stop
play

Systems Unit

The Systems Unit is responsible for the management of ‘Hong Kong Film Archive Management System', a library, centralized database and cataloguing system tailored made for the Archive. With the ever-widening application of information technology in our daily lives and the government's implementation of the Enhanced Productivity Programme, the Systems Unit was born at the same time the Archive was founded.

The HKFA has an extremely heavy workload. To make work more efficient, most of the workstations have been connected together as an intranet to enable resource sharing. The wide variety of electronic equipment and computer systems facilitates processing of artefacts' data and the provision of quality service. By the end of 2013, the size of textual data in our database has already reached 10 GB, while that of still graphics has exceeded 6 TB. The aforesaid data, which can be processed only after going through a series of meticulous procedures, amounts to yet a tiny portion of our entire collection.

Hong Kong Film Archive Management System provides an onsite search engine commonly found in library databases. Users may also access our collection catalogue through internet with a common browser. This makes it much more convenient for the general public and film researchers to locate the reference materials they need.

As the frontline technical support unit, the Systems Unit renders assistance to patrons at the Resource Centre when they have problems using our workstations. It also stays in close contact with the LCSD's various museum Offices, Information Technology Division and other hardware/software maintenance contractors and suppliers to ensure the proper functioning of our computer systems, as well as to further expand their functions.

停止
播放

系統組

隨著資訊科技已進入大多數人的生活裡和政府資源増值政策的落實,香港電影資料館的系統亦已革新,管理香港電影資料館的圖書館和數據庫系統的軟件是一套特為香港電影資料館而開發的系統,把資料館各分組的多種數據集中處理,名為 Hong Kong Film Archive Management System

資料館的工作異常繁重,但因資訊科技的幫助,絕大部份電腦均以內聯網連接起來,達到資源共享的目的。加上林林總總的電子器材和系統,令香港電影資料館處理資料和物品的能力得以提高、服務範圍得以擴大。至二零一三年底,數據庫內文字數據的容量已近八千萬位元(10GB),靜態圖像數據的容量更高達四百八十億位元(6TB)。但由於館藏數量極其龐大,而輸入相關資料必須通過一系列的嚴謹程序,這數據量亦只是整體館藏的一小部分。

Hong Kong Film Archive Management System 系統,除了具備一般圖書館和資料庫的現場搜尋功能外,更可讓公眾人士透過一般的瀏覽器,通過互聯網取得資料庫內的資料,大大方便了一般市民和專業電影研究者找尋參考資料。

作為香港電影資料館的前線技術支援部門,系統組除了現場即時協助使用服務者解決操作電腦上的問題外,亦與康樂及文化事務署的各間博物館、資訊科技科,和不同的軟硬件供應商保持緊密聯絡,務求令館內的電腦系統正常運作,進一步擴展其功能。