stop
play

Introduction

From Small Town to the Big Screen: A Retrospective on Wei Wei

For many, when they think of Fei Mu's 1948 masterpiece, Spring in a Small Town, the first thing that comes to mind is its melancholic-looking heroine Zhou Yuwen, played affectingly by Wei Wei.

Originally named Mou Mengying, Wei Wei was born in Zhenjiang, Jiangsu in 1922. By the time she graduated from high school in Shanghai, she had developed a strong passion for theatre, which led her to join a professional troupe and begin an active career on stage. In 1947, upon invitation by Wu Xingzai, founder of Wenhua Film Company, Wei made her film debut with the minor role of a sex worker in Night Inn, based on Maxim Gorky's play The Lower Depths. While shooting the film, director Huang Zuolin asked her to redo a scene – where she got to deliver just one line – over 30 times. Infuriated, she went to Wu, asking to quit. It was Fei Mu who stepped in to pacify the budding actress, promising that he would give her a role worthy of her talent in the future. A year later, that promise bore fruit with Spring in a Small Town, now a world-renowned classic of Chinese cinema.

In the late 1940s, Wei followed Fei and Wu to Hong Kong and worked with their co-founded company Dragon-Horse Films on The Show Must Go On (1952) and Between Fire and Water (1955). In the wake of the resounding success of these social realist works, she furthered her career with the company Feng Huang, whose backbone largely came from Dragon-Horse. There she continued to impress audiences with the nuanced intensity of her performances in Love at First Sight (1955), They All Want a Baby (1956) and His Fabulous Wife (1957). The moral tale Year In, Year Out (1955) and the love triangle drama The Foolish Heart (1956), in particular, have been selected in this programme to showcase Wei's controlled and evolving acting style.

This retrospective also looks back on Wei's works from her early Shanghai and Beijing days. Screening for the first time at the Hong Kong Film Archive and possibly in Hong Kong, The Great Reunion (1948) is surely not to be missed, not to mention her debut Night Inn (1947) and the all-time classic Spring in a Small Town

A close witness of the turbulent and dramatic history of the film industry in mainland and Hong Kong from the 1940s to 60s, Wei's acting career is itself a fascinating story worth revisiting again and again. Drawing from different phases of her career, this retrospective will take audiences through her transformation from her theatre beginnings to a memorable figure of poise and elegance on the silver screen.


The contents of the programme do not represent the views of the presenter.
The presenter reserves the right to change the programme should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

停止
播放

簡介

小城內外的韋偉

每當談起費穆執導的《小城之春》(1948),都不禁令人聯想起片中的女主角周玉紋,即韋偉。

韋偉,本名繆孟英,原籍廣東中山,1922年出生於江蘇鎮江,畢業於上海允中女子中學,在學生時代就非常熱愛戲劇。高中畢業後報考上海職業話劇團並被錄取,此後便開始活躍在話劇舞台。1947年,上海文華影片公司開拍高爾基的名著《夜店》,韋偉獲文華公司老闆吳性栽的邀請,終於第一次在大銀幕粉墨登場,飾演一個妓女的小角色,因為一句對白,導演黃佐臨要求她重複拍了三十多次,她賭氣不肯演了,並於翌日向吳性栽辭演,後得導演費穆勸勉,並承諾將來必定找她演一個有發揮的角色。一年後,費穆導演一諾千金,邀請她參演傳世之作《小城之春》。

四十年代末,韋偉隨費穆及吳性栽南來香港發展,加入他們組織的龍馬影業公司,並拍攝了《江湖兒女》(1952) 及《水火之間》(1955),隨後加入由龍馬骨幹成員組成的鳳凰影業公司,作品包括《閃電戀愛》(1955)、《少奶奶之謎》(1956)、《太太傳奇》(1957) 等,其中《一年之計》(1955) 及《寂寞的心》(1956) 為是次放映之選。

我們另選映韋偉在上海及北京時期演出的三齣作品,除了首作《夜店》及為人熟悉的《小城之春》外,清華影片有限公司出品的《大團圓》(1948) 初現資料館銀幕,更可能是首次在香港公開放映。

韋偉從影的經歷,見證了中國及香港電影從1940年代到1960年代那段波瀾起伏的動盪歷史,是次節目藉著選映她不同時期的作品,讓觀眾看到話劇演員出身的她,如何在大銀幕展現其溫婉優雅又靈活跳脫的風姿。


本節目內容並不反映主辦機構的意見。如遇特殊情況,主辦機構保留更換節目的權利。