Web Content Display Web Content Display

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Golden Dragon of Ma Tin Tsuen, Yuen Long

Dates : 19 October 2009 - 19 April 2010
Venue : Lobby, G/F, Hong Kong Heritage Museum
 

Every year, the villagers of Shap Pat Heung in Yuen Long celebrate Tin Hau's birthday on the twenty-third day of the third month in the Chinese calendar. On that day, they organise a big procession comprising a number of performances. Together with three towers of fa pau (paper floral tributes), the procession heads for the Tin Hau Temple, presenting offerings to the Heavenly Queen. 

According to a custom of Ma Tin Tsuen, when its villagers receive the third fa pau which symbolises wealth and offspring, they will perform the dragon dance at the Tin Hau Festival in the following year as thanksgiving. And if the dragon is to be replaced with a new one, the old dragon will be burnt so that "it" can fly back to the heaven court. According to the villagers, this custom of Ma Tin Tsuen has been observed for more than one hundred years. 

The golden dragon was designed by the villagers of Ma Tin Tsuen and was made in 2002. Measuring about 70 metres in length, the dragon is assembled from 36 cylindrical sections. The body of the dragon is weaved with bamboo strips and dressed in silk with the head and the tail made of paper and silk. Accompanied by drums and gongs, the dance engages some two hundred villagers to wave the dragon which is led by dragon balls with the sun, the moon, the phoenix and the carp on both sides, referred to as "Golden Dragon Chasing after Five Treasures".

Exhibit Highlights

Golden Dragon of Ma Tin Tsuen, Yuen Long Villagers from Ma Tin Tsuen, Yuen Long were invited to perform a golden dragon dance at Hong Kong Heritage Museum on 18 October 2009. Visitors could enjoy the spectacular moves of the golden dragon    
Golden Dragon of Ma Tin Tsuen, Yuen Long

Villagers from Ma Tin Tsuen, Yuen Long were invited to perform a golden dragon dance at Hong Kong Heritage Museum on 18 October 2009. Visitors could enjoy the spectacular moves of the golden dragon

 

 

 

 

Web Content Display Web Content Display

元朗馬田村金龍

展覽日期:2009年10月19日至2010年4月19日
地點  :香港文化博物館地下大堂

每年農曆三月廿三日,元朗十八鄉慶祝天后寶誕,舉辦會景巡遊,各圍村均有參與表演活動,村眾並護送花炮歸廟還神,同赴元朗大樹下天后廟進香,酬謝天后庇佑。

根據元朗馬田村的習俗,每逢抽得丁財第三炮,象徵會為該村帶來丁財,所以隆重其事,在翌年的天后寶誕,便會舞動金龍,酬謝天后庇佑。若需要製作新金龍,必須把舊金龍火化,讓「祂」升上天庭。據村民所述,這種傳統至今已有百多年歷史。

是次展出的金龍是由馬田村村民精心設計,於2002年製成。金龍全長約70米,龍身分成36節。整條龍身支架是用竹枝、藤枝和篾仔紮成,龍首、龍尾用紙、綢和絹紮成,龍裙亦以綢和絹等布料來製成,龍皮釘上排列立體的金色鱗片。金龍由二百多名健兒舞動,追隨「龍珠」的引領,在旁還有「日」、「月」、「鳳」、「凰」、「鰲魚」一起舞動,是為「金龍追五寶」。金龍的舞動時,配合鑼鼓的節奏,龍裙隨風飄揚,鱗片金光閃閃,靈氣活現。

展品精選

 
元朗馬田村金龍 為配合是次展覽,元朗馬田村村民應邀在2009年10月18日於香港文化博物館舞動金龍,讓市民一睹金龍飛舞的英姿。    
元朗馬田村金龍 

為配合是次展覽,元朗馬田村村民應邀在2009年10月18日於香港文化博物館舞動金龍,讓市民一睹金龍飛舞的英姿。