Skip To Content

Energy Machine

 

Display energy conversion in an action-packed kinematical sculpture.

Location Components Location Components
A1. Ball Elevator B5. Chimes
A2. Cylindrical Spiral B6. Gong
A3. Free Falling B7. Zig-zag
A4. Acceleration B8. Xylophone
A5. Conical Spiral B9. Moving Fins
A6. Loop B10. Collector
A7. Ball Reservoir B11. Curve
B1. Ball Counter B12. Neon Wall
B2. Flying Balls B13. Bell
B3. Seesaw C1. Wavy Track
B4. Drums    

 


Energy Machine
Energy Machine

This 22-metre-high Energy Machine is the Science Museum's tallest and biggest exhibit.  It is also the largest machine of its kind in the world.  Occupying four-storeys of space, it stands prominently in the centre of various exhibition halls. This exhibit demonstrates energy conversion through the movement of balls down the towers.  When set in motion, a continuous stream of balls will roll along tracks within and between the two towers like a roller coaster, producing dramatic sounds and visual effects.

The machine has three sections: Tower A, Tower B and a Connecting Gallery.

Tower A rises up from the centre of the Motion Hall on the ground floor where the Ball Elevator (A1) is used to lift all the balls to the top of the Energy Machine. After that, the balls will begin their downward journey by converting their own potential energy into kinetic energy.

While in transit, the balls are systematically directed to various tracks by a series of computer controlled gates. Some of the balls in Tower A will slide down the Cylindrical Spiral (A2) via the Loop (A6) before returning to the Ball Reservoir (A7) below. Some balls will enter a Free Falling (A3) path, or an Acceleration (A4) path triggering a series of resonating boxes to sound in a shorter and shorter intervals.

Meanwhile, the other balls will enter separate tracks passing the Connecting Gallery. One is a Wavy Track (C1) and the others are straight. Sitting in the centre of the Electricity and Magnetism Gallery, Tower B rises up from the first floor of the museum. There is a Ball Counter (B1) at the end of the wavy track where five balls will assemble. Only the combined weight of all five balls can activate a mechanical device to send the balls towards a Zig-zag (B7) track sounding the buffers at six turnings as they roll along.

While this is going on, some balls on the other tracks will hit the Drums (B4), sound the Chimes (B5), strike the Gong (B6), "play" the Xylophone (B8), and "ring" the Bell (B13) in an action-packed energy symphony to entertain the visitors.

Some of the other balls will become Flying Balls (B2), some will go on the Seesaw (B3) and some will activate the Moving Fins (B9). Those balls which enter the Curve (B11) will swing to the left and to the right, triggering a sensor in the centre to switch on the multi-colour lights of the Neon Wall (B12) below.

Before they leave Tower B, most of the balls will enter a gigantic funnel-shaped Collector (B10). They will spin round the centre and move faster and faster. However, unless they collide with each other, it will take them a little while spinning before falling down. They will then leave Tower B and go through the Conical Spiral (A5) in Tower A to return to the starting point to wait for the next trip to begin.

Some facts about the Energy Machine

Each synthetic fibre ball has a diameter of 19 cm and weighs 2.3 kg. The total length of tracks is more than 1.6 kilometres. It takes about 1.5 minutes for a ball to travel from Tower A along the longest route before returning to the starting point.



Energy Machine - Tower A
Energy Machine - Tower A
Energy Machine - Tower B
Energy Machine - Tower B


 

Last Modified: 10-11-2014

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

跳至主要内容

能量穿梭机

 

以充满动感的形式展示能量的变化。

位置 机械部件 位置 机械部件
A1. 提升链 B5. 管钟
A2. 圆柱形螺旋 B6.
A3. 自由下坠 B7. 之字形轨道
A4. 加速 B8. 木琴
A5. 圆锥形螺旋 B9. 帆翼钟摆
A6. 大回环 B10. 重力井
A7. 收集站 B11. 摇摆弧
B1. 数球器 B12. 霓虹灯
B2. 空中飛球 B13.
B3. 摇滚轨道 C1. 波浪轨道
B4.    

 


能量穿梭机
能量穿梭机

能量穿梭机位于科学馆展览厅正中央,是一座高廿二米,贯穿四层展览场地的巨型展品。这座瞩目的机械架构向观众展示能量与运动的转化,是目前世界同类 型展品中最大的一件。透过圆球在两座高塔间过山车般穿梭往返,产生一连串赏心悦目的声响及视觉效果,构成香港科学馆展品的一个重要标志。

能量穿梭机分甲塔、乙塔及接驳廊三个部分。

甲塔座落在地下力学厅的中央。在这里,提升链(A1将所有圆球提升至能量穿梭机的最高点,随此之后,圆球便要靠本身的位能化作动能来展开多采多姿的旅程。

在旅途中,由中央电脑控制的开关装置及轨道选择装置将圆球有系统地送往不同轨道。在甲塔之上,有些圆球会沿著圆柱形螺旋 A2滑下,再经过大回环(A6,返回塔底的圆球收集站(A7。当圆球自由下坠(A3时,会因重力的影响而加速(A4跌下,使敲响共鸣箱的响音变得愈来愈急。

其余的圆球会以波浪轨道(C1或直线轨道溜经接驳廊。乙塔座落在一楼磁电廊的中央。波浪轨道的尽头是一个数球器(B1。圆球会在这里稍作停留,直至圆球的数目达到五个时,圆球的重量会自动啓动机械装置,将圆球放入之字形轨道(B7內,并敲响六个位于转弯位的缓冲器。

而在其他轨道中,圆球更会打响鼓(B4管钟(B5锣(B6木琴(B8、及钟(B13等,为观众表演一首充满动感的能量穿梭交响曲。

其他圆球也沒有闻着,有些会化作空中飞球(B2,有些会进入摇滚轨道(B3,有些会推动帆翼钟摆(B9,令人目不暇给。而进入摇摆弧(B11的圆球则会左摇右摆,每当它经过位于中央的感应器时,会令它下面不同颜色的霓虹灯(B12发出光芒。

大部分圆球在离开乙塔之前,均会进入形状像巨型漏斗的重力井(B10内,井的弧度令圆球绕着中心旋转,愈转愈快;但虽然如此,除非圆球互相碰撞,否则每个圆球也得转上一段时间才能正式离开乙塔,再经过甲塔的圆锥形螺旋(A5返回收集站,静待另一次旅程的开始。

能量穿梭机知多少

圆球的直径约为19厘米,重2.3公斤,由合成纤维制成。能量穿梭机的轨道全长超过1.6公里。而圆球要完成最长的路线返回甲塔,需时约一分半钟。



能量穿梭机 - 甲塔
能量穿梭机 - 甲塔
能量穿梭机 - 乙塔
能量穿梭机 - 乙塔

操作时间:上午11:00、下午1:00、3:00和5:00


 

最近更新日期: 15-09-2017

遵守2A级无障碍图示,万维网联盟(W3C)- 无障碍网页倡议(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 无障碍网页嘉许计划