Leisure and Cultural Services Department - Antiquities and Monuments Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKText Only繁體版簡體版
A A A
search site map contact us


News Archive


 
 
 

Exhibitions

Out West - The Great American Landscape Exhibition


The landscape and natural heritage of American West is diverse and dramatic. Through the study of this impressive landscape, one can understand more about the history, culture and heritage of the nation.

With the full support of the U.S. Consulate General in Hong Kong & Macau, Meridian International Center of Washington, D.C., USA (Meridian) and the Antiquities and Monuments Office of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department of the HKSAR jointly present "Out West: The Great American Landscape". The "Out West" Exhibition was organized by Meridian and has been presented in various cities in China by Meridian in collaboration with the National Art Museum of China.

The exhibition, featuring around 70 pieces of works from various museums, galleries, collections and individual artists across the Western states, showcases to the public the diversity and richness of American culture and heritage. The exhibit includes oil and watercolor paintings, mixed media works, movie posters and lobby cards of some well-known American Western films. The exhibition focuses on an expanded definition of "landscape", incorporating aspects of the cultural, artistic and personal approaches of each artist. The vast skies, mountains, cowboys, Native Americans and grand animals who share this land are all presented.

"Out West" is accompanied by a photographic exhibition: "Under the Big Sky: Images of the American West". Produced by the National Geographic Museum of Washington, D.C., it features many well-known photographers and showcases the landscape of the western regions.

We hoped that through this exhibition the members of the public will come to know more about the heritage of the American West and its natural beauty.

   
Date: 16.11.2007 to 31.12.2007
Venue: Hong Kong Heritage Discovery Centre, Kowloon Park, Haiphong Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon
Opening Hours: Mondays to Saturdays (except Thursdays): 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sundays and Public Holidays: 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Closed at 5:00 p.m. on Christmas Eve
Closed on Thursdays (except Public Holidays)
Free Admission
 


 


 

 

 
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme

康樂及文化事務署 - 古物古蹟辦事處 香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通繁體純文字簡體版English
A A A
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們


昔日消息


 
 

展覽

美國西部當代藝術展


美國西部擁有多樣化的景觀及自然文物。透過欣賞這些景觀,我們可以更加瞭解美國的歷史、文物和文化。

在美國駐香港及澳門總領事館的全力支持下,美國華盛頓子午線國際中心與康樂及文化事務署古物古蹟辦事處攜手於香港舉辦「美國西部當代藝術展」,以展示美國西部的風貌景觀。「美國西部當代藝術展」是由華盛頓子午線國際中心籌辦,並聯同中國美術館於多個國內城市巡迴展出。

是次展覽展出約70幅展品,是從美國西部不同的博物館、畫廊、收藏館,以至藝術家徵集,為市民展示美國多樣化和豐富的文化遺產。展品類別包括油畫、水彩畫、混合媒介創作,以及美國著名西部電影的海報等。展覽主題亦不只局限於一般的景觀,而是包括文化、藝術和人文景觀等題材。廣闊的天空、山脈、西部牛仔、美國土著和棲息在這片土地上的動物等,均透過這些展品呈現出來。

為配合「美國西部當代藝術展」,由華盛頓國家地理博物館製作的「廣闊的天空下:美國西部攝影展」亦於同期展出,展示由著名攝影師所拍攝的西部景觀照片。

我們希望透過是次展覽,使市民可以進一步認識美國西部的文化和自然風貌。

   
日期: 16.11.2007 - 31.12.2007
地點: 九龍尖沙咀海防道九龍公園香港文物探知館
開放時間: 星期一至六(星期四除外):上午10時至下午6時
星期日及公眾假期:上午10時至下午7時
聖誕節前夕開放至下午5時
星期四(公眾假期除外)休館
免費入場
 

 

 
2004 © | 重要告示 | 私隱政策 | 無障礙瀏覽 Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 無障礙網頁嘉許計劃