Leisure and Cultural Services Department - 2009 Bun Carnival Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHKTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese Search Site Map Contact Us
     
  Acquisition and Arrangement  
 

Acquisition is one key aspect of the Archive's front-line work. It traces the history of Hong Kong film from its inception to the present, reflecting the historical development of local film companies, studios, theatres, film processing laboratories, as well as the pattern of overseas distribution.

The Archive collects its materials mainly through donations. Other acquisition methods include loan, exchange, transfer, bequest and purchase. We have benefitted from the enthusiastic support of industry people, filmmakers and aficionados who share our mission in preserving local film heritage by contributing prints, posters, handbills and other artefacts. Many donors have passed to us their cherished memorabilia which can now be appreciated by the public.

We also work hard to search for prints and go overseas to locate hard-to-find copies. From the theatres in San Francisco's Chinatown, we have acquired over one thousand films from the 1940s to 60s, including many classics that had long been considered lost, such as Fishermen's Song of the South Sea (1950), The Dividing Wall (1952), and A Mother Remembers (1953). The colour negative of Bruce Lee's The Orphan (1960) is one of our finds in England; we have also retrieved copies of Lady Balsam's Conquest (1955) and Blood Will Tell (1955) from Japan.

Southeast Asia is another treasure trove, where we have unearthed many valuable magazines, handbills and film-related items.

The transportation of all films and related materials is executed by specialists under the supervision of Archive staff. Following our prevailing procedures, we then make archival arrangement to organise collection before they are moved into permanent storage.

Through years of efforts, the Archive now houses a collection of films and related materials of cultural significance. A selection of archival gems is available for loan to introduce to more people our varied film culture.

 
It is a common conception among Hong Kong viewers that The Orphan (1960) is a black-and-white film. The Archive was fortunate to have located a colour negative of the film from England.
 
Blood Will Tell (1955), in Eastmancolour, is one of the Hong Kong films shot in Japan during the 1950s.
 
 

2009| Important notices | Privacy policy Web Accessibility Conformance Statement Last revision date: 6 June, 2014

康樂及文化事務署 - 香港電影資料館
香港品牌形象 - 亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通簡體版English 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們

     
  搜集與整理  
 

搜集是最前線的工作,試圖追尋香港影業舊日的足跡,憑點滴的線索探本尋源,四出填補空白。搜集工作路線圖呈現從當年至今日香港影業公司、片場、戲院、沖印公司的變遷,以至海外發行的情況。

資料館的藏品主要來自捐贈和自願寄存兩種途徑。其他搜集方法還包括借存、交換、移交、遺贈和購買。不少熱心的片商和電影工作者,非常認同資料館保存本土電影文化遺產的宗旨,主動捐出影片、海報、宣傳資料和文物。好些捐贈者不惜捐出隨身多年的珍藏,為的是讓市民大眾一起分享。

資料館亦努力尋找舊影片資料的下落,甚至設法從海外運回一些珍貴的名片。例如,在英國尋回《人海孤鴻》(1960)的彩色底片;自美國三藩市華埠的世界戲院、大明星戲院和新聲戲院等搜羅得共千多部四十至六十年代的電影,包括一直以為已失落了的經典名作《南海漁歌》(1950)、《一板之隔》(1952)、《慈母淚》(1953)等;從日本尋回《小白菜》(1955)和《海棠紅》(1955)的拷貝;在東南亞也找到不少戲橋和電影雜誌。

搜集得來的電影文物資料,均須在資料館員工督導下,由富文物搬運經驗的專家負責運送,然後按資料館功能事務程序整理歸藏。

經多年搜集,資料館保存了一批深具文化意義的影片電影文物,部分精選珍藏更可供外借,以反映香港電影豐富的文化內涵。

 
資料館自英國尋回《人海孤鴻》(1960)彩色拷貝,好些觀眾來自觀看黑白版本的印象,得以還原。
 
當年《海棠紅》(1955)攝製隊往日本取經拍攝伊士曼彩色片。
 
 

2009| 重要告示 | 私隱政策 無障礙網頁守則 修訂日期 : 2014年1月22日