Old Ping Shan Police Station
Historical Background and Architectural Characteristics
The Old Ping Shan Police Station is one of the still existing
pre-war police stations in the New Territories. The lease of the
New Territories in 1898 necessitated the provision of a police
presence to ensure security and to provide government services.
The Police Station was constructed by the Public Works Department
and opened on 22 April 1899. Ping Shan Police Station served as
the only police stronghold in the area until Yuen Long spanisional
Station was set up in 1965. Since then it ceased as a police station
but continued as the training centre and headquarters of the Police
Dog Unit. The premises were formally handed over to the Leisure
and Cultural Services Department in late 2002.
The Ping Shan Police Station consists of a two-storey structure
with an embracing arched verandah and a single-storey ancillary
block. Possessing unique architectural and historic significance,
the building was accorded Grade 3 historical building overlooking
the Ping Shan Heritage Trail linking up with a number of unique
monuments such as the Tang Ancestral Hall, Tsui Sing Lau Pagoda
and Kun Ting Study Hall etc.