Skip To Content
stop
play








Cultural Tours

Cultural Tours and Textile Conservation Workshop

On the last day of the symposium, Sunday 26th November, optional tours will be hosted for the symposium participants to see various heritage sites, textile collection or textile making studios in Hong Kong. In addition, a textile conservation workshop will be offered at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum. All these activities are complimentary with your symposium registration. Please see below for information about each tour/workshop.

Transport will be organised to and from the Hong Kong Museum of History or the nearest MTR stations for designated tours. Each tour/workshop will run for about 3 hours until approximately 12.30pm. Successful applicants will be informed of the gathering time and place for each tour/ workshop by individual email.

Places for each of these social activities are limited. We will endeavour to allocate first preferences on a first come, first served basis. If you need to cancel your registration, please inform the Organising Committee as soon as possible so that your place can be filled by another participant.
 

Textile Conservation Workshop
 ‘Scientific Analysis of Textiles' (Fully Booked)

This workshop will provide an opportunity for emerging conservation professionals who take care of textile collections a deeper insight into the concepts, techniques and scientific equipment for analysis of textile artefacts. The workshop is free of charge, with the number of participants limited to 20 delegates who have joined the Hong Kong symposium.


Date

Sunday 26th November, 2017

Time

9:30 - 12:30 

Venue

Conservation science laboratory at Hong Kong Heritage Mseum 

Gathering point

Content 
(tentative)

Part 1

Overview of identification of fibres/dyes (HPLC-MS) and metal threads (SEM-EDX) 

 

Part 2

Measuring colour and colour change (colour spectrophotometer), pH and degradation (FTIR)

Instructors

Jo Atkinson (Secretary-General, IIC), and    Dr Austin Nevin (Researcher, Institute of Nanotechnologies and Photonics - Italian National Research Council, Italy)

Participants 

Applicants should be professionals currently working in textile conservation or scientific studies of textile collections

 

Cultural Tours
Tour A  Chris Hall's Textile Collection Tour (Fully Booked)
A special visit to Mr Chris Hall, a well-known textile collector in Hong Kong who has traveled the world in the pursuit of antique Chinese textiles for over twenty years. With discerning eyes and deep passion, he has assembled over a thousand pieces of rare and exquisite textiles, some dating as early as 500 B.C. and ranging from impressive imperial robes to exquisitely embroidered badges and weavings. The Chris Hall Collection is world-renowned and has been exhibited at major museums worldwide.

Chris's apartment is filled with Asian and European antiques and art objects that reflect his love and appreciation of colours and antiquities from different cultures. During the visit, Chris will show us some of his most treasured pieces from the collection and share his journey of becoming a collector with the participants.

Gathering point for Tour A

Textile artefacts collected by Chris Hall

Tour B  Jody Kan's Cheongsam Making Studio (Fully Booked)
 ‘Cheongsam' is a loaned word derived from the Chinese term literally meaning ‘long dress'. Together with ‘Qipao', they refer exclusively to the conventional Chinese female dress form that first came into vogue in Shanghai in the 1920s and was later introduced to the daily wardrobe in Hong Kong. Renowned for its elegant body-hugging silhouette, fine tailoring and national identity, this dress form was embraced by all local urban Chinese women in its golden age. Although cheongsam ceased to be a mainstream outfit in Hong Kong after the 1970s, it was still worn by the local elite and on special occasions. The renewed interest in Cheongsam over the last two decades has given this dress form a greater freedom of design and expression. In this tour, participants will visit Jody Kan's studio in the Sheung Wan district, where she runs classes to preserve the craft of cheongsam making and gives workshops to educate young generations about this unique cultural heritage.

