Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence Home Page Graphics Version | c骩 | ²^

About Us | What's New | Facilities | Exhibition | Selected Collection | Group Visits | Education Programmes | Publication | Links | Cultural Services | Back to LCSD


History

Previous   Next

The Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence, located at Shau Kei Wan with a total area of 34,200 square meters, is converted from the hundred years' old Lei Yue Mun Fort.

Lei Yue Mun occupies a strategic position guarding the eastern approach to the Victoria Harbour. As early as 1844, barracks were built by the British at Saiwan to the south of the channel. However, with numerous deaths of soldiers caused by severe epidemics in the area, the barracks were abandoned shortly afterwards. Although there had been many suggestions to build batteries at Lei Yue Mun in the next forty years, none was ever realized.

By 1885, in face of possible attacks from France and Russia, the British decided to construct batteries on the headland to the south of the Lei Yue Mun Channel. Designed and built by the Royal Engineers, the Redoubt was the core of the Lei Yue Mun fortifications. An area of 7,000 square meters was first dug up from the summit of the Lei Yue Mun Headland. Eighteen casemates were then constructed to function as barrack rooms, magazines, shell store and coal store. The structures were then concealed by earth. The construction was largely completed by 1887.

There was an open courtyard in the centre of the Redoubt for assembly purposes. The Redoubt was armed with two 6 inch breech loading disappearing guns and was surrounded by a ditch. Meanwhile, a group of batteries were built which ran along the ridge of the Headland from east to west, including the Reverse, Central, West and Pass Batteries. The guns installed at Lei Yue Mun could be fired at different ranges to completely cover the approach to the Lei Yue Mun Channel. In 1890, the Brennan Torpedo station was installed at the shoreline of the Lei Yue Mun Headland, which was believed at that time to be the world's most powerful underwater weapon.

However, the next three decades saw no hostile actions from Britain's enemies, and the Lei Yue Mun installations were never put to any real test. By the 1930s, the strategic importance of Lei Yue Mun declined considerably as a result of technological advances and the construction of new defence positions in the territory.

On 8 December 1941, the Japanese launched their attacks on Hong Kong. After the fall of the New Territories and Kowloon, the British Forces immediately strengthened the defences at Lei Yue Mun to prevent the Japanese from crossing the Lei Yue Mun Channel from Devil's Peak. Although the defence forces managed to repulse several raids by the Japanese, they were eventually overwhelmed and the Fort finally fell into enemy hands on 19 December. The Fort no longer bore any defence significance in the post-war period, and became a training ground for the British Forces until 1987 when it was finally vacated.

In view of its historical significance and unique architectural features, the former Urban Council decided in 1993 to conserve and develop the Lei Yue Mun Fort into a museum of coastal defence. With a budget of HK$300 million, the Architectural Services Department (ASD) completed the architectural design and construction works. With such splendid architectural design, the ASD was awarded the Hong Kong Institute of Architects Annual Awards ?Silver Medal as well as Green Project Awards ?Silver Award (Greening Effect) in 2000. The Museum was open to the public on 25 July 2000 which brought a new page to the history of the Lei Yue Mun Fort.




Introduction | General Information | History | Location Map | Financial Figures

sitemap | privacy policy

Copyright © Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence
Leisure & Cultural Services Department

Last revision date: 14 April, 2011

香港海防博物館首頁 圖像版本 | 英文版 | 簡体版

簡介 | 最新消息 | 設施 | 展覽 | 精選藏品 | 團體參觀 | 教育活動 | 教學資源 | 刊物 | 相關網頁 | 文化事務 | 返回康文署


歷史

上頁   下頁

香港海防博物館位於港島筲箕灣,全館面積約34,200平方米,是由具百年歷史的舊鯉魚門炮台修建而成。

鯉魚門地區控制維多利亞港東面入口,位居要衝。英軍早於1844年便在水道南岸的西灣地區修築兵營,但由於疫症流行,不少駐兵病死,該兵營遂被棄置。在其後的四十年間,軍部雖多次計劃在鯉魚門興建炮台,但遲遲未有落實。

及至1885年,為防禦法國及俄羅斯的威脅,英軍乃決定在鯉魚門水道南面的岬角修築鯉魚門炮台。堡壘是整個防衛體系的核心,由英國皇家工程兵設計和建造。他們首先從鯉魚門岬角的最高點移走面積達七千平方米的泥土,然後建造十八間地下室,闢作士兵營房、彈藥庫、炮彈裝配室及煤倉等,最後再填回泥土,將堡壘完全隱閉起來。所有工程在1887年完成。

堡壘中央建有露天廣場,供士兵集散之用。堡壘內配備兩門六英吋後裝「隱沒式」大炮,四周並建有壕溝。英軍另於堡壘附近修築多座炮台,包括反向炮台、中央炮台、西炮台及渡口炮台,依山勢由東至西分佈於岬角上。各炮射程不一,可完全覆蓋整個鯉魚門水道。1890年,英軍更在岬角海邊建成布倫南魚雷發射站,是當時世界上最具威力的水下武器。

可是,在隨後的三十多年間,香港並沒受到攻擊,鯉魚門的海防武器一直無用武之地。到了1930年代,由於武器技術的改進以及其他新炮台相繼落成,鯉魚門炮台在香港海防上的重要性遂逐漸減退。

1941年12月8日,日軍入侵香港。在佔領新界及九龍後,英軍即加強鯉魚門的防衛,防止日軍從對岸的魔鬼山渡海登陸。守軍雖曾多次擊退日軍的偷襲,但由於雙方實力懸殊,炮台最後於12月19日被攻陷。戰後,炮台已失去防衛作用,但仍被英軍用作訓練基地,至1987年始全部撤走。

前市政局鑑於鯉魚門炮台的歷史價值及建築特色,於一九九三年決定將之修復,並改建成一所以香港海防歷史為主題的博物館。整項計劃耗資約三億港元,由建築署設計及興建,其建築設計曾於2000年榮獲香港建築師學會周年大獎 – 銀獎,與及綠化都市顯才華銀獎 – 綠化效果。香港海防博物館於2000年7月25日正式開放予市民參觀,為鯉魚門炮台的歷史揭開了新的一頁。




簡介 | 基本資料 | 歷史 | 位置圖 | 財務數據

意見及查詢 | 網站指南 | 聲明及版權

© 版權所有 - 香港海防博物館
康樂及文化事務署

修訂日期 : 2014年2月24日