Skip To Content

"KAGAYA's Aurora" (1/5/2017 - 31/1/2018)

 

KAGAYA's Aurora

In the bitter cold of places like Alaska and Iceland, nature puts on a fascinating show. Mystic flames illuminate the starry sky nearly every night. Curtain waves, light swirls, and then breaks up.

This natural light display in the skies of the high latitude regions is known as the aurora. The aurora is caused by the Sun's breath, also known as the solar wind, interacting with the Earth's atmosphere. Some auroras appear soft and diffuse, while others are more sharply defined. The rich colours of the Earth's auroras are due to the fact that the air is a mixture of gases.

In the Sky Show "KAGAYA's Aurora", different auroras captured by time-lapse photography are recreated under the dome. The mechanism of the formation of an aurora is also vividly illustrated by using computer graphics. With aerial shots of glaciers, grand images of the Arctic and melodious New Age Music, audience can step out of their busy lives for a while, connect themselves to nature and experience the aurora in a unique, planetarium way.


Sky Show "KAGAYA's Aurora" Trailer
 

Iceland
Located within the auroral zone, Iceland is a unique place. It is the only exposing island of the submarine Mid-Atlantic Ridge. While its night sky is illuminated by amazing colours, Iceland is also full of exotic landscapes sculptured by the plate tectonics.

breakout of aurora
The charged particles from the Sun are stressing the Earth's magnetic field like an overstretched elastic band. Sometimes the band snaps back and drags some of the charged particles towards the Earth. These particles collide with the gas molecules in our atmosphere, resulting in beautiful displays of aurora.

vivid aurora
Auroras usually glow at heights over 90 kilometres and can reach up to 400 kilometres above the ground, where the International Space Station orbits.

 

Show Period : 1 May 2017 to 31 January 2018
Place : Stanley Ho Space Theatre
Admission Fees : Front stalls $24, Stalls $32 (Standard)
Front stalls $12, Stalls $16 (Concession)
- Concession is applicable to full-time students, people with disabilities (and one accompanying carer), and senior citizens aged 60 or above
- Children under 3 years old will not be admitted
Duration : 27 minutes 
Show Schedule : Please refer to Stanley Ho Space Theatre Show Schedule
Ticketing : Please refer to "Ticketing Information" 
- Advance booking up to one week is available
- URBTIX Internet Ticketing : http://www.urbtix.hk 
- Telephone credit card booking : 2111 5999
- Ticketing enquiries: 3761 6661

跳至主要内容

《梦幻极光》(1/5/2017 - 31/1/2018)

 

梦幻极光

在阿拉斯加和冰岛这些酷寒之地,大自然在这里上演着令人迷醉的表演。几乎每晚,总有神秘的光焰照亮着星空──帘幕舞摆,流光窜动,最终猛然迸发。

这种在高纬度地区天空中的自然光,称为极光。极光来自太阳的气息──即太阳风与地球大气层的相互作用。一些极光看似轻柔散漫,一些则轮廓分明。地球的极光色彩斑斓,是因为空气由不同气体混合所致。

天象节目《梦幻极光》利用缩时摄影捕捉极光的千姿百态,再重现在球幕之上。电脑动画清楚展示极光产生的机制;再配合冰川航拍片段、壮丽的极地影像和优美的新世纪音乐,让观众暂时忘却繁嚣,融入天地之间,享受球幕下独有的极光体验。


天象节目《梦幻极光》预告片
 

冰岛
位于极光带下的冰岛,是个十分的独特的地方。该处是深藏于海底的大西洋中洋脊唯一露出海面的岛屿。因此冰岛除了夜空中的流光幻彩,地上亦充满着板块运动造成的奇异景观。

极光原理
来自太阳的带电粒子不断冲击地球的磁场,令它有如被过度拉长的橡筋一样。有时磁场就像橡筋般会断裂,并将一些带电粒子拖向地球。这些粒子与地球大气层中的气体分子碰撞,便形成色彩缤纷的极光。

极光
极光一般在距离地面90公里以上的高空闪烁着,最高可达地面以上400公里,即相当于国际太空站运行的高度。


 

放 映 日 期 ∶  2017 年 5 月 1 日 至 2018 年 1 月 31 日
地 点 ∶ 何 鸿 燊 天 象 厅
入 场 费 ∶ 前 座 2 4 元 , 后 座 3 2 元 ( 标 准 票 )
前 座 1 2 元 , 后 座 1 6 元 ( 优 惠 票 )
- 优 惠 票 适 用 于 全 日 制 学 生 、 残 疾 人 士(及 一 名 同 行 照 料 者) 及 60 岁 或 以 上 高 龄 人 士
- 三 岁 以 下 儿 童 恕 不 招 待
片 长 ∶ 27 分 钟 
放 映 时 间 ∶ 请 参 阅 「何 鸿 燊 天 象 厅 节 目 时 间 表 」
购 票 方 法 ∶ 请 参 阅 「购 票 指 南 」
- 预 售 一 星 期 门 票
- 网 上 购 票 : http://www.urbtix.hk
- 信 用 卡 电 话 订 票 :2111 5999
- 票 务 查 询 :3761 6661