Gathering point for Tour B

Jody in her Cheongsam Making Studio in Sheung Wan

Tour C  Tai Ping Shan Historical District Heritage Walk
Tai Ping Shan District was, in the 1840s, the earliest Chinese residential districts on Hong Kong Island. Full of rich details and interesting facts about Hong Kong's past, the Tai Ping Shan Heritage Trail traces the development of many unique heritage as well as buildings following the outbreak of bubonic plague in the late 19th century which took place in Tai Ping Shan and the neighbouring Sai Ying Pun. The neighbourhood is now experiencing a renaissance after undergoing the adaptive reuse and revitalization of the local built heritage. Guided by Dr Hoyin Lee from the University of Hong Kong, participants will meander through some oldest streets in Hong Kong, passing the Ladder Street, Bridges Street Market, Hollywood Road, Man Mo Temple, Tai Ping Shan Street and finally the Former Bacteriological Institute.

Gathering point for Tour C

Buildings along the heritage trail

Tour D  Tin Hau Temple and ICH around Yaumatei District (Fully Booked)
Tin Hau temple is dedicated to Goddess of the Sea, revered by fishermen and people whose life is tied to the sea. Temples that honour Tin Hau are found in abundance in Chinese coastal communities throughout Asia. Its location in the public square out front in urban Yau Ma Tei's communal heart might seem odd. But long ago, before massive land reclamation in the area, the temple was actually positioned on the waterfront. While the water may have receded today, people continue to worship Tin Hau in this incense-filled sanctuary.

Around the neighbourhood are some fascinating streets with markets for leisure and pleasure reflecting the authentic local Chinese lifestyles – from gemstones in the Jade Market to fortune tellers in the Temple Street, and you may run into some preserved old buildings and Chinese shop-houses selling Chinese kitchen accessories or traditional wedding gowns in Shanghai Street. This unique section of Hong Kong is a colourful and memorable experience at any time of the day or night.

Gathering point for Tour D

Tin Hau Temple in Yaumatei

Tour E  Behind-the-scenes at Hong Kong Heritage Museum (Fully Booked)
Join the textile conservation team for a behind-the-scenes tour of their conservation studios and facilities at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum, followed by a guided walk around the museum to highlight ongoing projects in the studios and their preparation work for some major textile exhibits. The visit will last for approximately 1.5 hours. Participants will then be free for the remainder of the day to explore the rest of the museum for their current exhibitions.
Gathering point for Tour E

跳至主要內容
stop
play

聯誼活動

  









聯誼活動

文化導賞團及織品修復工作坊

在研討會的最後一天,即11月26日(星期日),大會安排了一系列自選活動讓已報名出席研討會的人士免費參與,包括到訪具本地文化特色的古蹟地標、參觀紡織品製作室、欣賞收藏家的藏品等;您亦可選擇參加在香港文化博物館內進行的織品修復工作坊。各導賞團/工作坊的活動詳情如下。

每個導賞團行程/工作坊約為3小時,至中午12:30左右結束。成功報名人士將於活動前夕收到大會電郵通知確實的集合地點與時間。部分指定行程將設有往返交通接送(從香港歷史博物館或鄰近的港鐵站出發)。

各導賞團/工作坊的名額有限,大會將盡量以先到先得形式編配名額。如欲取消您已獲安排的行程或活動,請儘早與籌委會聯絡,以便其他有意參加者填補空缺。
 

織品修復工作坊
「紡織品的科學分析」[名額已滿]

此工作坊是為新晉的紡織文物修復員而設,讓他們深入認識分析紡織文物的應用概念、技術和科學儀器,設名額20人,供已報名出席研討會的人士參與。

日期

2017年11月26日 (星期日)

時間

9:30 – 12:30 

地點

香港文化博物館修復科學實驗室

內容
(暫定)

第一部分

概覽:辨識纖維/染料(HPLC -MS)與金屬線(SEM -EDX) 

 

第二部分

量度顏色與顏色轉變(色彩分光光度計)、pH值和劣化程度(FTIR)
 

導師

Jo Atkinson (國際文物修護學會秘書長)及

Austin Nevin博士(意大利國家研究委員會光電與納米技術研究所研究員)

學員                           

只接受從事紡織文物修復、科研或教學的參會者報名

 

