Facebook icon
 
 
Logo of Hong Kong Museum of History
 

Branch Museums

 

Lei Cheng Uk Han Tomb

In 1955, a Han dynasty tomb was unearthed during the construction of the Lei Cheng Uk Resettlement Estate. Built of bricks, the ancient tomb comprises four chambers – the front, rear, left and right chambers – and an entrance passage in the shape of a symmetrical cross. The front chamber features a domed roof, and the other three chambers have barrel vaults. Most of the bricks, which on average measure 40cm long, 20cm wide and 5cm thick, are plain, but some bear inscriptions or carved patterns on the sides. The inscriptions include Daji Panyu (Great fortune to Panyu county), Panyu Dazhili (Peace to Panyu county) and Xue Shi. While the patterns are predominantly geometrical designs made up of lozenges and wheels, some depict simplified animals. A total of 58 burial objects were discovered in the tomb – 50 pottery cooking utensils, food vessels, storage containers and models, and eight pieces of bronze ware, including a basin, mirror, bell and bowls. No human skeletal remains were found.
                      

From the tomb structure, the artefacts discovered and the brick inscriptions, archaeologists deduced that the tomb was built in the Eastern Han period (25–220 AD). The cross-shaped tomb with domed roof was a popular tomb design in Guangdong at the time. The pottery ding tripod, zun wine warmer, kui food container and zhi wine container were common daily utensils and often appeared on pictorial bricks in Han tombs. The set of four pottery models – a house, granary, well and stove – were customary burial objects in the period. The characters Panyu in the brick inscription refer to the county in which the Hong Kong region was located in the Han dynasty, and the calligraphic style of the characters Xue Shi was widely used for Eastern Han bronze and stone inscriptions.
 

While a number of Han tombs have been discovered in Guangdong province, the Lei Cheng Uk Han Tomb is the only Han brick tomb unearthed in Hong Kong to date. It sheds light on the lives of early inhabitants in the Eastern Han period.

首页
Facebook icon
 
 
Logo of Hong Kong Museum of History
 

分馆

 

「李郑屋汉墓」

 

李郑屋汉墓

"李郑屋汉墓"常设展介绍李郑屋汉墓的发现、结构及出土文物等,说明汉墓与华南地区发现的东汉墓如出一辙,并证明中原文化在二千年前已传播到香港。

李郑屋汉墓是香港迄今发现的唯一一座东汉砖室墓,该墓是1955年政府在李郑屋村夷平山地兴建徙置大厦时发现。汉墓用砖砌成,由前、后、左、右四个墓室及一条羡道组成,形成平面如十字形对称的布局。前室顶部为穹窿顶,其余三个墓室则为单券顶,是东汉时期常见的墓室形制。墓砖平均长40、阔20、厚5厘米,多为素面,亦有部分墓砖的侧面刻有或印有文字和花纹。花纹有十多种,以菱形及轮形构成的几何图案为主,也有简化的动物形象图案。

考古学家在汉墓中发现了五十八件陪葬品,其中五十件陶器可以分为炊煮器、饮食器、贮藏器和模型;另外八件青铜器则有盆、镜、铃和碗等。墓内并没有人骨。

李郑屋汉墓的结构以至出土器物的类型,与华南地区发现的东汉墓如出一辙。结构方面,十字形穹窿顶砖室墓在东汉时期十分流行;器物方面,在汉墓发现的三足陶鼎、温酒尊、陶魁、陶卮等都是汉代民间常用的陶器,也常出现于汉墓的画像砖中。而一套四件的陶制模型─屋、仓、井和灶,更是东汉时期陪葬物的常见组合。再结合墓砖铭文的"番禺"二字,可以推断古墓是东汉时期(公元25-220年)的建筑物。

李郑屋汉墓不单反映东汉时期先民的生活,更印证了香港在汉代属番禺县管治。