Re- (I, II, III)
Shen Wei Dance Arts (USA)

6-7/11
Fri - SatD8pm
Kwai Tsing Theatre Auditorium
$360 / $280 / $200 / $120
 
.
This programme contains nudity
. Some $120 & $200 seats may have restricted view
. Approx 2 hours with 2 intermissions of 20 minutes
. Meet-the-artist session after the performance on 6 November
@
Click here for details of Master Class, here for Pre-performance Talk and Photo Exhibition

Choreographer: Shen Wei

2007 MacArthur "Genius"
2005 Helpmann Award for Best Ballet or Dance Work
Received 10 commissions from the American Dance Festival

"What a freeing, soaring feeling the piece has" V The Washington Post

Inspired by Shen Wei's journeys to Tibet, Angkor Wat and the modern "Silk Road"
Shen Wei's first new work since the Beijing Olympics Opening Ceremony
With new music by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer David Lang

Breathtakingly original multi-layered contemporary dance

This compelling three-part work centres on choreographer-designer Shen Wei's impressions of his visits to Tibet, Angkor Wat and the Silk Road. The dance trilogy is the culmination of four years of inner reflection and gruelling rehearsals, demonstrating Shen's position as one of contemporary dance's most accomplished choreographers.

Re-I is a stunning ritualistic work in the form of a Buddhist mandala. Confetti drift and swirl like snowflakes as dancers gyrate to Tibetan chants, gradually creating a state of meditative, spiritually uplifting serenity.

Re-II takes its inspiration from the temple ruins and trees at Angkor Wat. The performance, a re-working of a commission for Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal in 2007, takes a stirring surrealistic approach as dancers tangle and untangle themselves like tree roots stretched against the forgotten temples in the Cambodian jungle.

Re-III brings to life Shen's trip to the Silk Road and his reflections on his homeland after more than a decade overseas. The work celebrates the artist's interdisciplinary talents. Blending contemporary dance with elements from visual arts, philosophy and architecture, among others, the piece uses the Silk Road as a grand metaphor to explore China's future as a convergence of cultures. Featuring an original soundscape that integrates a commissioned score by Pulitzer Prize winner David Lang, the multifaceted work ingeniously transcends time. An inspiring collective experience from an international arts star.

Photo : Lois Greenfield

Programme commemorating the 10th Anniversary of the Kwai Tsing Theatre

回之一•二•三
沈偉舞蹈藝術(美國)
6-7/11
星期五 - 六.8pm
葵青劇院演藝廳
$360 / $280 / $200 / $120
 
.
本節目含有裸露場面
. 部分$120及$200座位視線受阻
. 節目全長約2小時,設有兩節20分鐘中場休息
. 11月6日設演後藝人談
 
大師班詳情請按此,演前講座及攝影展按此

編舞:沈偉

2007麥克阿瑟「天才獎」
2005何普曼最佳芭蕾或舞蹈作品獎
獲美國舞蹈節委約10 次

「一個釋放感官、讓思想飛馳的作品」─《華盛頓郵報》

沈偉從西藏、吳哥窟及現代絲路的旅程擷取靈感
沈偉繼北京奧運開幕表演後最新創作
普立茲獎得主David Lang創作全新曲目

最當時得令的編舞家打造驚世新作

獲頒授美國舞蹈界至高榮譽麥克阿瑟「天才獎」的史上唯一華裔編舞家沈偉,以長達四年的醞釀和反思,千錘百鍊的排演和再創造,重塑一段由西藏、柬埔寨以至絲綢之路的心路歷程,匯集成展示他巔峰創作期驚人造詣的力作《回之一•二•三》。

〈回之一〉以覆蓋滿台的紙碎燈影結聚成宏大的佛家曼陀羅祭場,在渺渺湼槃天地間羣舞不斷游移進出,身隨勁走揚起了漫天飛舞的塵與土,將曼陀羅解構成段段亂世繪。落花流水的是紙碎更是舞蹈──直至一切塵埃落定雲淡風清,滿台盡是不凡巧思和叫人感動的冥想,煞是令人心神沉醉。

〈回之二〉以2007年蒙特利爾加拿大芭蕾舞團委約的著名創作,重新編排雕琢。在森林裡被遺忘的神祇殿宇吳哥窟的懾人景象中,在恢宏菩提樹扭曲結纏的樹根下,舞者以同樣纏綿繾綣的矯健驅體連綿起舞,伸延出無限張力;在充滿戲劇性的交錯時空中,舞者身體騷動、抒情,彷彿喚起沉睡的神靈,純舞蹈的幻化神奇莫過於此。

〈回之三〉是總結沈偉集美學、舞蹈、建築裝置等才華於一身的終極創造;一趟絲綢之路的靜修之旅,寄託了編舞者在海外十四年後回歸國土的深情。他在作品中以多媒體構成一次超感官體驗,他更借絲路這片包含多元民族宗教、精神文化的土地,透視出中國的遠景。加上著名美國普立茲獎得主作曲家David Lang的全新曲目,一齣跨越東西方、劃時代的現代舞傑作由此而生!

相片:Lois Greenfield

葵青劇院十周年誌慶節目