文化導賞團

行程A  參觀賀祈思紡織藏品 [名額已滿]
參加者將到訪本地知名收藏家賀祈思先生的寓所,觀賞他的紡織藏品。賀先生於過去20多年周遊列國,物色古代中國紡織品。他以獨具慧眼和對紡織珍品的無比熱誠,搜羅了過千件罕有而精緻的紡織品,藏品包括令人印象深刻的龍袍、造工精美的繡花紋章及織錦,部分更可追溯至公元前500年。賀祈思藏品系列是舉世知名的私人藏品,曾先後於世界各地的主要博物館展出。

賀先生的寓所內放滿了來自歐洲、亞洲各地的古董和藝術品,反映他對不同文化的欣賞和喜愛。參觀期間,賀氏會展示他收藏中一些最珍貴的藏品,並和參加者分享他成為收藏家的故事。

賀祈思先生收藏的紡織藏品

 

行程B  參觀靳青青長衫製作室
顧名思義,「長衫」即長身的衣服。它和「旗袍」一樣於1920年代開始在上海成為風行一時的傳統中式女服,後來亦在香港發揚光大,成為普遍城市女性日常穿著的便服。長衫能呈現女性典雅端莊的美態、並以手工精湛和民族特色聞名,全盛時期深受香港女士擁戴。1970年代後,長衫雖然不再是香港的主流服飾,但仍是精英階層在特別場合喜愛穿著的服飾。長衫潮流在近20年開始復甦,設計亦比以往更自由創新。本導賞團將帶領參加者到訪靳青青女士位於上環的工作室。靳青青女士在此傳授長衫製作技巧,並舉辦各式工作坊,讓年輕一代認識此獨特的服裝文化,藉此傳承長衫的傳統工藝。

靳青青女士在她位於上環的長衫製作室

 

行程C  太平山歷史區遺跡徑
太平山區是香港島最早期的華人聚居地,其歷史可追溯至1840年代。太平山文物徑不但記載了有關香港的豐富史料和有趣故事,亦見證了十九世紀末於太平山及鄰近西營盤區爆發鼠疫後,區內陸續發展而成的特有文化與建築物。近年區內一帶不少歷史建築經過活化重建後,呈現另一翻風貌。參加者在香港大學李浩然博士的帶領下,將遊覽香港一些最古老街道,穿越樓梯街、必列啫士街街市、荷李活道、文武廟、太平山街等,還有導賞團的最後一站-前身為細菌學檢驗所的建築物,認識這些街道和建築物當中的歷史淵源。

遺跡徑沿途建築物

 

行程D  油麻地天后廟及非物質文化遺產遊
天后廟專門供奉保護漁民和海上人家的「天后娘娘」。天后廟數目繁多,凡有華人聚居的亞洲沿海社區,幾乎都可以看到供奉天后的廟宇。這座天后廟坐落於油麻地市中心公眾廣場,位置看似奇怪,但昔日油麻地社區進行大規模填海前,這座天后廟其實是建於海旁。時至今日,雖然海岸線已改變,居民也不再以捕魚為生,但善信仍繼續到這家香火鼎盛的廟宇參拜天后。

天后廟附近亦有不少有趣的街道和消閒市集,它們都是本地居民地道生活的寫照。除了玉器市場的寶石和廟街的相士,你也會在上海街看到一些保存至今的古老建築,還有出售中式廚具或傳統裙褂的中式地舖。不論晝夜到訪,這個獨特的社區都可為遊人帶來繽紛難忘的體驗。

油麻地天后廟

 

行程E  香港文化博物館文物修復幕後遊 [名額已滿]
文化博物館的紡織品修復團隊將帶領參加者參觀修復工作室和展示有關設施,向大家介紹工作室內正在進行的修復項目,以及修復員為紡織藏品進行展覽前所需的一些預備工作。整個行程需時約1.5小時,參觀完畢後,參加者可以在餘下時間自由參觀博物館內的免費展覽或活動。