Leisure and Cultural Services Department - Music Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's World City
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Sitemap Contact Us
Upcoming Events
 
2013 Music Office Annual Gala
<< Back to Events
 
  Performing Groups
 
Music Office Youth Choir

The Music Office Youth Choir was established in 1980 and made its debut at a Christmas concert with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra in December of the same year. With a repertoire that spans from sacred to secular, classical to popular, and Chinese to Western, the Choir has performed regularly in local concerts and collaborated with many visiting music groups, among which were the Kagoshima Senior High School Choir (Japan), College of Saint Benedict-Saint John’s University Choral Arts Ensemble (USA), Pittsburgh Youth Symphony Orchestra (USA), as well as the reputable Bach Choir from the UK, with whom the Choir collaborated in a memorable performance of Bach’s St. Matthew Passion and Berlioz’s Grande Messe des Morts under the baton of Sir David Wilcocks. Other highlights include a recording of the winning composition in the UNESCAP-WMO Typhoon Committee songwriting contest and a recording of the National Anthem for a civic education television production with the Hong Kong Police Band.

Embarking on its first overseas tour to Malaysia and Singapore in 1997, the Music Office Youth Choir has, in 2002, concluded another highly successful tour to Kagoshima, Japan, where their performances under the auspices of the Kagoshima Prefectural Government were met with critical acclaim. Winning further recognition in a return visit to Penang, Malaysia in 2009, the Choir was awarded not only a gold diploma in both the Chamber Choir and Mixed Choir Open Category competitions in the “A Voyage of Songs” International Choral Festival, but also the Category Winner Award in the Mixed Choir Open Category and the Jury Award for outstanding artistic achievement.

With a total of 89 members between the age of 15 and 25, the Music Office Youth Choir is currently trained by Dr. Angelina Au and Mable Siew. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.
 
Hong Kong Youth Strings

The Hong Kong Youth Strings was established in 1985. It provides advanced training for young string players who have completed their term in district string orchestras of the Music Office. Since its establishment, the Hong Kong Youth Strings has participated regularly in the annual Hong Kong Youth Music Interflows and the Music Office Annual Gala. Besides their weekly rehearsals, members of the Orchestra have opportunities to attend masterclasses by eminent artists such as Gary Karr, Yeh Tsung, Peter Wilson, Kumi Sugiyama, Beaux Arts Trio, members of Philadelphia Orchestra and Nash Ensemble.

The Orchestra also takes part regularly in international youth music exchange activities including joint concerts with Cincinnati Junior Strings in 1992, Shenzhen Music Lovers’ Chamber Orchestra in 1996, Lincoln Youth Orchestra in 1998 and Beijing City 101 High School Orchestra in 2000. In 1997, the Orchestra went on a concert tour to Singapore and Malaysia. The Orchestra collaborated with renowned violinists Wong Sze-hang and Kumi Sugiyama in performances of Vivaldi’s Winter and Autumn Concertos in 2000 and 2001 respectively. In 2001, the Orchestra joined the Hong Kong Institute of Education Orchestra and Choir in the institute’s presentation of Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana, under the baton of Yip Wing-sie. In 2004, the Orchestra was invited to Kagoshima, Japan for cultural exchange and concert performances. The joint concert of the Orchestra with Kagoshima Wind Ensemble at Kirishima International Concert Hall had been acclaimed by some of the local audience as one of the best musical presentations of the year in Kagoshima. In order to gain more performance experience, the Orchestra took part in an interflow with the Youth Orchestra, Chinese Youth Corps of New York in 2007. In July 2012, the Orchestra went to Austria and Czech to participate in the Summer Cum Laude International Youth Music Festival Vienna and earned a place in the category of “Outstanding Success” in the Competition held in the Golden Hall of Vienna.

The Hong Kong Youth Strings currently has 78 members and is trained by Ng Ka-ming, Simon Li and Lui Wing-ka. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.
 
Hong Kong Junior Chamber Ensemble

The Hong Kong Junior Chamber Ensemble was established in September 2000 to provide ensemble training for young instrumentalists. Its debut at the Hong Kong City Hall in November 2000 was well received by the audience and echoed with appreciation from local music professionals.

The Ensemble has participated in many Music Office and local activities, such as “Youth Music Extravaganza”, “Music Office Spectacular”, “Eastern District Community Concert”, as well as charity concerts held by UNICEF. Its demonstration performance in the 2006 Hong Kong Youth Music Interflows – String Orchestra Contest was also well received.

The Hong Kong Junior Chamber Ensemble has at present a membership of 45, aged from 8 to 16 years, and is trained and managed by Dr. Joseph Kam and Lau Yeung-chit. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.
 
Hong Kong Youth Symphonic Band

The Hong Kong Youth Symphonic Band, trained and managed by the Music Office, was formed in 1978. The Band has successfully nurtured several generations of young musicians, creating a wider interest in and reception of band music in Hong Kong.

In 1978, the Hong Kong Youth Symphonic Band gave its debut with the visiting County of Avon School Orchestra. Since then, the Band has had the privilege of performing with a number of distinguished guest musicians and bands both in Hong Kong and overseas, among which included the Central Band of the United Kingdom Royal Air Force, the Tanunda Band of Australia, the Regimental Band of the Green Jackets, the Scots Guards of the United Kingdom, the Narashino Girls’ High School Band from Japan, the Baden-Württernberg Youth Wind Ensemble, and a number of youth bands from Canada, Japan, Australia, Philippines and Singapore. Noted conductors like Bruce Pearson, Dr. Vondis Miller and Robert Lutt from the USA, Eric Banks from the UK, Felix Hauswirth from Switzerland, Russell Hammond from Australia and Li Fang-fang from Beijing had also contributed much to the refinement of the Band.

In 1986, the Band went on a highly successful concert tour to Japan. In 1990, the Band was invited to participate in the Fifth Pacific Basin Festival in Hawaii, USA. In 1993, the Band visited Australia to give a number of performances in concerts and music exchanges. In 1994, the Band was invited by the Hong Kong Outstanding Young Persons’ Association to perform in the “Arts in the Park”. The Band participated in the 2001 Jeju Summer Band Festival organized by the Jeju City of Korea and won high acclaims from critics. In 2008, the Band was invited by the Kagoshima Prefectural Government, Japan to go on a concert tour for cultural exchange.

The Hong Kong Youth Symphonic Band has currently a total of 75 members between the ages of 12 and 25 and is trained and managed by Pak Wing-heng, Lee Sing-wan, Kevin Ling and Henry Cheng. Recruitment is held annually by open audition. This year, members from Kowloon Youth Symphonic Band, New Territories Youth Symphonic Band, Hong Kong Children’s Symphonic Band and some wind trainees of the Music Office will join in the performance.
 
Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra

Formed in 1978, the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra is one of the most sophisticated ensembles under the management of the Music Office. Since 1980, the Orchestra has taken part in numerous local performances and major festivals like the Hong Kong Arts Festival, the Festival Fringe, the Hong Kong International Youth Arts Festival, the Celebration Concert on the 47th National Day, the 1997 Reunification Spectacular at Happy Valley, the 1998 International Arts Carnival, the Millennium Music Carnival and the “Music of the Dragons” concert for the celebration of the 5th Anniversary of the HKSARG, etc. On its 20th anniversary, the Orchestra invited former members and conductors to perform in the Anniversary Concert – including Tong Leung-tak, Dr. Joshua Chan, Wai Shing-fat, Wong Chi-chung, Chu Siu-wei, Loo Sze-wang and Ronald Chin. In celebrating it’s 30th anniversary, the Orchestra invited renowned musicians, Tong Leung-tak and Ronald Chin to participate in a special reunion concert in 2008.

In addition to giving local concerts, the Orchestra has also gone on a number of highly successful overseas tours – from neighbouring Macao (1979 and 1984), Singapore (1986 and 1995) and Malaysia (1995) to the UK and France (1979), Australia (1988), the USA and Canada (1990). Outstanding members of the Orchestra have also formed ensembles to perform abroad. In 1980, the group ‘Hong Kong Elites’ comprising selected members of the Orchestra toured Cyprus and Israel. Selected members of the Orchestra joined the 5th Australian Youth Music Festival in Melbourne, Australia in 1981, and performed in three different folk arts festivals in the UK in 1982 and 1983. In 1987, an eight-member ensemble performed to critical acclaim at the 3rd Hong Kong-Mantua Friendship Festival in Italy. In 1992, another ensemble of the Orchestra gave a distinguished performance at the Festival Hong Kong 1992 held in Toronto and Calgary, Canada. The Orchestra’s performances in the exchange programme “Tour to the Ancient Cities” in Beijing and Xian in 2000, together with the concert tour to Jiangsu with three dynamic concerts staged at the folk music festivals in Nanjing, Wuxi and Jiangyin in 2007, were highly acclaimed. In 2011 the orchestra embarked on a Taiwan premiere tour and received high acclaims in the concerts of Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival.

With a current membership of around 90, the Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra is trained and managed by Tsui Ying-fai, Kwok Kin-ming, Tse Tsz-chung, Sam Kan, Chin King and Lee Ka-him. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.
 
Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra

Founded in 1978, the Hong Kong Youth Symphony Orchestra is trained and managed by the Music Office of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department.

Over the years, many of its former members have pursued a career in music and become eminent performers or music educators. Guest conductors and soloists worked with the Orchestra included names of international acclaim, such as Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Fou T’song, Georg Tintner, Sir David Wilcocks, Tang Muhai, Kenneth Jean, Yeh Tsung, Yip Wing-sie, Timothy Landauer and Edward Grach. In May 2010, the Orchestra, at the invitation of UNICEF, jointly performed with the world-class pianist Lang Lang at a fundraising concert.

The Orchestra has also played the role of music ambassador of Hong Kong and completed successful concert tours to France, Israel, Cyprus, UK, Australia, USA, Singapore and cities in the Mainland. The Orchestra went on another concert tour to Shanghai and performed for the Hong Kong Week of Shanghai Expo in 2010. Apart from that, the Orchestra also participated in exchange programmes with Shanghai young musicians.

With a current membership of 96, aged 11 to 25, the Hong Kong Youth Symhony Orchestra is trained and managed by Ng Ka-ming, Pak Wing-heng, Dr. Joseph Kam and Yeung Tak-man. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.

康樂及文化事務署 - 音樂事務處 香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
最新活動
 
2013音樂事務處周年大匯演
<< 返回活動
 
  演出樂團/ 合唱團
 
音樂事務處青年合唱團

音樂事務處青年合唱團於1980年成立,同年12月於香港管弦樂團的聖誕音樂會作首演。除經常參與本地演出外,合唱團亦曾與不少訪港音樂團體合作聯演,其中計有日本鹿兒島高等學校合唱團、美國聖班尼迪-聖約翰大學合唱團、美國匹茲堡青年交響樂團,以及聯同享負盛名的英國巴赫合唱團,在韋國詩爵士的指揮下演唱巴赫的《聖馬太受難曲》及白遼士的《安魂曲》的難忘演出。合唱團的演唱曲目豐富,包括不同風格的古今中外合唱作品,亦曾為聯合國及世界氣象組織轄下颱風委員會作曲比賽優勝作品錄音,以及夥同香港警察樂隊為公民教育電視短片錄製國歌。

音樂事務處青年合唱團於1997年首次往新加坡及馬來西亞作外訪,及後於2002年應日本鹿兒島縣政府邀請往當地多個城市作交流演出,受到當地人士的熱烈讚賞。合唱團於2009年再訪馬來西亞檳城,並於第四屆「歌之旅」國際合唱節中囊括小組合唱金文憑獎、公開組混聲合唱金文憑獎、公開組混聲合唱組別優勝獎,以及評審團為出色藝術成就所頒的評審特別獎。

合唱團每年透過公開試音招募團員,現有團員89人,年齡由15至25歲,由區雁珠博士及蕭晶負責訓練。
 
香港青年弦樂團

香港青年弦樂團於1985年成立,為已完成音樂事務處地區弦樂團訓練的學員提供更高水平的樂團訓練。自成立以來,多次參加音樂事務處香港青年音樂匯演及音樂事務處周年大匯演的演出。除每周排練外,團員有很多機會出席大師班,曾接受著名音樂家加利.卡爾、葉聰、彼得.威爾遜、椙山久美、美藝三重奏、費城樂團和萊雪樂團的弦樂大師指導。

樂團經常參與社區音樂會的演出及國際青年音樂交流活動,如1992年與美國辛辛那提少年弦樂團、1996年與深圳少年愛樂室內樂團、1998年與美國林肯市青年交響樂團及2000年與北京市第101中學樂團作交流演出。1997年,樂團往新加坡及馬來西亞作巡迴演出;2000及2001年,分別與著名小提琴家王思恆及椙山久美合作演出韋華第的《冬季》和《秋季》協奏曲。2001年,樂團部分成員在葉詠詩指揮下,聯同香港教育學院合唱團及樂團於香港文化中心演出卡爾.柯夫的大型作品《卡敏那.布蘭拿》。2004年,樂團應日本鹿兒島縣政府的邀請,到該地訪問並作三場演出,其中與鹿兒島管樂團合作於霧島國際音樂廳舉行的音樂會,大受當地觀眾歡迎。為增加青年樂手的演出經驗,樂團於2007年與紐約幼獅交響樂團作交流演出。2012年7月,樂團更遠赴奧地利及捷克參加“至高榮耀”維也納國際青年音樂節,除作多場交流及演出外,並在維也納金色大廳舉行的弦樂團比賽中獲評為「特出成就」演出級別。

樂團現有團員78人,由吳家明、李世康及呂穎嘉負責管理和訓練。樂團每年透過公開試音招募團員。
 
香港少年室樂團

香港少年室樂團於2000年9月成立,目的是為音樂事務處器樂訓練計劃的少年弦樂學員及本港少年弦樂好手提供室樂訓練。樂團同年11月於香港大會堂作首度演出,並獲本港音樂界人士高度讚揚。

樂團成立以來,一直參與許多大型活動,如「千禧樂聚嘉年華」、「千人周年匯演」、「東區樂韻悠揚夜」及由聯合國保護兒童基金主辦的慈善音樂會等,並在2006香港青年音樂匯演 - 弦樂團比賽作示範演出,深獲好評。

樂團現時有45名團員,年齡介乎8至16歲,並由甘浩鵬博士及劉揚捷負責訓練和管理。樂團每年透過公開試音招募團員。
 
香港青年管樂團

香港青年管樂團成立於1978年,由音樂事務處訓練和管理。樂團一直成功培育不少傑出青年音樂家,並加深了社會人士對管樂的興趣。

1978年,香港青年管樂團與訪港的英國雅幌郡青年管弦樂團作首次演出。自此,樂團更多次在本港及海外,聯同許多客席音樂家及樂團合作演出,其中包括英國皇家空軍中央管樂團、澳洲田宇達管樂團、英國綠衣軍團、蘇格蘭高地軍團、日本習志野女子高校管樂團、德國巴登-符騰堡青年管樂團,以及多個來自加拿大、日本、澳洲、菲律賓及新加坡的青年管樂團。曾與樂團合作的指揮家,有來自美國的皮雅信、米利埃博士和勞茨、英國的班克斯、瑞士的豪思沃斯、澳洲的夏文德及北京的李方方等,他們對提高樂團的演奏水平貢獻良多。

1986年,樂團前往日本作巡迴演出,獲當地人士好評。1990年,樂團應邀遠赴夏威夷,參加第五屆太平洋流域管樂節。1993年,樂團訪問澳洲,在多場的音樂會及音樂交流活動中演出。1994年,應香港傑出青年協會之邀,於「園蹤藝展」中演出。於2001年,樂團前往韓國濟州參加2001濟州夏令管樂節。2008年,樂團應日本鹿兒島縣政府之邀出訪日本鹿兒島,與當地樂團作交流演出。

香港青年管樂團現由白榮亨、李星雲、凌閣顯及鄭鳴軒負責訓練及管理。樂團現有團員75人,年齡介乎12至25歲,每年透過公開試音招募團員。是次匯演除香港青年管樂團外,還邀請九龍青年管樂團、新界青年管樂團、香港兒童管樂團部分團員及本處器樂訓練計劃的管樂學員參與演出。
 
香港青年中樂團

香港青年中樂團於1978年成立,是音樂事務處轄下最高水準的青年樂團之一。成立以來,樂團曾多次在本港作公開演出,並參與多項大型表演活動如香港藝術節、香港藝穗節、香港國際青年藝術節、香港同胞慶祝中華人民共和國成立四十七週年文藝晚會、九七萬眾同心大匯演、九七回歸音樂節、九八國際綜藝合家歡、千禧樂聚嘉年華及2002年慶祝特別行政區政府成立五周年的「龍聲飛揚」萬人青年音樂會等。樂團的二十周年音樂會「青中樂聚廿載情」更特別邀請多名前樂團團員及指揮攜手參與演出,其中包括湯良德、陳錦標博士、衛承發、王志聰、朱紹威、盧思泓及錢國偉等著名本地音樂家。2008年,舉辦了樂團三十周年音樂會「喜相逢」,特別邀請著名音樂家湯良德、錢國偉及30位前香港青年中樂團團員參與演出。

香港青年中樂團曾多次遠赴海外演出,並獲各界人士一致好評。出訪地方包括澳門 (1979及1984)、新加坡 (1986及1995)、馬來西亞 (1995),以及英國、法國 (1979)、澳洲 (1988)、美國和加拿大 (1990)。此外,部分優秀團員亦曾組成合奏小組往海外演出,如由部分團員組成的「香港精英」團隊曾於1980年往塞浦路斯及以色列作巡迴表演。樂團於1981年曾選出多名優秀團員往澳洲墨爾本參加「第五屆澳洲青年音樂節」,於1982及1983年均有選拔團員往英國參加三個不同的民族藝術節的演出。1987年,由8名團員組成的一個合奏小組應邀在意大利舉行的「第三屆香港曼道華友好日」中演出,其出色的演奏大受當地人士讚賞。而樂團的另一隊合奏小組亦於1992年在加拿大多倫多及卡加利所舉行的「加拿大香港節九二」中擔任演出,其精湛的表現亦為當地觀眾留下深刻的印象。2000年,樂團前往北京及西安作「古都之旅」交流演出;2007年,樂團於南京舉行之「中國江蘇二胡之鄉民族音樂節」、無錫舉行之「第三屆中國無錫‧太湖國際民樂展」及江陰市舉行之「劉天華民族音樂節」一共演出三場,並與著名二胡演奏家閔惠芬、朱昌耀合作,獲一致好評;樂團於2011年9月首度訪問台灣,參加在台中彰化舉行的「2011當代國樂節」演出,獲得當地高度讚賞。

香港青年中樂團現有團員約90人,由徐英輝、郭健明、謝子聰、沈瑾、錢璟及李家謙負責訓練及管理。樂團每年透過公開試音招募團員。
 
香港青年交響樂團

香港青年交響樂團於1978年成立,由康樂及文化事務署轄下音樂事務處管理和訓練。

現時香港不少出色的音樂家,包括職業樂手及音樂教育工作者,都曾受訓於香港青年交響樂團。樂團曾與多位國際知名指揮及獨奏者合作演出,計有曼奴軒爵士、傅聰、丁納、韋國詩爵士、湯沐海、甄健豪、葉聰、葉詠詩、蘭潔及格拉齊等。2010年5月,樂團應聯合國兒童基金會的邀請,與傑出鋼琴家郎朗一同演出,為基金會籌募經費。

樂團亦肩負青年文化大使的任務,曾多次遠赴海外演出,足跡遍及法國、以色列、塞浦路斯、英國、澳洲、美國、新加坡及內地省市,促進國際文化交流。樂團於2010年10月訪問上海,為上海世博會「香港周」及其他相關活動演出,並與上海青少年樂手交流。

樂團現由吳家明、白榮亨、甘浩鵬博士及楊德敏負責訓練和管理。樂團現有團員96名,年齡介乎11至25歲,每年透過公開試音招募團員。