About Silk Road Arts Festival

The Silk Road has been a major hub for East-West cultural exchange as well as trade since ancient times. Spanning Asia and Europe, it has given birth to numerous artistic traditions by fostering communication between different groups of people. In choosing the Silk Road as the third theme in our World Cultures series, the Festivals Office aims not only to provide a showcase of amazing gems from the past but also a platform for contemporary creative exchange among artists from various parts of the world.

The Silk Road Arts Festival opens with Splendours of the Tang Dynasty, an extravaganza of songs and dance by the Shaanxi Provincial Song and Dance Theatre. This is followed by a series of exotic concerts from Central Asia, South Asia and the Middle East. Renowned musicians from Iran, India, Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan and Tuva roll out a rich tapestry of sounds that weave together the traditional and the new. In a commission for this festival, En Chordais Ensemble from Greece creates a new soundscape, with guest artists from Tajikistan, Turkey, Israel, Iran and Italy. The Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra presents a programme centred on a "Silk Road journey". The energy-charged dance performance by Georgian National Dance Company Sukhishvili promises to be a colourful feast for the eye.

While traditions provide the basis for the Silk Road's cultural legacy, they have also inspired modern artists, such as Japanese New Age musician Kitaro and US-based Chinese choreographer Shen Wei, to fresh creative heights. Local companies Theatre Fanatico, Unlock Dancing Plaza, Ming Ri Institute for Arts Education and the Hong Kong Repertory Theatre also perform new works in their respective genres V multimedia theatre, dance, and drama V all revolving round the Silk Road theme. Closing the festival is a programme by three famous Buddhist ensembles from Mainland China offering aural enlightenment.

On the visual arts front, the Peace and Harmony V The Divine Spectra of Manjusri Exhibition brings together more than 100 Manjusri and Buddhist artefacts in a major display. In addition, a group of artists from Hong Kong and Macao has been asked to create Silk Road-themed installations throughout Hong Kong Island, Kowloon and the New Territories.

Outreach programmes, including workshops, master class, film shows, talks, school tours, foyer and outdoor performances, are also available in many locations, covering LCSD and university venues, shopping malls, coffee shops and libraries. These events seek to make the Silk Road a part of the fabric of everyday life during the festival period.

A compelling journey awaits. We look forward to sharing these wonderful sights and sounds with you.

Shirley Tsui
Senior Manager, Festivals Office
Leisure and Cultural Services Department

 
Media Partners:

關於絲綢之路藝術節

橫跨歐亞兩大洲的絲綢之路,自古迄今是東西方商貿以至文化交匯的重要樞紐,催化了眾多民族文化的交流,孕育了無數藝術傳統的誕生。藝術節辦事處選了絲綢之路為第三屆世界文化藝術節的主題,希望讓觀眾見證絲路的文化珍寶,同時提供創意平台,讓藝術家創作意念和絲路有關的作品。

藝術節將由陝西省歌舞劇院演出的唐朝樂舞揭開序幕,接著,會有一系列中亞、南亞和中東音樂演出,由來自伊朗、印度、阿富汗、阿塞拜疆、吉爾吉斯坦、哈薩克斯坦、圖瓦的多位音樂家將傳統但不乏創新演繹的音樂帶給觀眾。藝術節還委約希臘安荷達斯樂團創作,他們將聯同塔吉克斯坦、土耳其、以色列、伊朗和意大利等國家的樂手演出,為藝術節增添色彩。香港中樂團亦將選演一系列絲路樂曲。格魯吉亞國家舞蹈團亦帶來多齣精采絕倫的舞碼,他們魅力逼人的演出定必令觀眾難忘。

除了傳統藝術,絲路之旅亦激發了無數當代作品的創作。日本喜多郎充滿絲路風情的新紀元音樂作品是其中表表者;近期最火熱的絲路創作莫過於國際著名編舞家沈偉的新作;本地的瘋祭舞台、不加鎖舞踊館、明日藝術教育機構、香港話劇團亦以全新創作的多媒體劇場、舞蹈,以及戲劇作品表達對絲路文化的探索。閉幕節目為國內三大佛樂團的佛樂展演,讓觀眾體會淨化心靈的境界。

藝術節還會舉辦《祥和—文殊菩薩尊像珍藏展》,展出過百件以文殊菩薩為主題的藝術珍品。我們亦邀得多位本地及澳門的傑出視覺藝術家,以當代手法創作以絲路為主題的裝置藝術作品,展覽《Reborn—絲路之旅藝術展》將於港九及新界多個地方舉行。

此外,藝術節期間還設有工作坊、大師班、電影放映、講座、學校巡迴演出、大堂和戶外演出,舉行地點亦由康文署場地拓展至大學劇院、商場、咖啡店、圖書館,讓絲路色彩滲至香港多個不同社區。

我們期待與您一起分享瑰麗多彩的絲路文化之旅。

徐秀妍
康樂及文化事務署
藝術節辦事處高級經理

 
合作媒體: