Leisure and Cultural Services Department - Music Office Brand Hong Kong - Asia's World City
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Sitemap Contact Us
Upcoming Events
 
Noël Noël Noël A-Caroling We GoAn-Ching-
Music Office Youth Choir and Children’s Choir Annual Concert
<< Back to Events
 
Music Office Youth Choir

The Music Office Youth Choir was established in 1980 and made its debut at a Christmas concert with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra in December of the same year. With a repertoire that spans from sacred to secular, classical to popular, and Chinese to Western, the Choir has performed regularly in local concerts and collaborated with many visiting music groups, among which were the Kagoshima Senior High School Choir (Japan), College of Saint Benedict-Saint John’s University Choral Arts Ensemble (USA), Pittsburgh Youth Symphony Orchestra (USA), as well as the reputable Bach Choir from the UK, with whom the Choir collaborated in a memorable performance of Bach’s St. Matthew Passion and Berlioz’s Grande Messe des Morts under the baton of Sir David Wilcocks. Other highlights include a recording of the winning composition in the UNESCAP-WMO Typhoon Committee songwriting contest and a recording of the National Anthem for a civic education television production with the Hong Kong Police Band.

Embarking on its first overseas tour to Malaysia and Singapore in 1997, the Music Office Youth Choir has, in 2002, concluded another highly successful tour to Kagoshima, Japan, where their performances under the auspices of the Kagoshima Prefectural Government were met with critical acclaim. Winning further recognition in a return visit to Penang, Malaysia in 2009, the Choir was awarded not only a gold diploma in both the Chamber Choir and Mixed Choir Open Category competitions in the “A Voyage of Songs” International Choral Festival, but also the Category Winner Award in the Mixed Choir Open Category and the Jury Award for outstanding artistic achievement.

With a total of 90 members between the age of 15 and 25, the Music Office Youth Choir is currently trained by Dr. Angelina Au and Mable Siew. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.
Music Office Children’s Choir

The Music Office Children’s Choir, formerly known as the “Music Office Chinese Folk Singing Children Ensemble”, was formed in 1981 with the aim of preserving the rich tradition of Chinese folk music and encouraging more children to participate in the singing of Chinese folk songs. Recent repertoire includes both Western and Chinese choral works, among which are several local premieres.

In addition to regular appearances in Music Office concerts, the Choir has also participated in a good number of invited performances. These include guest appearances in the annual concerts of Tuen Mun Children’s Choir, Shum Shui Po Children’s Choir, Kowloon City District Children’s Chorus and Kowloon City Schools’ Music Interflow, a joint concert with the Macao Youth Choir (Core Juvenil de Macau) presented by the Cultural Institute of the Macao SAR Government in Macao in 2007, as well as the “40th Anniversary Concert - HKCC & Friends” held in celebration of the Hong Kong Children’s Choir’s 40th anniversary in 2009. Furthermore, the Choir has also performed in the 1998 International Children’s Choir Festival, the 2nd International Children’s Choir Festival (China), 1999 and 2002 Hong Kong International Children’s Choral Festival, as well as several operetta productions, among which were Cinderella, Noah and His Floating Zoo and The Legend of Chang 'E - the Lady in the Moon, and community projects such as “Around the World in 80 Ways - Hong Kong Challenge” and the production of the Summer Youth Programme Theme Song VCD.

With 87 members aged 8 to 15, the Music Office Children’s Choir is currently trained by May Ho and Yau Man-ching. Recruitment is held annually through open audition.

康樂及文化事務署 - 音樂事務處 香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 簡體版 English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
最新活動
 
「聖誕佳音」---音樂事務處青年合唱團及兒童合唱團周年音樂會
<< 返回活動
 
音樂事務處青年合唱團

音樂事務處青年合唱團於1980年成立,同年12月於香港管弦樂團的聖誕音樂會作首演。除經常參與本地演出外,合唱團亦曾與不少訪港音樂團體合作聯演,其中計有日本鹿兒島高等學校合唱團、美國聖班尼迪-聖約翰大學合唱團、美國匹茲堡青年交響樂團,以及聯同享負盛名的英國巴赫合唱團,在韋國詩爵士的指揮下演唱巴赫的《聖馬太受難曲》及白遼士的《安魂曲》的難忘演出。合唱團的演唱曲目豐富,包括不同風格的古今中外合唱作品,亦曾為聯合國及世界氣象組織轄下颱風委員會作曲比賽優勝作品錄音,以及夥同香港警察樂隊為公民教育電視短片錄製國歌。

音樂事務處青年合唱團於1997年首次往新加坡及馬來西亞作外訪,及後於2002年應日本鹿兒島縣政府邀請往當地多個城市作交流演出,受到當地人士的熱烈讚賞。合唱團於2009年再訪馬來西亞檳城,並於第四屆「歌之旅」國際合唱節中囊括小組合唱金文憑獎、公開組混聲合唱金文憑獎、公開組混聲合唱組別優勝獎,以及評審團為出色藝術成就所頒的評審特別獎。

合唱團每年透過公開試音招募團員,現有團員90人,年齡由15至25歲,由區雁珠博士及蕭晶負責訓練。
音樂事務處兒童合唱團

音樂事務處兒童合唱團前稱「音統處中國民歌兒童合唱小組」,成立於1981年,早期目的為發揚中國民族音樂的絢麗色彩,並鼓勵兒童演唱中國民歌。發展至今,團員除可學習演唱中外歌曲外,更有機會首演一些嶄新合唱作品。

自成立以來,合唱團除於音樂事務處主辦的音樂會中演出外,亦經常應邀參與不同團體主辦的表演活動,演出屢獲好評,其中計有屯門兒童合唱團、深水埗兒童合唱團及九龍城區兒童合唱團的周年音樂會、「九龍城區聯校音樂匯演」、於2007年應澳門特別行政區政府文化局邀請,與澳門少年合唱團於澳門舉行的交流音樂會,以及於2009年應香港兒童合唱團邀請,於慶祝該團成立40周年的「群星閃爍四十載 - 友共情音樂會」中參與演出。此外,合唱團亦曾參與1999及2002年「香港國際兒童合唱節」,以及不少社區演出項目,如「八十法環遊世界」、「青少年暑期計劃」主題曲的視像錄音製作及小歌劇演出,其中計有《灰姑娘》、《挪亞方舟》及《嫦娥奔月》等。

合唱團每年透過公開試音招募團員,現有團員87名,年齡由8至15歲,由何幸兒及邱文靜負責訓練。