》及《4月3周2日─—墮胎日記》設中、英文字幕。

  門票現於城市電腦售票網發售,票價五十五元。信用卡電話訂票:二一一一 五九九九。網上訂票:www.urbtix.hk 。節目詳情及購票優惠可參閱於城市電腦售票處備取的《東歐電影風雲》或「世界文化藝術節2013—─東歐芳華」節目小冊子。查詢電話:二七三四 二九○○,網頁: www.lcsd.gov.hk/CE/CulturalService/filmprog/chinese/2013ee/2013ee_index.html



2013年9月6日(星期五)
香港時間11時00分

0A5CF4DAEA8943039EB2EAA8E9ABFA30_B.JPG

《一個都不能走》(1966)劇照。

C6AA837FD136453CB1A1829B8B39471A_B.JPG

《消防員舞會》(1967)劇照。

1567AB6A9FDE419F9C911C1C24D61DE7_B.JPG

《靈性之光》(1973)劇照。

0E2A29B0026D47AEA75A8B196270B2AB_B.JPG

《鐵人》(1981)劇照。

AC0B868709B84315B19FB09D39CF6BB3_B.JPG

《紅色讚歌》(1972)劇照。

ADB5D1FD13574DE9B4065F8DCFE24391_B.JPG

《另一個天堂》(1982)劇照。

2E01CBED1F8A401B842B42C15E99790F_B.JPG

《沒有天空的都市》(1995)劇照。

4BC34A5AE49E40EF87659FD7AED55480_B.JPG

《4月3周2日——墮胎日記》(2007)劇照。

 

 

 

 

【昔日新聞公報】【返回頁首】
文康服務顯繽紛 齊心合力為社群